Create Game Lists on MeltedJoystick.com
FilmCrave home
   Movies  Members
Search +
Searching... Close  
Are you sure you want to delete this comment?
  
 
  Login Using Facebook
Twitter
 
     
 

The Exorcist (1973) Movie Reviews

Your Rating:
 
 
Buy The Exorcist (1973) DVD from AmazonBuy The Exorcist (1973) DVD from Amazon  Add to List: Add to movie listWrite Review +Request correction +Submit a plot +

Quick Movie Reviews

1 - 10 of 20 

Matthew Brady 07/23/2014 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3/4 

The film is about a little girl is possessed by a demon. Can the Catholic church save her. This movie is pure creepy and pure gross. That image of the demon that you see not a lot, that face is just so freaky and it makes me jump every time I see it. The movie left a scary and a chilling in me after I finished watching it. The movie has its problems like the film at times does slow down a little bit. But overall The Exorcist is a horror movie that sticks with you after it's over. Leaving a uneasy feeling on you that a lot of people had back in 70's.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Camper 07/02/2013 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

I watched for the first time when I was about fourteen, and I was not expecting much. In my mind I thought "How could this movie still possibly be scary? It was made in 1973." God was I wrong. I think I actually screamed when Reagan came down the stairs on her hands and feet. Just a classic, forever horrifying film.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

PandaMonium 10/30/2012 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

What need be said about THE EXORCIST, one of the most notoriously frightening films ever made? That despite being made in 1973, it still stands up as one of the most intense horror experiences to date? That the effects still look fantastic and the story is superbly paced? That the music is top notch and the performances are excellent on all fronts? That its effect on the horror genre was monumental and that without this film, horror would look nothing like it does today? You already know all of that. Now, if you still haven't seen this absolute classic of horror cinema, go and watch it right now. You cannot call yourself a horror fan - or a cinephile in general - until you do.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Yojimbo 05/26/2012 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
1.5/4 

I have only just seen this film (to my shame!) and I must admit, I was disappointed. I can only assume that the constant barrage of copycats and parodies that followed have removed any surprises, as I wasn't remotely scared or even shocked by any of it (in fact I found the exorcism sequence rather laughable). It's merely a nicely shot theological thriller with brief bursts of violence and foul language, and a story containing a series of seemingly unrelated plot threads that do not tie together satisfactorily (if at all). Oh well...

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

mitchellyoung 11/18/2011 (1 of 1 found this helpful)

Rating of
3/4 

The Exorcist is, without a doubt, one of the most frightening films in existence. From the haunting performances, to the creepy soundtrack, to the devilish special effects, it is full of shocking and terrifying moments. Often very difficult to watch, but also one of the best scary movies ever.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

SIngli6 06/27/2011 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

Flawless storytelling and a masterful evocation of terror are rarely found in films of this variety, yet they emanate with such a resplendence in 'The Exorcist' that one cannot fathom how such a film as this could even possess an exploitative air (regardless of the sour impression that the works of philistines such as George A. Romero and Eli Roth would have left long ago). Note: I recommend the 'Version You've Never Seen' over the original cut.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

hham 05/21/2011 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

 

For a movie that has the reputation of the scariest film of all time, it was extremely low key in the horror department. I am a person who despises any monstrosity of any form, and I will be the first to admit how much of a wimp I am at watching those type of films. However, this movie was a disappointment to the genre of horror. The film was unrealistic and laughable.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Snoogans 06/05/2010 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

I have yet to see a better movie involving exorcism. It's a thoroughly entertaining film that is shocking in all the right ways.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Aza 11/10/2009 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

A fantastic horror classic which delivered some awesome scares and extraordinary performances.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

BmovieJosh 10/09/2009 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3/4 

This film has the best cinamotography then any other film i've ever seen. Def well worth watching.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 
1  2  Next  
 
 
Log In
Help on how to log into FilmCrave
Login with Facebook
Login with FilmCrave
 
 
What Members Are Doing
Movie Talk
New Movie Reviews
New Movie Lists
My viewing tracker list. by James
Movies of 2017 by Stoney McStonerson
Best Movies of the 2010s by Mr Cinema
2016 Rated and Ranked by Chris Kavan
Movies Watched by Sunbutt
Top Films of 2007 by Neobowler
2016 by Karmand
Movies to Watch by royaluglydudes

 

 

 

Contact FilmCrave Public Relations    

Advertise and Business

Developer API

Contact Us

Jobs

About us

SiteMap

 

Support FilmCrave

FAQ and Help

News and Press

Terms of Use

Privacy