Create Game Lists on MeltedJoystick.com
FilmCrave home
   Movies  Members
Search +
Searching... Close  
Are you sure you want to delete this comment?
  
 
  Login Using Facebook
Twitter
 
     
 

Citizen Kane (1941) Movie Reviews

Your Rating:
 
 
Buy Citizen Kane (1941) DVD from AmazonBuy Citizen Kane (1941) DVD from Amazon  Add to List: Add to movie listWrite Review +Request correction +Submit a plot +

Quick Movie Reviews

1 - 10 of 24 

hoods_breath 03/08/2015 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
2/4 

Watched it. Interesting story, very good cinematography. I think I'm the product of another generation that just can't fully appreciate this like those of it's day.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Jmr71 08/19/2014 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

This was the greatest cinematographic production of it's time. Apparently person well had 6' of concrete dug out for a 10 second shot, because that was the angle he wanted for the shot. This is a classic and stands alone as one of the best films regardless of genre.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Indyfreak 07/26/2014 (0 of 1 found this helpful)

Rating of
2/4 

Just a reminder. Always save your reviews before you leave a page. I'll give the short version of my actual review: This is the best (made) movie ever and there's a difference between that and best movie ever. It's not that dam good for God's sake.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Matthew Brady 04/29/2014 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

"Rosebud". This masterpiece is about a news conglomerate leader dies, leaving behind a mystery about his life, and how he became the man he was. News reporters interview his acquaintances to find some kind of resolution. This movie is a master class film with jaw drooping scenes like the opening scene when Mr. Kane is in bed holding a snow globe he his hand and then before he died he whisper the words "Rosebud" and dies, and that's just the opening to the movie. The directing is fantastic but the actors in the film was the best part of this cult classic.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

mitchellyoung 02/23/2013 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

Citizen Kane has varying positions on people's "best of" lists, but what is undeniable is that it's an impressive achievement in filmmaking. Orson Welles creates a thinly-veiled caricature of William Randolph Hearst as an imposing figure, but also follows an intriguing backstory of the newspaper giant's rise. The film, on a visual scale, is full of impressive exhibitions of depth and lighting/shadow, but Welles' performance, through and through, is the main attraction.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Addeh 06/15/2012 (1 of 1 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

A great classic. Orson Welles rose from zero to hero. Truly a Cinematic masterpiece.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Alaine 12/15/2011 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3/4 

Do I dare say this one always leaves me cold? OK, good film-making, good acting, good attack on a despicable newspaper owner. I'm not trying to be contrary, it's a good movie and all that, but I really don't want to see it again.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

MaceeRae 12/15/2011 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3.5/4 

When I watch this film, as I have many times, it blows my mind that Orson Welles was only 25 years old when he created this film. It's superb. The cinematography is great, the musical score is excellent, and the acting is first rate.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Snoogans 10/28/2011 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3.5/4 

I can't add anything that hasn't already been said about Citizen Kane. It is one of the most influential films I've seen, from a technical standpoint. The story gets weighted down by many elongated scenes that drag on (most notably the entire 'news reel' opening). More of film to watch for study rather than joyous entertainment.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

patjohnson76 10/21/2011 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

There's nothing I can really say about this film that hasn't been said already in numerous reviews. Even though this film is 70 years old, you can still see it's influences on film today. Everything about Citizen Kane stands out to me - the casting, script, direction, cinematography, score, etc. Seeing the characters try to discover who Rosebud is becomes a little anti-climatic as everyone pretty much knows the answer, however, it doesn't distract from appreciating one of the greatest films of all time.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 
1  2  3  Next  
 
 
Log In
Help on how to log into FilmCrave
Login with Facebook
Login with FilmCrave
 
 
What Members Are Doing
Movie Talk
New Movie Reviews
New Movie Lists
2004 Films Watched by James
Movies of 2017 by Stoney McStonerson
Best Movies of the 2010s by Mr Cinema
2016 Rated and Ranked by Chris Kavan
Movies Watched by Sunbutt
Top Films of 2007 by Neobowler
2016 by Karmand
Movies to Watch by royaluglydudes

 

 

 

Contact FilmCrave Public Relations    

Advertise and Business

Developer API

Contact Us

Jobs

About us

SiteMap

 

Support FilmCrave

FAQ and Help

News and Press

Terms of Use

Privacy