Create Game Lists on MeltedJoystick.com
FilmCrave home
   Movies  Members
Search +
Searching... Close  
Are you sure you want to delete this comment?
  
 
  Login Using Facebook
Twitter
 
     
 

The King's Speech (2010) Movie Reviews

Your Rating:
 
 
Buy The King's Speech (2010) DVD from AmazonBuy The King's Speech (2010) DVD from Amazon  Add to List: Add to movie listWrite Review +Request correction +Submit a plot +

Quick Movie Reviews

1 - 10 of 15 

Matthew Brady 02/10/2014 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

After his brother abdicates the throne young "Bertie" assumes his place as king, but his stuttering speech lead many to believe he is unfit for the position. Utilizing the talents of speech therapist Lionel Logue, whose unique techniques help him overcome his stuttering, King George VI emerges as a great leader. This movie is smart and just a wonderful that I had bad things to say.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Lauren 11/14/2013 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

Awesome! such a great movie. inspirational

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Chris Kavan 12/06/2012 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3/4 

I can finally see why this won the Oscar, but I still don't think it's the best movie of its release year. Still, this historic drama has moments that are both touching and humorous, and the casting is spot-on (Colin Firth is good, but Geoffrey Rush steals the show). It's a good film, for sure, just not an exceptional one.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Gabe 09/18/2012 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
2.5/4 

I was slightly disappointed in this film. It is clearly not as good as the Social Network. I'm not saying this is a bad film, but it's not as good as people would have you believe. The acting is great and the cinematography is beautiful, but, it's just not that memorable of a film. I hate coming back to the Social Network, but they will forever be tied together, and Social Network was a just a more memorable film. The acting was top-notch, the soundtrack was better and the script was harder to work with. This just feels like any other historical drama.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Moviehead 03/28/2012 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
2.5/4 

Mostly fun and funny sometimes but that's it

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Alaine 12/12/2011 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

Speech therapist helps English king with his stammer and his issues. Wonderful film with high quality actors performing at a high level. Good camera work, believable sets, great sound. This is a good one. Recommended viewing.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Snoogans 05/14/2011 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

An inspirational movie, in a more centered and human way. Some of the finest acting of all the 2010 films. It's one of those films that is so obviously good in every way. It's definitely deserving of 'Best Picture'.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

sapien 04/20/2011 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3/4 

I was expecting this to be a big flop, as most things are concerning modern royalty. But, this movie is less about royalty and more about a man trying to lose a habit, and become a better person in the process.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Alex 02/24/2011 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3/4 

Amazingly shot. The inside's of these buildings are incredible. The acting is, of course, the only real driving force of this movie. It is a character study (and for good reason). I do think the movie would have been MUCH more interesting if it would have been a biopic on King George VI. But, still a solid movie, just not best picture worthy.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Patrik 02/12/2011 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3/4 

Great performance by Firth, though I was more impressed by Eisenberg in The Social Network. Overall it's a good drama with some humor that work's well but to me, the movie is too "ordinary" to win Oscar for Best Picture. It's also not so unpredictible and you know how the movie is going to end. But thanks to great actors, music and moments such as the "fuck, fuck, fuck" scene it gets at least a 3/4. In my opinion, it's enough good to make it to the top five this year but it still not even close to Inception and The Social Network.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 
1  2  Next  
 
 
Log In
Help on how to log into FilmCrave
Login with Facebook
Login with FilmCrave
 
 
What Members Are Doing
Movie Talk
New Movie Reviews
New Movie Lists
2016 by Karmand
Top Movie List by SIngli6
Movies I watched for the Nth time by Rod
Watched in 2017 by tonks76
Top Movie List by Seth
Movies of 2017 by Stoney McStonerson
Fantastic French Films I Have Seen by Chris Kavan
2016 by Randall

 

 

 

Contact FilmCrave Public Relations    

Advertise and Business

Developer API

Contact Us

Jobs

About us

SiteMap

 

Support FilmCrave

FAQ and Help

News and Press

Terms of Use

Privacy