Create Game Lists on MeltedJoystick.com
FilmCrave home
   Movies  Members
Search +
Searching... Close  
Are you sure you want to delete this comment?
  
 
  Login Using Facebook
Twitter
 
     
 

The Burbs (1989) Movie Reviews

Your Rating:
 
 
Buy The Burbs (1989) DVD from AmazonBuy The Burbs (1989) DVD from Amazon  Add to List: Add to movie listWrite Review +Request correction +Submit a plot +

Quick Movie Reviews

1 - 9 of 9 

Yojimbo 12/09/2012 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
1.5/4 

I always thought Joe Dante was highly over-rated and this is typical of his stuff. A kind of comic version of Rear Window, it doesn't work as suspense and it isn't funny. So what's the point?

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Daniel Corleone 02/02/2012 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
2.5/4 

Ray Peterson (Tom Hanks), Lt. Mark Rumsfield (Bruce Dern) and Walter Seznick (Gale Gordon) suspect their neighbors of being murderers. Carol (Carrie Fisher), Rayís wife, is skeptical after meeting Dr. Werner Klopek (Henry Gibson) and Uncle Reuben Klopek (Brother Theodore). The soundtrack provided the aura of spookiness while the comedic talents of Hanks. Unfortunately, Carrie Fisherís character didnít provide the laughs, Feldman was underutilized, Gordon was unfunny and some scenes were a bit childish. It had a lot of laughable scenes despite some impossible situations. The Burbs is a descent dark comedy with themes of being vigilant of peculiar neighbors and persistence of finding the truth.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

mitchellyoung 01/07/2012 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3/4 

This sly, little-known Tom Hanks comedy is sly and dark in the right places. It features some great contextual comedy about suburban life, but some of the darker horror moments are truly terrifying. The reveal is sort of expected, but the buildup is incredibly tense for a comedy.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Snoogans 12/05/2011 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
2/4 

The premise sets up what could've been a decent horror/comedy. Sadly, the flat characters and mundane plot leave much more to be desired. The potential satire on suburb communities and older monster films is not mined at all. We are left with little-to-no jokes. Having Joe Dante behind the camera does amp up the horror homage factor. There's a good attempt at old-school horror cliches and atmosphere. The actors make the negatives a bit easier to get through. Underwhelming in it's average standard.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

dukeakasmudge 09/17/2011 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

I enjoyed this movie when it 1st came out & still enjoy it today.My favorite Tom Hanks movie

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Drive-In Massacre 05/22/2011 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3/4 

A really interesting, but inexplicably dismissed, black comedy about a tightly knit neighborhood that fears that their new neighbors are serial killers. Joe Dante's (who I've always considered the Horror-Comedy Martin Scorsese) characteristically unique direction is always a pleasure to see, and the cast including Tom Hanks, Carrie Fisher, Bruce Dern, Corey Feldman, Henry Gibson, and Dick Miller, makes up one of my favorite ensembles of any comedic film.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

frenchfreyteetor 05/29/2008 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
1.5/4 

A very strange and goofy movie. I really love Tom Hanks and he is what makes this movie worth watching.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Chris Kavan 07/10/2007 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
2.5/4 

Kind of dark for Tom Hanks, but this is after all a dark comedy. It has its funny moments, but I can't say this is one of my favorites. Just OK.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Josh C 12/16/2006 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
2.5/4 

Classic Tom Hanks, just a hilarious movie with a very creative plot. It takes ?Rear View Window? and twists it into a crazy comedy.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 
1    
 
 
Log In
Help on how to log into FilmCrave
Login with Facebook
Login with FilmCrave
 
 
What Members Are Doing
Movie Talk
New Movie Reviews
New Movie Lists
My Wish List by Andrew
Movies I Want To See by Rod
Recent Movies To See by Mr Cinema
2016 Rated and Ranked by Chris Kavan
2017 by Karmand
movies of 2018 by skater4159
Movies of 2006 by Stoney McStonerson
My Wish List by hoods_breath

 

 

 

Contact FilmCrave Public Relations    

Advertise and Business

Developer API

Contact Us

Jobs

About us

SiteMap

 

Support FilmCrave

FAQ and Help

News and Press

Terms of Use

Privacy