Create Game Lists on MeltedJoystick.com
FilmCrave home
   Movies  Members
Search +
Searching... Close  
Are you sure you want to delete this comment?
  
 
  Login Using Facebook
Twitter
 
     
 

The Help (2011) Movie Reviews

Your Rating:
 
 
Buy The Help (2011) DVD from AmazonBuy The Help (2011) DVD from Amazon  Add to List: Add to movie listWrite Review +Request correction +Submit a plot +

Quick Movie Reviews

1 - 10 of 13 

Lee 11/04/2012 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
0.5/4 

ZZZZZZZZZZ Bored the crap out of me however the wife and son enjoyed it.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

johnny black 07/30/2012 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

viola davis and octavia spencer give stunningly powerful performaces in this film. i am thrilled that octavia spencer won the academy award for best supporting actress and i am furious that viola davis did not win for best actress. she deserved to win hands down. definitely a top5 film.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

mitchellyoung 05/10/2012 (1 of 1 found this helpful)

Rating of
3/4 

The strength of "The Help" lies in its powerful performances, most notably from a solemn Viola Davis and a scene-stealing Octavia Spencer. The film, in its portrayal of suburban housewife homes, glosses over some of the uglier racial tensions (although there are hints) and sometimes things tie up a little too neatly. All the same, the film presents an admirable and interesting perspective on civil rights in the South and its talented cast elevates the material considerably.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Alex 02/29/2012 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
2.5/4 

I was not looking forward to this movie. I had no hope for it. I was afraid it was going to be too melodramtic. I was wrong it was pretty good and told an important story. But it just was not tood in a unique way. Not bad and worth a rent.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Nick 02/20/2012 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
2.5/4 

This movie was not high on my list to see, but I'm glad I did. The acting is excellent and there was the right amount of comedy and seriousness to keep you engaged in the movie. The cast all did an excellent job and deserve the nominations they have received. This movie is far better than you might be thinking, so give a try.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Gabe 02/18/2012 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3/4 

This movie gets the award for being one-million times better than I thought it was going to be. The cast was great and has deserved all of the accolades that it has garnered so far. A very surprising film, usually not my type, but very well done.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Chris Kavan 02/16/2012 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3/4 

The Help is not usually a film I would seek, but I'm glad I watched this as the ensemble cast is truly excellent and there is plenty of humor and heart in this film. Octavia Spencer, Viola Davis and Jessica Chastain deserve all the praise they've received, and the film is worthy of all the awards and nominations it has received.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

serioussir 01/18/2012 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

Wonderfully done. Superb acting. Funny, touching and heartbreaking. The bravery of these women is incredible and moving.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Snoogans 12/21/2011 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3.5/4 

An entertaining drama that is equal parts sweet, funny, poignant and touching. There is solid acting all around, but Davis and Spencer's performances add to the film significantly.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

LeeAnn M. 12/16/2011 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3.5/4 

Life is no box of chocolates for 1960's Jackson, Mississippi's maids who cook, clean, run errands, and look over children for white households. A college graduate returning home hoping to gain writing experience wants to pen a point of view story from the maids. When a person lets go of fear in order to change injustice results in friendships neither the story-teller or the story-writer thought possible. The Help may not truly depict life as a maid in 1960's Civil Rights Movement in the South, but it doesn't make it a bad film.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 
1  2  Next  
 
 
Log In
Help on how to log into FilmCrave
Login with Facebook
Login with FilmCrave
 
 
What Members Are Doing
Movie Talk
New Movie Reviews
New Movie Lists
Top Films of 2012 by Neobowler
Movies First Seen in 2017 by royaluglydudes
Top Movie List by Seth
Movies I've Watched by Chris Ghost
2016 Rated and Ranked by Chris Kavan
2013 by Karmand
movies of 2017 by skater4159
Movies Watched by Sunbutt

 

 

 

Contact FilmCrave Public Relations    

Advertise and Business

Developer API

Contact Us

Jobs

About us

SiteMap

 

Support FilmCrave

FAQ and Help

News and Press

Terms of Use

Privacy