Create Game Lists on MeltedJoystick.com
FilmCrave home
   Movies  Members
Search +
Searching... Close  
Are you sure you want to delete this comment?
  
 
  Login Using Facebook
Twitter
 
     
 

Event Horizon (1997) Movie Reviews

Your Rating:
 
 
Buy Event Horizon (1997) DVD from AmazonBuy Event Horizon (1997) DVD from Amazon  Add to List: Add to movie listWrite Review +Request correction +Submit a plot +

Quick Movie Reviews

1 - 8 of 8 

Ian 09/15/2015 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3.5/4 

A groundbreaking exploration into cosmic horror, sci-fi, and insanity. This movie expertly twists the viewer into knots with perfectly timed scares. The acting and sense of terror is perfectly implemented. The theme veers somewhat on the religious side but it ends up being the only way to convey the extreme evil that threatens the cast. A highly underrated classic, which everyone should see twice.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Moviehead 04/01/2012 (0 of 1 found this helpful)

Rating of
3.5/4 

Far from perfect but still one of best sf horrors i saw

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

mitchellyoung 02/08/2012 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
1.5/4 

Event Horizon is a horrifying film with truly dark imagery, but it's also silly, contrived, and full of cheesy plot turns and lines. The film manages to pack a spooky punch sometimes on the strength of graphic imagery alone, but it's nastiness isn't supported by believable characters or a cohesive plot.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Milty 12/03/2010 (1 of 1 found this helpful)

 

This movie is a little silly, considering in the beginning of the film, the all go ahead and water sleep for 56 days without knowing the mission. Then once brought to life they are filled in and everyone is like WTF?? They never asked before. Then they find the ship and it's evil. I love deep space movies, but don't bring hell and latin demons into it. Come on.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

PortraitArtist 04/17/2008 (0 of 2 found this helpful)

Rating of
0.5/4 

I truly hate this movie. The first time I saw it (1997), I declared it the worst movie I'd ever seen. Since then I've upgraded it to the worst SciFi movie I've ever seen. A title previously held by "Tammy and the T-Rex." At least Tammy makes me laugh at the sheer stupidity of it. Event Horizon just makes me grind my teeth. Ludicrous story with lots of expensive special effects. More blood and gore than any movie needs. Absolutely insane. Keep the kids away from this one. Rated R for "Really Craptacular" Also a waste of a lot of good actors, Jason Isaacs, Sam Neill and Sean Pertwee especially. Favorite Quote - "Whoever sent that message, he sure believes in hell." (and you will too if you see this movie)

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

GGauthier 09/07/2007 (0 of 1 found this helpful)

Rating of
1.5/4 

I wasn't expecting too much, so, I wasn't disappointed either. The thing is that is not a great film to me. Average in all aspects. I think the plot is not bad, but, could have been done better. Not a big fan of Neill either.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Josh C 08/07/2007 (1 of 1 found this helpful)

Rating of
3.5/4 

One of the few movies I have watched over 10 times. It has so many eerie scenes that will keep you freaked out until the very end. I love both horror movies and sci-fi and this one has a pretty equal mix. Sam Neill is very convincing in this and especially creepy after the darkness takes hold of him. Laurence Fishburne was also decent, though I am not a fan of him in general, he did fit the role of captain very well. There are so many scenes that will stick with you after watching it, that to me is what makes a great horror. Don't get too into this film or you might just scratch your eyes out.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Chris Kavan 03/03/2007 (2 of 2 found this helpful)

Rating of
3/4 

If you watch this enought times, it'll get under your skin. A good blend of horror and sci-fi - and yes, there is a lot of blood. The story may confuse you at first, but stick with it. After you understand, it'll just creep you out.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 
1    
 
 
Log In
Help on how to log into FilmCrave
Login with Facebook
Login with FilmCrave
 
 
What Members Are Doing
Movie Talk
New Movie Reviews
New Movie Lists
Top Movie List by Ray
2017 Rated and Ranked by Chris Kavan
2014 by Karmand
1976 Movies by Mr Cinema
2004 Films Watched by James
Movies of 2017 by Stoney McStonerson
Movies Watched by Sunbutt
Top Films of 2007 by Neobowler

 

 

 

Contact FilmCrave Public Relations    

Advertise and Business

Developer API

Contact Us

Jobs

About us

SiteMap

 

Support FilmCrave

FAQ and Help

News and Press

Terms of Use

Privacy