Create Game Lists on MeltedJoystick.com
FilmCrave home
   Movies  Members
Search +
Searching... Close  
Are you sure you want to delete this comment?
  
 
  Login Using Facebook
Twitter
 
     
 

X-Men: First Class (2011) Movie Reviews

Your Rating:
 
 
Buy X-Men: First Class (2011) DVD from AmazonBuy X-Men: First Class (2011) DVD from Amazon  Add to List: Add to movie listWrite Review +Request correction +Submit a plot +

Quick Movie Reviews

1 - 10 of 13 

SIngli6 06/15/2014 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3/4 

X-Men: First Class - great cast, great atmosphere, terrible canon.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Matthew Brady 02/09/2014 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3.5/4 

Explores the early relationship of Charles Xavier and Erik Lensherr when they were friends, long before they took the names Professor X and Magneto, and the rift that forms between turning them to arch-enemies. This movie is better then x-men origins wolverine now that movie sucked. okay x-men first class as good visual effect's and good make-up.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

worleyjamers 06/29/2013 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3/4 

Excellent, I loved it. I was expecting something more like Wolverine, but this was a fantastic movie. Not only a brilliant addition to the X-Men series, but it's the best of the series! The reason I say that this is the best of the series is because it delivers in more areas than the previous films did...First Class is very deep. For once I felt for the characters, I actually cared about what happened to them and how they interacted with each other. Credit must go to the cast because their performances contributed to this, especially James McAvoy and Michael Fassbender. McAvoy gives a great performance as Professor X, and Fassbender is incredible as Magneto. (You will see Erik/Magneto in a whole new light).

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

tecnoandre 12/28/2011 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

A film by Matthew Vaughn and produced by Bryan Singer, based on the X-Men characters appearing in Marvel Comics. The fifth installment in the X-Men series, the film acts as a prequel for the X-Men trilogy, being set primarily in 1962 during the Cuban Missile Crisis. It focuses on the relationship between Charles Xavier and Erik Lensherr and the origin of their groups, the X-Men and the Brotherhood of Mutants. The film stars James McAvoy as Xavier and Michael Fassbender as Lensherr. Other cast members include Kevin Bacon, January Jones, Rose Byrne, Jennifer Lawrence, ZoŽ Kravitz, Nicholas Hoult and Lucas Till. Masterpiece super-hero movie , with stunning screenplay, effects and performances.Maybe the best superhero movie ever!

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Owens Film Reviews 10/07/2011 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

Only one word to describe this film and that is AMAZING..the special effects used in this production was out of this world. The cast was a suprise though James McAvoy wouldnt be my choice to play a young Charles Xavier but he managed to pull it off amazingly. The plot was good and the acting brilliant. I like the fact that we found out how Charles And Erik meet and how the mansion was used to begin with and why Erik turned into Magneto and how Xavier came to be in a wheelchair...so overall a very enjoyable film, i for one will be getting the dvd when it is released.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Rod 10/04/2011 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3.5/4 

"X-Men: First Class" re-introduces professor X and Magneto as Charles Xavier and Erik Lensherr, respectively. This new X-Men movie brings us back to the time when Professor X and Magneto were friends which also leads us to how they become enemies. *** I saw X-Men movie before, and honestly speaking, I understand little- close to nothing. This X-Men refreshes its audience and effectively introduce to the new ones. Matthew Vaughn is of my favorite directors, he done this one smooth and clean, though some set, props sorta turned me off. But the rest, the actors and other visual effects are awesome. Very good, I like this so much that I actually want to see more X-Men movies.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Nick 06/24/2011 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3/4 

A fairly good movie filling in the story line of how X-Men started. It seemed to be lacking something, which I can't quite pin-point. It was good, but won't be a remembered movie. Maybe it is because I never really engaged with any of the characters, being used to the characters (and actors playing them) from the later movies. This movie is definitely better than Wolverine. The action is good, story is ok. The unexpected cameo of Hugh Jackman is maybe one the best scenes, even though it was very brief.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Expatriate Taxes 06/24/2011 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

The best of the X-Men...I really hope they continue this:)

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Alex 06/14/2011 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3/4 

One of the better prequels I have ever seen. I wouldn't consider this a 3.5 or a 4 star movie but it is well done, well acted, and decently directed. McAvoy is really good through most of the movie (though gets annoying towards the end). He is a good actor and this movie proves he can do any role. A very solid comic movie, tied with X2.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

patjohnson76 06/11/2011 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

Finally, an X-Men movie that strikes the perfect balance between story and action. Whereas other films have tried to focus on one or the other, Matthew Vaughn gets it right here as we see the beginnings of the X-Men and the early friendship of Professor X and Magneto. A cast that seems too good to be true helps (particularly Jennifer Lawrence and Nicholas Hoult as Mystique and Beast). All said, I'm hoping this film does enough business to jump-start the franchise so we can see where these characters go from here.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 
1  2  Next  
 
 
Log In
Help on how to log into FilmCrave
Login with Facebook
Login with FilmCrave
 
 
What Members Are Doing
Movie Talk
New Movie Reviews
New Movie Lists
Top Movie List by Seth
Top Drama Movies by Leslie
movies of 1991 by skater4159
Movies First Seen in 2018 by royaluglydudes
Top Movie List by John
2018: Best to Worst by Nolane
Top Movie List by Juan
Marvel Movie Ratings by The WHB

 

 

 

Contact FilmCrave Public Relations    

Advertise and Business

Developer API

Contact Us

Jobs

About us

SiteMap

 

Support FilmCrave

FAQ and Help

News and Press

Terms of Use

Privacy