Create Game Lists on MeltedJoystick.com
FilmCrave home
   Movies  Members
Search +
Searching... Close  
Are you sure you want to delete this comment?
  
 
  Login Using Facebook
Twitter
 
     
 

The Bridge on the River Kwai (1957) Movie Reviews

Your Rating:
 
 
Buy The Bridge on the River Kwai (1957) DVD from AmazonBuy The Bridge on the River Kwai (1957) DVD from Amazon  Add to List: Add to movie listWrite Review +Request correction +Submit a plot +

Quick Movie Reviews

1 - 10 of 10 

Indyfreak 02/16/2015 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
2.5/4 

David Lean's mammoth WW2 epic often feels stretched too thin to justify its running time and that's because it is often stretched too thin to justify its running time. But the scale of the production and the strength of its cast are highly commendable. You have to see the cinematography and the action scenes to believe how wonderful they are staged. 'The Bridge on the River Kwai' is a decent enough war epic that is occasionally impressive but is mostly underplotted compared to its dazzling spectacle.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Snoogans 08/27/2012 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3.5/4 

Gripping drama about individuals in wartime. An all-around well made film that holds up nicely today. The ending is just great.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

SIngli6 11/07/2011 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

David Lean's tale of misguided allegiances and nugatory tragedies aims not to dwell on war as anathema, but instead an inexplicable absolute that affects humans in ways that our feeble minds cannot possibly predict. This commendably thoughtful view is complemented by Lean's keen visual eye and Alec Guinness' tender and ultimately terrifying lead performance.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

mitchellyoung 09/12/2011 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

A roaring adventure story that captures heroism, both on the battlefield and in war camps. It features a brilliant ensemble cast, powerful cinematography, and a triumphant score. One of the best war films ever made.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

patjohnson76 02/20/2011 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

A great classic that not only holds well with age, it should be used as standard for any war time film to measure up to. Great performances by Alec Guinness and William Holden, both in their prime here, drive this story of imprisoned WWII British soldiers forced to build a bridge for their Japanese captors, and the American serviceman who's put on a mission to destroy it. Today's audience may find the end a bit anti-climatic but it finds perfectly with the tone of the film, and the tone of the times. A bit lengthy (also a sign of the times) so be sure to watch when you can really settle in and get into it.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

gideon43 06/03/2010 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3/4 

An undeniable classic that as the years roll by seems to get better and better. As much a movie about pride, conflict and integrity than it is warfare, Bridge on the River Kwai portrays a remarkable battle of wills between strong richly defined characters, yet the pace and structure never flags and is relentlessly gripping. Outstanding performances, lush Cinematography and the instantly recognisable Colonel Bogey march make this a constantly rewarding experience at every viewing.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

sapien 11/08/2008 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

This is one of the coolest movies I've ever seen. The emotional torment that Alec Guiness' character must have went through as he is forced to blow up HIS bridge that HE built had to be an incredible pain. Loved it, absolutely LOVED it! Great flick!

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Allison 12/23/2007 (0 of 1 found this helpful)

Rating of
0.5/4 

I was never interested in this film, but saw it for its classic status. Unfortunately, I didn't "get" it or like it that much. I'm a girl though. Don't take my word.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Chris Kavan 03/15/2007 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3.5/4 

This is one of those timeless war films that will never lose relevance. Plus, it has one of the most satisfying endings out of any film I can think of. Great performances, especially Guinness, give it an extra boost.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Alex 12/17/2006 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

This is what Guinness is all about, not Star Wars! I love the whole movie, its a rare feat in Cinema! See this movie...

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 
1    
 
 
Log In
Help on how to log into FilmCrave
Login with Facebook
Login with FilmCrave
 
 
What Members Are Doing
Movie Talk
New Movie Reviews
New Movie Lists
Top Movie List by Marugo
2009 by Karmand
To See: 2017 Movies by Alex
My Wish List by bigboy89
Movies I've Watched by Chris Ghost
Top Movie List by Seth
My Wish List by Andrew
Movies I Want To See by Rod

 

 

 

Contact FilmCrave Public Relations    

Advertise and Business

Developer API

Contact Us

Jobs

About us

SiteMap

 

Support FilmCrave

FAQ and Help

News and Press

Terms of Use

Privacy