Create Game Lists on MeltedJoystick.com
FilmCrave home
   Movies  Members
Search +
Searching... Close  
Are you sure you want to delete this comment?
  
 
  Login Using Facebook
Twitter
 
     
 

The Artist (2011) Movie Reviews

Your Rating:
 
 
Buy The Artist (2011) DVD from AmazonBuy The Artist (2011) DVD from Amazon  Add to List: Add to movie listWrite Review +Request correction +Submit a plot +

Quick Movie Reviews

1 - 10 of 10 

Matthew Brady 10/19/2013 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

Silent but deadly that's what this film is like. I enjoyed this silent film and I like how it got best picture at the Oscar's good.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

worleyjamers 06/29/2013 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

Wonderful! The reason this film was my favorite of 2011 is because not only is it a brilliant tribute to classic silent cinema, but it's also fully aware that it's a modern film. For example, there's a dream sequence that creatively incorporates sound in a manner that fits into the conflict of the story. Also, the ending was so brilliant; many people don't like that the film did what it did at the end, but I thought it was absolutely necessary. Dujardin and Bejo are great, the music is great, the dancing is great, the story is great. Call it "Oscar bait" all you want, but all-in-all, THE ARTIST is just a wonderful film that completely deserved Best Picture in my opinion.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Freddie 02/16/2013 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3/4 

I didn't think I would like this movie very much, but once I started it I couldn't take my eyes off of it. It's a really nice story.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

The Host 10/24/2012 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

The best movie of 2011!

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Lauren 07/07/2012 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
2.5/4 

Not as good as I expected. Wouldn't expect this to be an Oscar winner. Very surprised. There are plenty of other movies that would be better than The Artist. But then why was it picked? maybe I am a newbie as to understanding why this film is so "great" I personally did not enjoy it. I'd say it was an average film, nothing special. It wasn't bad though I will say that.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Snoogans 06/29/2012 (1 of 1 found this helpful)

Rating of
3/4 

The fact that this is a silent film about the era of silent films is a clever concept and the whole movie serves as a loving homage. This is an enjoyable watch, with some solid performances and directing. It will surely satisfy your nostalgic cravings. But that's the film's only major fault. It just comes off as a piece of nostalgia.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

mitchellyoung 03/23/2012 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3.5/4 

The Artist is a fun and moving throwback to both early silent comedies and the screwball comedies of the 30's and 40's. While it doesn't deviate dramatically from the tried and true formula of those early films, the result is pleasing and uplifting in an optimistic way that is often absent from modern cynical filmmaking.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Marie 03/10/2012 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

In these times of 3D and dubstep, The Artist is the triumph of simplicity.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

sapien 01/29/2012 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3.5/4 

This just might be the most charming movie I've ever seen. I thought it was one of the best movies I've seen in a long time. The dog was cute. The girl was cuter. And, the man with the mustache (the character George Valentin) had a glorious 'stache! lol. Of course, most of my love for this movie comes from the fact that it's a black and white silent movie made in 2011!

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

patjohnson76 01/05/2012 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

Several words came to mind as I watched this: daring, risky, original, challenging, impressive; but one word stood out above all of them: incredible. The plot is interesting enough: a silent film star is left behind with the transition to "talkies" occurs, but the fact that this movie is presented as a silent movie itself is brilliant. The leads: Jean Dujardin as the actor and Berenice Bejo as the up and comer talkie star are great as they must express all emotion without dialogue. The supporting cast is good as well, and the composer, Ludovic Bource, must do what the composers of long ago did - convey a majority of the film through music. Well-deserving of all the Oscar buzz it's receiving, it could end up being my favorite film of 2011.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 
1    
 
 
Log In
Help on how to log into FilmCrave
Login with Facebook
Login with FilmCrave
 
 
What Members Are Doing
Movie Talk
New Movie Reviews
New Movie Lists
Top Movie List by Michael
2014 by Karmand
movies of 2018 by skater4159
Best of 2016 by Nick
Movies of 2017 by Stoney McStonerson
2017 by Randall
Movies I've Seen by M3tr4nk0
2017 Rated and Ranked by Chris Kavan

 

 

 

Contact FilmCrave Public Relations    

Advertise and Business

Developer API

Contact Us

Jobs

About us

SiteMap

 

Support FilmCrave

FAQ and Help

News and Press

Terms of Use

Privacy