Create Game Lists on MeltedJoystick.com
FilmCrave home
   Movies  Members
Search +
Searching... Close  
Are you sure you want to delete this comment?
  
 
  Login Using Facebook
Twitter
 
     
 

Dark City (1998) Movie Reviews

Your Rating:
 
 
Buy Dark City (1998) DVD from AmazonBuy Dark City (1998) DVD from Amazon  Add to List: Add to movie listWrite Review +Request correction +Submit a plot +

Quick Movie Reviews

1 - 8 of 8 

Moviehead 04/01/2012 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

One of most interesting sf and mystery film ever

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

mitchellyoung 02/20/2012 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

Dark City is one of the best neo-noir films ever. It combines the dark, dystopian vision of "Blade Runner" with some cinematic nods to past films of the 1930's and 40's. The film crafts an intriguing, detective story plot, while still concluding with a glimmer of beauty and hope (That last scene is iconic.)

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Snoogans 03/06/2010 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3.5/4 

Overlooked and underrated. Visionary sci-fi elements mixed with a great unfolding mystery. Director's cut adds more and is a better version of the film, in my opinion.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Ikkinbot 11/13/2009 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3.5/4 

Dark CIty is a unique sci-fi. The filming is very dark and really adds to the overall mystery of the movie.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Ilovetimburton 05/15/2008 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

 

At first i thought that this movie ripped off the Matrix but then i learned that it came out before the Matrix. It didn't hurt that Kiefer Sutherland. It also didn't hurt that the plot was ingenious and that the special effects were out of this world.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Alex 03/29/2007 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

A beautiful, well written and directed movie wit the only problem being the music. It is a continuous tone that never really slows or speeds up. The cinematography, while dark, is groundbreaking and I have never seen anything since. See it!

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Chris Kavan 02/25/2007 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3/4 

Dark and mysterious, with nothing as it seems. Dark City is like a precursor to The Matrix - major differences, but the similarities are hard to ignore. This is one you have to watch a few times to get, but it's a good sci-fi adventure.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Josh C 01/03/2007 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3.5/4 

Dark City is one of a kind. It is one of the best sci-fi movies ever made.If you like sci-fi movies with a bit of a mystery surrounding them this is for you. Must see.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 
1    
 
 
Log In
Help on how to log into FilmCrave
Login with Facebook
Login with FilmCrave
 
 
What Members Are Doing
Movie Talk
New Movie Reviews
New Movie Lists
Top Movie List by Seth
Movies I Want To See by dadams
Movies I've Watched by Chris Ghost
Top Movie List by Marugo
2009 by Karmand
To See: 2017 Movies by Alex
My Wish List by bigboy89
My Wish List by Andrew

 

 

 

Contact FilmCrave Public Relations    

Advertise and Business

Developer API

Contact Us

Jobs

About us

SiteMap

 

Support FilmCrave

FAQ and Help

News and Press

Terms of Use

Privacy