Create Game Lists on MeltedJoystick.com
FilmCrave home
   Movies  Members
Search +
Searching... Close  
Are you sure you want to delete this comment?
  
 
  Login Using Facebook
Twitter
 
     
 

Dan in Real Life (2007) Movie Reviews

Your Rating:
 
 
Buy Dan in Real Life (2007) DVD from AmazonBuy Dan in Real Life (2007) DVD from Amazon  Add to List: Add to movie listWrite Review +Request correction +Submit a plot +

Quick Movie Reviews

1 - 10 of 17 

FSUNoles27TS 11/29/2012 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3/4 

Steve Carell proves again he can put himself into any role. THis movie was good. Great story, great acting, and great relationships between characters. You could have left Dane Cook at home and gotten somebody else, but I'll ignore that talentless rat-bast**d so I can enjoy the movie.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Daniel Corleone 09/20/2012 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
2.5/4 

Great performances but the humor felt dry and childish. Loads of coy moments and direction was somewhat all over with lack of character development. The cast seemed restless and just didn't manipulate the casts talents. Screenplay and soundtrack was good but overall Dan in Real Life felt preachy than entertaining.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

dukeakasmudge 09/25/2011 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
1.5/4 

Actually a kinda good movie but some of it was to corny

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

donkeyknight 05/03/2011 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3.5/4 

"Let my love open your heart." An earnest movie with amazing music. Reminded me of classic Hepburn/Grant romantic comedies. Near perfect, if only they had not thrown in a few of the moments. Dane Cook annoys me so much, which worked quite well here.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Ikkinbot 07/15/2010 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3/4 

This is an interesting darkly funny movie. Steve Carell is great in this.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Holas 04/16/2009 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3/4 

It has been awhile since i've seen this movie...however, it was great. Steve Carell was starting to get predictable on me, but in this movie i couldn't guess anything. All the co-stars were brilliant as well. The movie just didn't rest in Carell's hands alone. John Mahoney was terriffic as usual, and when you throw in a talented actress like Dianne Wiest you either expect to cry and/or know you're gonna laugh your ass off. I don't know how she does it. but the movie is a perfect mix between locker room funny and watch with teenage children funny. This is a movie to watch, a movie to own and a movie to remember.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Chris Kavan 04/12/2009 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
2.5/4 

This is a charming slice-of-life comedy/romance that is capped off by terrific performances from Steve Carell and Juliette Binoche. A good date movie with the right mix of humor and emotion.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

goodfellamike 03/13/2009 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
2.5/4 

A comedy that has its moments, and plenty of heart, but it feels too similar to The Family Stone and would've been better had it nixed its ridiculous romantic plot with the ever convenient Binoche; and am I the only one who saw no resemblance between Dane Cook and anyone else? Carell exonerates himself. Final Grade: C+

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Allison 01/10/2009 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
2.5/4 

This movie could have really tanked. It started out pretty lame. However performances by Steve Carell, Juliette Binoche, Dianne Wiest, and Emily Blunt made it worthwhile. The director had a lot of good ideas and it seems to me that if he keeps going, he will strike gold one day.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Freddie 12/23/2008 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3/4 

I was very pleased by this movie. Carell stepped outside of his cheesy humor and played a meaningful role that I'm sure a lot of men can relate to in one way or another. I was glad to see that the acting was a priority in this movie. Even Dane Cook, who I love, was completely outside of himself. There was a very touching story. I loved the whole family dynamic. I would definitely recommend this to anyone.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 
1  2  Next  
 
 
Log In
Help on how to log into FilmCrave
Login with Facebook
Login with FilmCrave
 
 
What Members Are Doing
Movie Talk
New Movie Reviews
New Movie Lists
Top Movie List by Michael
Movies of 2017 by Stoney McStonerson
2017 by Randall
2013 by Karmand
Movies I've Seen by M3tr4nk0
2017 Rated and Ranked by Chris Kavan
Best Horror Films of all Time by cacb3995
Top Movie List by Seth

 

 

 

Contact FilmCrave Public Relations    

Advertise and Business

Developer API

Contact Us

Jobs

About us

SiteMap

 

Support FilmCrave

FAQ and Help

News and Press

Terms of Use

Privacy