Create Game Lists on MeltedJoystick.com
FilmCrave home
   Movies  Members
Search +
Searching... Close  
Are you sure you want to delete this comment?
  
 
  Login Using Facebook
Twitter
 
     
 

12 Years a Slave (2013) Movie Reviews

Your Rating:
 
 
Buy 12 Years a Slave (2013) DVD from AmazonBuy 12 Years a Slave (2013) DVD from Amazon  Add to List: Add to movie listWrite Review +Request correction +Submit a plot +

Quick Movie Reviews

1 - 10 of 10 

Gabe 08/24/2016 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3/4 

A wonderful and powerful film. Everything about it is excellent. I understand why it won all of the Academy Awards that it did, I thought American Hustle was more entertaining, but this film was just so powerful. It passes all of my tests to be considered a great film, except the re-watchability factor. I never want to see this film again. But, that does not make it any more great. A must watch for everyone.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Pat 07/20/2016 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3.5/4 

With the cruelty Schindler's List possesses and a hint of Shawshank Redemption's feeling. Fantastic film! Definitely deserving of Best Picture of 2013!

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Ian 09/15/2015 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
1.5/4 

Highly overrated film designed as an Oscar grab. The story has been told before, correctly in Roots, etc... but this is just the same old rehash with bland characters, predictable scenes and story, too much exposition, and just doesn't bring anything new or interest. The historic struggle deserved better than this.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Daniel Corleone 10/13/2014 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3.5/4 

Definitely one of the greatest films on racism and slavery. Some parts felt a bit dragging since the story was being held to a few scenes. The movie a tremendous supporting cast that is very believable. If it were not for Chiwetel Ejiofor as Solomon then this would definitely have not worked. It is painful to watch but they really caught the realism of the era. Overall a great movie.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Indyfreak 07/23/2014 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

Not saying anything different because everyone else was right. This was the best movie of 2013! To call it the "Schindler's List" or the "Hotel Rwanda" of our time is an insult. This movie is in the same league but it remains its own thing so we should not measure it by the standards of previous films-especially since one could argue it has raised the bar for such films.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Chris Kavan 05/17/2014 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3.5/4 

A gripping, powerful film - deserving of the awards it has received. This it he kind of film that will open your eyes even as you want to shut them - to think this was the state of affairs a few generations removed from where we stand now. It's unflinching - scenes of rape, torture, lynching - and it's also the truth - and you will not soon forget about it. And the performances from Chiwetel Ejiofor, Lupita Nyong'o and Michael Fassbender are all deserving of major recognition (thought the entire cast, as a whole, it phenomenal). Not a film to go into lightly, but it should be watched by all.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Nolane 03/06/2014 (1 of 1 found this helpful)

Rating of
3.5/4 

A brutal, unflinching look at slavery that actually sticks very close to actual history, rather than adding unnecessary melodrama or purposeful historical distortions for political purposes. All technical credits are first rate, and the movie is anchored by brilliant acting across the board. A must see.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

smeagol 02/26/2014 (0 of 1 found this helpful)

Rating of
2.5/4 

over rated and pretty boring. its a ok decent/good movie but in no way is it great. The problem with these types of movies is they gain awards due to the subject matter but not so much the movie itself. The acting is good but its very long and a lot is needless. and overlong shots. and not really showing anything. also the character is not very likeable. i just kept thinking what about the other slaves. why does this guy think he is so special. . then it ends . for such a big subject i expected more content its not in the league of the other movies its beating in the awards. its good at best no more. There is much better movies than this one.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Snoogans 11/20/2013 (1 of 1 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

'12 Years A Slave' is the most honest, unfiltered presentation of African slavery in the United States. It's devastating to know that these extremely harsh depictions of degradation actually happened, that humans could treat other humans like property in such a cruel manner. The effect is emotionally crushing. But, the film is ultimately moving because of the lead character's enormous struggle. He is a true testament to the strength of the human spirit. A real survivor. '12 Years', without a doubt, is one of the best written, directed, and acted films of the year. It is important that everyone see this. A tremendous and powerful addition to cinema.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Matthew Brady 11/12/2013 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3.5/4 

Years of brutal slavery and now it's all over.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 
1    
 
 
Log In
Help on how to log into FilmCrave
Login with Facebook
Login with FilmCrave
 
 
What Members Are Doing
Movie Talk
New Movie Reviews
New Movie Lists
2009 by Karmand
To See: 2017 Movies by Alex
My Wish List by bigboy89
Movies I've Watched by Chris Ghost
Top Movie List by Seth
My Wish List by Andrew
Movies I Want To See by Rod
Recent Movies To See by Mr Cinema

 

 

 

Contact FilmCrave Public Relations    

Advertise and Business

Developer API

Contact Us

Jobs

About us

SiteMap

 

Support FilmCrave

FAQ and Help

News and Press

Terms of Use

Privacy