Create Game Lists on MeltedJoystick.com
FilmCrave home
   Movies  Members
Search +
Searching... Close  
Are you sure you want to delete this comment?
  
 
  Login Using Facebook
Twitter
 
     
 

City of God ( Cidade de Deus ) (2003) Movie Reviews

Your Rating:
 
 
Buy City of God ( Cidade de Deus ) (2003) DVD from AmazonBuy City of God ( Cidade de Deus ) (2003) DVD from Amazon  Add to List: Add to movie listWrite Review +Request correction +Submit a plot +

Quick Movie Reviews

1 - 10 of 12 

Matthew Brady 04/07/2014 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3/4 

Though the narrative skips around in time, the main focus is on Cabeleira who formed a gang called the Tender Trio. He and his best friend, Bené (Phelipe Haagensen), become crime lords over the course of a decade. This movie has a good story and it's a cool crime film.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

mitchellyoung 02/06/2013 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

City of God is a weighty and chilling thriller that transports its audience to another time and setting, where street violence is the norm, even among children. The film's expansive coming of age story is poignant and eye-opening in a way not often seen in cinema. Without Hollywood stars or flashy action, Mereilles tells an intriguing visual story about pain and triumphant that grabs you by the throat and never lets go.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

FSUNoles27TS 11/27/2012 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

This is an amazing movie. It shows crime to us in a completely different perspective. Having us see the violence of another country through children's eyes is chilling and hard hitting. This is a must see for any movie lover. One of the best foreign films since Seven Samurai.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Snoogans 05/21/2012 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3.5/4 

Raw and unflinching teenage gangster story. The non-stylized, gritty presentation and fast paced editing are arresting. I was immersed in the narrative and harsh environment.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

ladyk 10/01/2011 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

Talk about great directing and cinematography. I was totally mesmerized b this film The actors were amazing the story was realistic and happens everywhere in the world. All the hype was right on I truly enjoyed this film. After watching this film I was curious to learn more about Rio . We are usually only exposed to the glitzy side of this city. I would recommend this movie and give it two hands up and wave them in the air!

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

dukeakasmudge 09/22/2011 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
1/4 

Not as good as it was hyped to be

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

The Film Rebel 11/02/2010 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

In a way, this is kinda like the Shawshank Redemption of our generation. It wasn't recongized to the extent of its full greatness when it was first released, but since then it has gone on to become a modern classic.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Patrik 11/02/2010 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3.5/4 

Great story and though all the killing, somewhere, it makes me feel good. The film is very realistic and through the great directing and cinematography, Meirelles really succees to give us a great film. At first I thought it would be more sensitive and more sad but it was not what I expected. Easily one of the best non-american movies that I've seen.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

gideon43 05/26/2010 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

A mesmerising crime epic which has the most realistic depiction of Gang warfare ever committed to film. Astonishingly brutal and engrossing, City of God is sometimes difficult to watch; nevertheless, the intimate and revealing portrayal of life in the slums of Rio is daring and dynamic. Pitch perfect (and kinetic) editing, coupled with acting so good, you can't help feel your watching a documentary, enhances one of the finest gangster movies ever. Another amazing movie incredibly snubbed at the Oscars.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Yossarian-22 02/19/2008 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

Definitely one of my top 10 movies of all time. A violent true story about life in the favela of Cidade de Deus, where drugs and crime run rampant. Brilliant performances, great storytelling, amazing cinematography, and an overall amazing piece of work.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 
1  2  Next  
 
 
Log In
Help on how to log into FilmCrave
Login with Facebook
Login with FilmCrave
 
 
What Members Are Doing
Movie Talk
New Movie Reviews
New Movie Lists
Movies I've Watched by Chris Ghost
Top Movie List by Seth
My Wish List by Andrew
Movies I Want To See by Rod
Recent Movies To See by Mr Cinema
2016 Rated and Ranked by Chris Kavan
2017 by Karmand
movies of 2018 by skater4159

 

 

 

Contact FilmCrave Public Relations    

Advertise and Business

Developer API

Contact Us

Jobs

About us

SiteMap

 

Support FilmCrave

FAQ and Help

News and Press

Terms of Use

Privacy