Create Game Lists on MeltedJoystick.com
FilmCrave home
   Movies  Members
Search +
Searching... Close  
Are you sure you want to delete this comment?
  
 
  Login Using Facebook
Twitter
 
     
 

Hugo (2011) Movie Reviews

Your Rating:
 
 
Buy Hugo (2011) DVD from AmazonBuy Hugo (2011) DVD from Amazon  Add to List: Add to movie listWrite Review +Request correction +Submit a plot +

Quick Movie Reviews

1 - 10 of 11 

Matthew Brady 01/20/2014 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3.5/4 

A 12-year-old orphan living in the walls of a Paris train station circa 1930 must unravel a mystery involving his late father and a robot. Martin Scorsese directing a kids movie could fall on it's face but the movie works so well that movie is great.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

worleyjamers 06/29/2013 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3.5/4 

Wonderful. A joyous and magical experience. Nominated for 11 Academy Awards including Best Picture and Best Director.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Michael 09/03/2012 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3/4 

Not typical movie by scorsese but was a good movie none the less

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Lee 08/11/2012 (0 of 1 found this helpful)

Rating of
1/4 

Omg i can't remember being this bored before during a film. Really didnt expect this from director Scorcese...nuff said!! Scorcese has about 3-4 different films in my top 20 list of all time that's why i was shocked. Even more shocked that Sacha Baron Cohen signed on to do this film as i have so much respect for him comedy wise! Anyhow my kids all enjoyed it and i guess that was Scorcese's target audience in the first place.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Freddie 08/09/2012 (0 of 1 found this helpful)

Rating of
1/4 

I was completely bored by this and didn't care to see it through to the end. I'm usually not that way with movies, buy my goodness....I really wanted to like this.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

smeagol 05/15/2012 (1 of 2 found this helpful)

Rating of
1.5/4 

Think im missing something here. i dont get the hype over this movie. i found it visually great but seriously boring. it wouldn't hold my attention as a kid and certianly doesn't as a adult. so not sure who likes this and why but ii thought it was a snooze fest,

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Chris Kavan 03/13/2012 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3/4 

Deserves all the Oscars it won as it was brilliant in both visuals and sound. Martin Scorsese proves he can make a family film as compelling as his crime dramas. The acting was top notch from young and old alike and the story really did capture that magic of movies.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

patjohnson76 03/06/2012 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3.5/4 

One of the better films of 2011, Martin Scorsese departs from his usual type of film and delivers Hugo which is...well, it's a little difficult to describe Hugo. I'd classify it more as a drama, which I wasn't expecting. There's a deep emotional connection with the viewer as Scorsese presents a lonely boy who is looking for some sort of companionship. Great acting all around, as well as a great looking film in terms of cinematography, art direction, and costumes. Well done, Marty.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Snoogans 03/01/2012 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3/4 

Not the whimsical adventure it's made out to be, but a very fine film. A family movie that will probably only appeal to kids no younger than 10. It's a visual treat, with a beautifully cinematic approach to storytelling. I did not watch it in 3D, but I do believe that the format might add to the experience. The story is decent. It's basically one big homage to the beginnings of cinema and it even recreates some iconic moments from silent film. 'Hugo' is a pleasant reminder of the 'magic' that movies create.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

mitchellyoung 12/15/2011 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3.5/4 

This is a total reversal of type for the often gritty Scorsese who channels his love of film history into a charming adventure story that plays to the cinephile. The cinematography creates some beautiful sequences, but the film is really about the characters and Scorsese manages to find an emotional heart amid the grandeur.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 
1  2  Next  
 
 
Log In
Help on how to log into FilmCrave
Login with Facebook
Login with FilmCrave
 
 
What Members Are Doing
Movie Talk
New Movie Reviews
New Movie Lists
2016 by Karmand
Top Movie List by SIngli6
Movies I watched for the Nth time by Rod
Watched in 2017 by tonks76
Top Movie List by Seth
Movies of 2017 by Stoney McStonerson
Fantastic French Films I Have Seen by Chris Kavan
2016 by Randall

 

 

 

Contact FilmCrave Public Relations    

Advertise and Business

Developer API

Contact Us

Jobs

About us

SiteMap

 

Support FilmCrave

FAQ and Help

News and Press

Terms of Use

Privacy