Create Game Lists on MeltedJoystick.com
FilmCrave home
   Movies  Members
Search +
Searching... Close  
Are you sure you want to delete this comment?
  
 
  Login Using Facebook
Twitter
 
     
 

Clue (1985) Movie Reviews

Your Rating:
 
 
Buy Clue (1985) DVD from AmazonBuy Clue (1985) DVD from Amazon  Add to List: Add to movie listWrite Review +Request correction +Submit a plot +

Quick Movie Reviews

1 - 10 of 11 

mitchellyoung 12/21/2011 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3.5/4 

I have a definite soft spot for this film, with its lightning fast pacing, witty humor, and exaggerated portrayals of characters from the popular board game. Tim Curry is especially energetic as the enigmatic Mr. Body and the film is a fun blend of mystery and comedy.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Snoogans 10/25/2011 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3/4 

A fun 'who done it' full of twists and jokes. The cast is great, especially Tim Curry as the butler. They keep things lively and funny, even when the the multiple endings get explanation heavy.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

dukeakasmudge 09/13/2011 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

Very funny Comedy/Mystery from the 80's.Get the DVD with the Alternate Endings

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

SIngli6 06/01/2011 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3/4 

A rambunctious neo-screwball from the ever reliable Jonathan Lynn. Though it may require multiple viewings for the benefit of cohesion, perseverance will facilitate a rightful and delightful endearment.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

donkeyknight 05/02/2011 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3/4 

Just the right amount of dark comedy. Slapstick fun with lively banter. The 3 endings are a cool touch. This movie actually lived up to all the people who recommended it.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

PsychoKing1227 09/26/2008 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

"Clue" is a brilliantly-written savvy comedy with one of the most star-studded casts of the 80's, bringing to life one of the world's most popular board games. Sure, this movie follows every murder/comedy formula in the book, but what makes it so entertaining is the amount of time the director opted to give to side characters and attention to silliness, without being overly campy. Sure, this is a guilty pleasure, but one that I find remarkable. As an actor myself, my friends and I watch this and "Noises Off" every chance we get.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

serioussir 05/09/2008 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3.5/4 

I loved this show. Very funny with lots of action. The cast is great and it's even a good who-dunnit. One I can watch over and over.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Chris Kavan 02/23/2008 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3/4 

A terrific ensemble comedy that never gets old no matter how many times you watch it. Multiple endings don't always work, but in Clue it's a perfect way to end (or re-end) the movie. Always fun to watch and never gets boring.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

safari kate 01/20/2008 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3.5/4 

Infinitely quotable. This is a fun movie to watch multiple times. I find it especially funny that when it was released, different theaters showed one of the three endings, making sure that people went to see it more than once. Brilliant.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Topher 08/16/2007 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3/4 

Communism is a red herring: this film is a capitalist plot to sell board games! I hold this film responsible for a number of fetishes developed during my formative, game-playing years -- for french maids, morbid murderesses and slick commodity entertainment. Ground-breaking commodity entertainment -- I believe Clue was one of the first films constructed entirely around a name brand product (the most recent examples are, of course, the Pirates movies). An interesting study of this movie would address The Mr. Body Question - - and examine how sexuality, crime and socialism are marked as closet activities, best participated in anoymously with fake, suggestive names.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 
1  2  Next  
 
 
Log In
Help on how to log into FilmCrave
Login with Facebook
Login with FilmCrave
 
 
What Members Are Doing
Movie Talk
New Movie Reviews
New Movie Lists
Best Movies of the 2010s by Mr Cinema
Top Thriller Movies by Rod
My Blu Ray Collection by Yojimbo
movies of 2017 by skater4159
Top Sci-Fi Movies by Nolane
Movies Seen by Alena
2005 by Karmand
2017 Rated and Ranked by Chris Kavan

 

 

 

Contact FilmCrave Public Relations    

Advertise and Business

Developer API

Contact Us

Jobs

About us

SiteMap

 

Support FilmCrave

FAQ and Help

News and Press

Terms of Use

Privacy