Create Game Lists on MeltedJoystick.com
FilmCrave home
   Movies  Members
Search +
Searching... Close  
Are you sure you want to delete this comment?
  
 
  Login Using Facebook
Twitter
 
     
 

John Carter (2012) Movie Reviews

Your Rating:
 
 
Buy John Carter (2012) DVD from AmazonBuy John Carter (2012) DVD from Amazon  Add to List: Add to movie listWrite Review +Request correction +Submit a plot +

Quick Movie Reviews

1 - 10 of 13 

Matthew Brady 08/08/2014 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
1/4 

No wonder this movie bombed.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Indyfreak 07/23/2014 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3/4 

I'm probably one of the dozen or so people who not only saw John Carter in theaters but thoroughly enjoyed it. It is not without its flaws but it is an earnest and lovingly old-fashioned science fiction/adventure movie in the vein of Star Wars and Avatar. Perhaps that is because the original John Carter novels inspired Star Wars and Avatar in the first place. Fx are great and the action is entertaining. The alien dog sidekick (yea it has one of those) is what Jar Jar Binks should have been. This thing was hilarious! The movie itself contains a self-contained story but you can tell they were hoping for a sequel. Cuz that's gonna happen, right =/?

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

worleyjamers 06/29/2013 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
2.5/4 

John Carter has some amazing visual elements that are some of the best I have ever seen; the cgi is absolutely fantastic and certainly makes the film easy to watch. It's easy to see where the money was spent on this project. However, it suffers considerably due to major pacing problems, making the film feel uneven. Thus resulting in a film that, unfortunately, is disappointing and forgettable.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Ikkinbot 02/27/2013 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
2.5/4 

I feel this movie was truly ok. Neither bad nor fantastic. It was a bit full of stuff - but I've been told that makes it very true to the book, which I have not read. I found the costuming often took me out of the story as I just thought it looked kind of silly and cheap. I really like the non-humanoid aliens though.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Nick 08/02/2012 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3/4 

Much better than critics said it was. I'm glad I watched it in the theater. The CGI was great, story was great, and acting was good. Exactly the quality of movie you expect from Disney. A good rental.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Lauren 07/07/2012 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
2.5/4 

Eh...It was alright. I really loved the ending though. i love those movies where the ending pieces everything together. It was kind of cheesy but I mean it's a kids movie so what did I expect? Pretty good. Not as good as I thought

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Ean Vali 06/11/2012 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

Had me think of the other great sf/adventure movie: Avatar. This is just like that one but than perfectly different. It's a combination of Avatar and some of the better parts of Star Wars. I realy enjoyed this one and will probably watch it again.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Zeljka 04/26/2012 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

I loved the movie - it has all the ingredients the novel had, the story to tell and the characters to love. Stanton managed to pull the sense of innocence of the 'old' kind of storytelling, when love actually meant love and friendship, loyalty and honour weren't just abstract words as today tend to be. The costumes were a bit ridiculous, but the cinematography and the Martians were really impressive, and I really could relate to the story, really could put myself in that strange world where all the wonders were possible if only you wanted to see them. I truly hope Disney won't really give up on making the sequel.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Daniel Corleone 04/24/2012 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
2/4 

John Carter (Taylor Kitsch) garners new powers when teleported to Mars. Soundtrack, effects and action were evident. Film suffers from poor character development, proper pacing and structured plot. It's length and overloaded figures doesn't help either. Excess would describe this flick, adding elements of humor, western-like locations, Star Wars/Avatar like battles. John Carter had its weak and strong points, which was never dull but just plain confusing in the storytelling department.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Rob Lewboski 03/26/2012 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3/4 

I know disney lost alot of money on this film,but I really don't know why? I thought the movie was pretty cool honestly .I liked all the actors in it and thought the cgi was good. now for the bad part , Carter was a little bit to long ,and some of the movie was drawn out .I mean cmon you could have cut out like 30 or 45 mins of the movie because of pointless talking.With all of that being said I was pleased with the movie and would go see a sequel without a doubt..just make it a bit shorter.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 
1  2  Next  
 
 
Log In
Help on how to log into FilmCrave
Login with Facebook
Login with FilmCrave
 
 
What Members Are Doing
Movie Talk
New Movie Reviews
New Movie Lists
2017 Rated and Ranked by Chris Kavan
Best Horror Films of all Time by cacb3995
Top Movie List by Seth
2012 by Karmand
Top Movie List by SIngli6
Movies I watched for the Nth time by Rod
Watched in 2017 by tonks76
Movies of 2017 by Stoney McStonerson

 

 

 

Contact FilmCrave Public Relations    

Advertise and Business

Developer API

Contact Us

Jobs

About us

SiteMap

 

Support FilmCrave

FAQ and Help

News and Press

Terms of Use

Privacy