Create Game Lists on MeltedJoystick.com
FilmCrave home
   Movies  Members
Search +
Searching... Close  
Are you sure you want to delete this comment?
  
 
  Login Using Facebook
Twitter
 
     
 

Chinatown (1974) Movie Reviews

Your Rating:
 
 
Buy Chinatown (1974) DVD from AmazonBuy Chinatown (1974) DVD from Amazon  Add to List: Add to movie listWrite Review +Request correction +Submit a plot +

Quick Movie Reviews

1 - 10 of 13 

mitchellyoung 01/15/2013 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3.5/4 

Director Roman Polanski brings back the spirit of the classic noir - invoking gritty city scenery, some nasty character acting, and a plot full of deception and doublecrossing. The end result is a wellmade, sneering and nostalgic journey through dark human emotions. An effective performance from the two leads is aided by razor-sharp writing.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

patjohnson76 09/14/2011 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3.5/4 

An excellent film noir, powered by Jack Nicholson's performance, make this film still viewable and relevant today. What begins as a routine investigation for a private investigation soon snowballs into a web of lies, murder, deceit, and mystery. Some conversations go on a little too long, but Roman Polanski gives us a strong film that has suspense and intrigue. A good viewing for any film buff.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Amyaronson 07/18/2011 (0 of 3 found this helpful)

Rating of
2/4 

She's my sister she's my daughter she's my sister she's my daughter she's my sister she's my daughter she's my sister she's my daughter she's my sister AND my daughter! My best friend and I love re-enacting this scene. I guess this movie was about as exciting as a movie about DWP can be. Which is not that exciting. But it kind of fools you into thinking you're watching some super scary thriller. But then you're not.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Gustavo² 12/02/2009 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

'Noir' setentista texturizado em cores ensolaradas, emoldurado em tela panorâmica, obra-prima de sofisticação estilística e propriedade narrativa da dupla Polanski/Towne. Como suspense, assume os contornos de um eficiente 'slow burne'r, criando fôlego lentamente até alcançar a conclusão chocante. Causa espanto, seguido de gratidão, os fatos que modelam esse intrincado novelo de fumaça e espelhos não se atropelarem – o escriba construiu um castelo de cartas que se equilibra à perfeição.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

SmokeScreener 02/25/2009 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3/4 

Very moody movie involving a complicated plot about water diversion that is never resolved. Polanski relies too frequently on smoking to create the mood. SmokeScreeners rating: 4 Butts! Visit www.smokescreeners.org for more information.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

sapien 11/22/2008 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
2.5/4 

It's not a bad movie. But, it's nothing spectacular either.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Yossarian-22 02/19/2008 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

The first time I watched this film, it left me feeling cold and empty, wondering aloud to myself, "Is that it?" I didn't think that there was really anything special in it, aside from the dialogue and the performances. But after a second viewing, I realized how great the movie really was--how well-written, acted, and constructed this piece of art was. 4 out of 4 stars.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Allison 12/23/2007 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

I lvoe Faye Dunaway and she is wonderful as Evelyn Cross Mulwray. Polanski gets everything right. A film noirish nightmare/dream/fantasy, this is a classic worth rewatching again and again. Esepcially the mother/sister scene. I love it when Jack slaps Faye until he realizes the truth.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

colbyw 12/10/2007 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

Does it get any better than this. Possibly the greatest example of screenwriting in film history. Perfectly cast. Could Nicholson, Dunaway, and Huston be any better? Throwback to the great film noir period. How can anyone come up with such a plot? Water and power / family and incest. "Forget about it Jake, it's Chinatown"....One in a million!

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

philly22 09/20/2007 (1 of 1 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

It took me two viewings to fully grasp this film. And man.. what a great film. Totally blew me away.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 
1  2  Next  
 
 
Log In
Help on how to log into FilmCrave
Login with Facebook
Login with FilmCrave
 
 
What Members Are Doing
Movie Talk
New Movie Reviews
New Movie Lists
2005 by Karmand
2017 Rated and Ranked by Chris Kavan
Movies First Seen in 2017 by royaluglydudes
Movies of 2017 by Stoney McStonerson
2009 Movies by Mr Cinema
movies of 2017 by skater4159
Movies I Want To See by Laura
Top Movie List by Jesse

 

 

 

Contact FilmCrave Public Relations    

Advertise and Business

Developer API

Contact Us

Jobs

About us

SiteMap

 

Support FilmCrave

FAQ and Help

News and Press

Terms of Use

Privacy