Create Game Lists on MeltedJoystick.com
FilmCrave home
   Movies  Members
Search +
Searching... Close  
Are you sure you want to delete this comment?
  
 
  Login Using Facebook
Twitter
 
     
 

War Horse (2011) Movie Reviews

Your Rating:
 
 
Buy War Horse (2011) DVD from AmazonBuy War Horse (2011) DVD from Amazon  Add to List: Add to movie listWrite Review +Request correction +Submit a plot +

Quick Movie Reviews

1 - 9 of 9 

Matthew Brady 07/30/2014 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3.5/4 

Wow this horse is amazing. Okay what did I think about this movie well I can say that it is the best movie of 2011, just a great film with a good score.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

worleyjamers 06/24/2014 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3.5/4 

Steven Spielberg, yet again, proves to be one of the best directors and story tellers of our time. Only he could take a story about the relationship between a horse and his boy and turn it into a heart warming adventure. The character development is arguably the best thing about the film; War Horse has many different characters, some only in the movie for a few scenes, but almost immediately their roles in the grand story are seen. The cinematography is gorgeous and the score sweeping. It's one of the best films of 2011.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Rod 05/04/2014 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3/4 

A good mix of drama, war and humor. I love the cinematography. The plot (and subplots) works! I was waiting for the horses to talk tho, jk. =)

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Brandon 05/21/2012 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
2.5/4 

Parts of this movie are good, others not so much. It bounces around from character to character making it hard to connect with any of them. The best character is the horse, but how much of a connection can you make with a horse in a non speaking role. (not animation, and thankfully no peanut butter on his lips) But the movie has its moments, I love horses and it has great cinematography.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Moviehead 03/26/2012 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
1.5/4 

Very beautiful film but very bad film. I used to think spielberg was overly sentimental now i just have feeling he is joking.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

nis 02/16/2012 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
2.5/4 

ok it's spielberg and it's about war, so i expected miracles. i expected the story to be really told from the horse's view (first person shaky camera views) and also i expected gore!! the kid enlists to find his horse isn't it? well it doesn't show him looking for him or his struggles up to the point that he finds him (ok there is one scene!). in short i wanted the movie to have the edgyness that saving private ryan had which would make it a lot more epic. other than that it was pretty well paced and it had amazing cinematography

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

patjohnson76 01/09/2012 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

War Horse is a wonderful adaptation of the children's novel by Michael Morpurgo of the same name, though Steven Spielberg's adaptation is closer in line to the Tony-winning play currently running on Broadway and in the West End. When it comes to war epics, nobody is better than Spielberg, who brings Morpugo's pages and scenes to life with stunning realization and assembles his usual crew to deliver a great film. The film takes place in a few acts through the horse's life, but at it's heart is the bond between him and his owner.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

sapien 01/04/2012 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
2.5/4 

It definitely has charm. However, the idea that that many people could have such an affinity for a horse, not a person, mind you, but a horse, is rather difficult to believe. Also, the horse does a few things that I don't think a real horse could actually do. That being said, I can see why so many people liked it. Now, if you go into it thinking, as I did, that only about 20 to 25% will be about the horse, and the rest of the movie will have a really awesome story, then you will be terribly mistaken. The whole, entire movie is about the horse!

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Snoogans 01/01/2012 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
2.5/4 

Presented as an old fashioned sort of animal tale, it has the right balance of sentimental storytelling and theatrical scope. It is an all-around well made film. My only big problem is that most scenes felt like they were trying to force emotions out of me and I couldn't succumb to going through the usual motions of this type of movie.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 
1    
 
 
Log In
Help on how to log into FilmCrave
Login with Facebook
Login with FilmCrave
 
 
What Members Are Doing
Movie Talk
New Movie Reviews
New Movie Lists
2005 by Karmand
2017 Rated and Ranked by Chris Kavan
Movies First Seen in 2017 by royaluglydudes
Movies of 2017 by Stoney McStonerson
2009 Movies by Mr Cinema
movies of 2017 by skater4159
Movies I Want To See by Laura
Top Movie List by Jesse

 

 

 

Contact FilmCrave Public Relations    

Advertise and Business

Developer API

Contact Us

Jobs

About us

SiteMap

 

Support FilmCrave

FAQ and Help

News and Press

Terms of Use

Privacy