Create Game Lists on MeltedJoystick.com
FilmCrave home
   Movies  Members
Search +
Searching... Close  
Are you sure you want to delete this comment?
  
 
  Login Using Facebook
Twitter
 
     
 

The Perks of Being a Wallflower (2012) Movie Reviews

Your Rating:
 
 
Buy The Perks of Being a Wallflower (2012) DVD from AmazonBuy The Perks of Being a Wallflower (2012) DVD from Amazon  Add to List: Add to movie listWrite Review +Request correction +Submit a plot +

Quick Movie Reviews

1 - 9 of 9 

Gabe 10/19/2015 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3/4 

An excellent film about a boy trying to find his way in life while dealing with depression, child abuse, his friend's suicide and the lack of close personal relationships. The acting is great in this film as is the writing. It kind of takes a leap of faith near the end when Charlie has his (final?) mental breakdown and we're left to fill in the blanks about his aunt abusing him. Although, a few scenes later this is all spelled out for us. I highly recommend this to anyone.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Matthew Brady 01/06/2014 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

I thought this movie was going to be a documentary a bout a wallflowers.this is so far the best movie of 2012 I mean the acting the directing and the story was great.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

sapien 08/04/2013 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3.5/4 

This is an amazing movie! I love everything about it! There are few other movies who are on the same level as this one with regard to explaining what it's like to be mentally ill.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Camper 06/30/2013 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3.5/4 

I really love this movie. The book is one of those things you appreciate the most at a certain age, or a certain point in your life, and I think the movie is no different. However, if there was one thing I didn't like about the film, it's that at times Patrick could be a little....too flamboyant. In the book, I didn't even find out that he was gay until it said so, but in the movie you can tell right off the bat that he is. I don't know if that can be considered a "flaw" but I just didn't picture Patrick in that way, Ezra Miller did a great job nonetheless, and if I hadn't read the book first I probably wouldn't have minded. Also, I wish that they had kept in the scene where Charlie reads the poem at the Christmas party.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Lauren 03/16/2013 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

Emma Watson is phenomenal! This movie is amazing! I read the book and most of the time the book is better than the movie and this is true for this movie too. But the movie was fantastic in a whole new way. It portrayed the main ideas of the book perfectly and is just an awesome movie! I'd definitely see it again! Every actor/actress was outstanding and played their parts really well. Awesome job to Stephen Chbosky and everyone else involved. Should of been nominated for an Oscar. Awesome!

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Alex 02/17/2013 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3/4 

A solid coming of age movie with a good soundtrack good performances and an interesting take. It isn't ground breaking but is paced well, shot well, and ends well. Recommended for those that want a good drama rental.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

mitchellyoung 02/06/2013 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3/4 

Perks of Being a Wallflower earns its three stars purely from its transcendent screenplay, which I suspect borrows a lot from the poetry of the book. This is a film of moments and emotions and plays at themes of growing up and coping with some dark tragedies in a realistic and weighty way. At times, though, this philosophizing hinders the film, as it grinds to a spectator-like snail's pace and relies a bit too much (at times) on spacey exposition via voice over. A lot of the plot points get resolved via voice over and that's a little too convenient, at times. The cast is respectable and worth mentioning is the firecracker performance of Ezra Miller. Logan Lerman is good at looking sad and boring.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Jake 11/04/2012 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

This is not your typical teenage drama, it's absolutely transcendence. It deals with very heavy topics without ever becoming melodramatic or heavy handed. It's sad, funny, honest, bittersweet, but in the end very hopeful. The performances are stellar all around especially from Ezra Miller and Logan Lerman. As for Emma Watson she completely strips her 'Hermione" persona and makes for an illuminating presence. One of the very best films of the year and a new classic among teen oriented cinema.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Snoogans 10/15/2012 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

More touching and relatable than the average teen movie. This story goes beyond mere 'high school' problems and dives deep into some emotionally distraught places. The characters are genuine and the sentimentality is earned in spades. If you are, or have been, a teenager you owe it to yourself to see this film.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 
1    
 
 
Log In
Help on how to log into FilmCrave
Login with Facebook
Login with FilmCrave
 
 
What Members Are Doing
Movie Talk
New Movie Reviews
New Movie Lists
Movies I've Watched by Chris Ghost
Top Movie List by Seth
My Wish List by Andrew
Movies I Want To See by Rod
Recent Movies To See by Mr Cinema
2016 Rated and Ranked by Chris Kavan
2017 by Karmand
movies of 2018 by skater4159

 

 

 

Contact FilmCrave Public Relations    

Advertise and Business

Developer API

Contact Us

Jobs

About us

SiteMap

 

Support FilmCrave

FAQ and Help

News and Press

Terms of Use

Privacy