Create Game Lists on MeltedJoystick.com
FilmCrave home
   Movies  Members
Search +
Searching... Close  
Are you sure you want to delete this comment?
  
 
  Login Using Facebook
Twitter
 
     
 

The Chronicles of Narnia: The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe (2005) Movie Reviews

Your Rating:
 
 
Buy The Chronicles of Narnia: The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe (2005) DVD from AmazonBuy The Chronicles of Narnia: The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe (2005) DVD from Amazon  Add to List: Add to movie listWrite Review +Request correction +Submit a plot +

Quick Movie Reviews

1 - 10 of 14 

Matthew Brady 07/12/2014 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3/4 

A well made fantasy movie and it has that lord of the rings feel to it.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

mitchellyoung 06/29/2012 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3/4 

In a visually-stunning and imaginative retelling of the first book of the epic series, director Adamson nails a lot of the thematic and character elements that make the C.S. Lewis series so beloved. It's definitely the most faithful and exciting adaptation of the book, though my one complaint is that it doesn't go "dark" enough with some elements.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Alaine 12/12/2011 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
1.5/4 

I'm not a fan of C.S. Lewis, so I watched this as a favor to a girl I was babysitting. One helping was plenty, thank you.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Snoogans 12/06/2011 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
2/4 

It's a good fantasy film, for those who enjoy the source material, but I just didn't care much for the story or characters.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

donkeyknight 05/03/2011 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
2/4 

Read the book first. Aslan needs more awe.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

ML_Lean 01/20/2011 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

Great Children's movie. Even though it is intended for children, adults may watch it. C.S. Lewis is a very good Christian writer where he relate each film of Narnia to the Christian themes. this film is one of my most favorite fantasy movies.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

PsychoKing1227 04/10/2010 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
2.5/4 

Good family movie, but not necessarily what I was expecting. Andrew Adamson did do a good job with cinematography and leaving much to the imagination, however I would caution anyone watching it that the Christian overtones that you could ignore in the books are not as easy to ignore here. I know, I know, this was made as a Christian dogma film, but let's leave it in the fantasy genre for the sole purpose of making it more accessible.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

sapien 09/24/2009 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3/4 

C.S. Lewis was one damn fine writer.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Ikkinbot 08/23/2009 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

A great children's book made into a great children's movie. The movie did a great job with the story. The casting was great. James McAvoy was not how I pictured Mr. Tumnus, but he did a great job with the character. A fun fairy tale.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

SmokeScreener 05/31/2009 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3/4 

This was an enjoyable family film, though I think the final battle scene may have been more deserving of a PG-13 rating. I found the actors playing the four children to be very effective, giving the film its eotional core. Tilda Swinton is delightfully evil. The film good have used a little belt-tightening, as it seemed to drag in a few places. As always, I watched for scenes of tobacco use. In this film, Professor Kirke (Jim Broadbent) is in only three scenes, but he manages to smoke a pipe around the children on on two of those occasions. It is an unnecessary touch that earned the film a SmokeScreeners Rating of 4 Butts! http://tinyurl.com/lqhdmh

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 
1  2  Next  
 
 
Log In
Help on how to log into FilmCrave
Login with Facebook
Login with FilmCrave
 
 
What Members Are Doing
Movie Talk
New Movie Reviews
New Movie Lists
Top Films of 2012 by Neobowler
Top Movie List by Seth
Movies I Want To See by dadams
Movies I've Watched by Chris Ghost
Top Movie List by Marugo
2009 by Karmand
To See: 2017 Movies by Alex
My Wish List by bigboy89

 

 

 

Contact FilmCrave Public Relations    

Advertise and Business

Developer API

Contact Us

Jobs

About us

SiteMap

 

Support FilmCrave

FAQ and Help

News and Press

Terms of Use

Privacy