Create Game Lists on MeltedJoystick.com
FilmCrave home
   Movies  Members
Search +
Searching... Close  
Are you sure you want to delete this comment?
  
 
  Login Using Facebook
Twitter
 
     
 

Devil's Advocate (1997) Movie Reviews

Your Rating:
 
 
Buy Devil's Advocate (1997) DVD from AmazonBuy Devil's Advocate (1997) DVD from Amazon  Add to List: Add to movie listWrite Review +Request correction +Submit a plot +

Quick Movie Reviews

1 - 9 of 9 

Matthew Brady 06/18/2014 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3/4 

Al Pacino as the devil... Brilliant. The story is about a new hotshot lawyer gets the opportunity of a lifetime to relocate and join a prestigious law firm. The price he pays is more than he bargains for. Keanu Reeves may not by a good actor as I said it in my 47 Ronin review but he his a likable guy in real life and his acting in this movie wasn't that bad to be honest. The movie feels like end of days but this movie came out two years before end of days came out so end of days is a rip-off of the devil Advocate, The movie has some scenes that could have been easily edited out but Al pacino played a good devil in my opinion.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

mitchellyoung 02/09/2012 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3/4 

An interesting horror film that succeeds mostly because of the stellar performances by an ensemble cast. The ghoulish imagery is made scarier by Pacino's imposing performance and even Keanu Reeves manages to approach emotional acting.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

dukeakasmudge 09/17/2011 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

Great movie & I thought the ending was perfect

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

morningdarkness 02/23/2011 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

this movie is great. what happens to therons character is great.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

horrorlover101 01/13/2009 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3/4 

The main reason to watch this film is for Al Pacino's powerhouse performance as Satan, it gave me chills, the story is solid and has some good twists in it and the effects are phenomenal. The only thing I can really say didn't work is Keanu Reeve's dull and unexplainably bad performance. As a horror fan I think it is a worthy film and worth a watch but rating it as a film on a whole I wasn't that impressed. The story has just been done to many times and frankly I think it is getting old, a better film to watch dealing with this topic is The Omen with Gregory Peck. Well I said my piece.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Snoogans 09/11/2008 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3/4 

After recently watching a few movies that had some story involving Satan trying for a spawn, I have to say that this one is the best. I really like the whole setting of the judicial system against the backround of New York. I also like the way the story unravels itself and builds up to the great ending. Worth watching for these reasons and Al Pacino as Satan.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Alex 05/12/2007 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
2.5/4 

This could be Reeves best performance. Pacino does a swell job as well, but I couldn't take Theron's performance. The story is served well and the inclinations make sense (practicing law). In the end though, it is not good enough.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Chris Kavan 02/28/2007 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3/4 

A pretty twisted tale about the nature of evil and the choices people make. It's a solid film, if not the greatest ever. I like it well enough.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Josh C 12/16/2006 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3.5/4 

Erie and frustrating to watch in a good way. The movie makes you question what is real and what is reality which is the makings of a good thriller.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 
1    
 
 
Log In
Help on how to log into FilmCrave
Login with Facebook
Login with FilmCrave
 
 
What Members Are Doing
Movie Talk
New Movie Reviews
New Movie Lists
Top Movie List by SIngli6
Top Movie List by Ben
Movies of 2017 by Stoney McStonerson
Top Movie List by Michael
2014 by Karmand
movies of 2018 by skater4159
Best of 2016 by Nick
2017 by Randall

 

 

 

Contact FilmCrave Public Relations    

Advertise and Business

Developer API

Contact Us

Jobs

About us

SiteMap

 

Support FilmCrave

FAQ and Help

News and Press

Terms of Use

Privacy