Create Game Lists on MeltedJoystick.com
FilmCrave home
   Movies  Members
Search +
Searching... Close  
Are you sure you want to delete this comment?
  
 
  Login Using Facebook
Twitter
 
     
 

Descendants, The (2011) Movie Reviews

Your Rating:
 
 
Buy Descendants, The (2011) DVD from AmazonBuy Descendants, The (2011) DVD from Amazon  Add to List: Add to movie listWrite Review +Request correction +Submit a plot +

Quick Movie Reviews

1 - 10 of 12 

potatoehoney 11/24/2014 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
2.5/4 

Im sorry to say, but George Cloney is better to play in action and superhero, his emotional and feeling is too flat. Thanks for Shailene Woodley, i give 2,5 stars bcoz of her natural acting

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Rod 04/23/2014 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3/4 

I'm not sure if I really understood the whole thing, what the movie wants to say. But I'm sure that it is a family drama everyone should see. Directing and performances are above average.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Barbara 05/25/2013 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3/4 

If you enjoy family drama and beautiful scenes of Hawaii in the background, you just might like this movie. It's a non rushed look into a family situation. I like movies like Ordinary People and I'd add this one to that list as well.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Michael 07/22/2012 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
2.5/4 

worth a watch once

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

worleyjamers 04/14/2012 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3.5/4 

Really great film! George Clooney gives the best performance of his career. Nominated for 5 Academy Awards including Best Picture, Best Director, and Best Actor. One of the absolute best films of the year!...

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Snoogans 03/18/2012 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

The humor comes from a painfully truthful place and is genuinely funny. I even laughed out loud some of the time. The tragic story is told in the same light and is actually moving. There is great acting all around and Clooney carries the film with an Oscar worthy performance. The story is an excellent mix of tragedy and comedy. A deserving win, for Best Adapted Screenplay.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Gabe 02/26/2012 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3/4 

What a weird year for movies. There just hasn't been that film that has jumped out and said, this is the film that 2011 will be remembered for. This is not it, but it could be Clooney's best performance, yet. As far a Alexander Payne films go, I prefer Sideways (2004). This is a good movie, but, not great. See it for Clooney.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

nis 02/16/2012 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3/4 

not as strong as about schmidt or sideways but still a very enjoyable movie with the director's style intact

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

mitchellyoung 02/15/2012 (1 of 1 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

The Descendants is Alexander Payne at his best. Like previous Payne works, it is a moving meditation on human emotion, told with earnest integrity and with enough humorous asides and quirky moments to still succeed as a dramatic comedy. George Clooney gives one of his all-time best performances as a grieving husband and father, but the film is also populated by a supporting cast that adds to the rich texture of the film. The movie's best moments, and most relevant moments, lie in the scenes where the characters simply react as real people and don't feel like they're speaking some Hollywood-ized manipulative gibberish. These scenes deal with themes of grief, acceptance, and family in a straightforward and surprisingly moving way.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

patjohnson76 02/04/2012 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3.5/4 

A so-so script is propelled into a great film thanks to a career-best performance by George Clooney. The story seems a little soapy - man finds out wife, who's in a coma, was cheating on him, so he sets out to find out the man she was with. This is forgivable though, thanks to the great performance from Clooney, who sheds the charm and swagger he usually brings to his roles and delivers his most honest and believable portrayal yet.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 
1  2  Next  
 
 
Log In
Help on how to log into FilmCrave
Login with Facebook
Login with FilmCrave
 
 
What Members Are Doing
Movie Talk
New Movie Reviews
New Movie Lists
Movies I Want To See by Laura
Top Movie List by Jesse
Top Films of 1969 by Neobowler
Top Movie List by Seth
Movies I Want To See by dadams
Movies I've Watched by Chris Ghost
Top Movie List by Marugo
2009 by Karmand

 

 

 

Contact FilmCrave Public Relations    

Advertise and Business

Developer API

Contact Us

Jobs

About us

SiteMap

 

Support FilmCrave

FAQ and Help

News and Press

Terms of Use

Privacy