Create Game Lists on MeltedJoystick.com
FilmCrave home
   Movies  Members
Search +
Searching... Close  
Are you sure you want to delete this comment?
  
 
  Login Using Facebook
Twitter
 
     
 

Blue Velvet (1986) Movie Reviews

Your Rating:
 
 
Buy Blue Velvet (1986) DVD from AmazonBuy Blue Velvet (1986) DVD from Amazon  Add to List: Add to movie listWrite Review +Request correction +Submit a plot +

Quick Movie Reviews

1 - 8 of 8 

Matthew Brady 04/04/2017 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3/4 

"Let's fuck! I'll fuck anything that moves! Baby wants to fuck! Baby wants to fuck Blue Velvet!" Dennis Mother Fucking Hopper The only man on the planet who could pull something like this off. A perfect mix of dark comedy and damn right creepy.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Ian 09/15/2015 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3/4 

One of the most profane movies I have ever seen. Dennis Hopper's character says the F-word more times than anyone I have ever seen. Sometimes he composes sentences where the majority of words are this word, or will just blurt it our repeatedly for no reason, like "Ok F---, what the f----, I said 'everybody f---'" The tale is slow but gripping, the stakes always feel high and it has a ring of desperation to it that really draws the viewer in.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

mitchellyoung 12/08/2010 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
2.5/4 

I appreciate some of the creative elements in this film - particularly the soundtrack and visual cues - but it's too weird for me without having a meaning behind the weirdness. Dennis Hopper's character, though, is a purely memorable villain, for better or worse.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Tia Maria 08/31/2008 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3/4 

I enjoyed this movie much more than Mulholland Drive, although i don't think it has the same standard of suspense and mystery as Mulholland drive. It is about a guy called Jeffrey who, after finding a severed ear in a field, takes it to the police. But after hearing that he can't be told what the police find out about it, he takes the mystery into his own hands. Eventually, he becomes so wrapped up in the happenings that he can't get out. Good movie, but different to how I imagined.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Allison 10/09/2007 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3.5/4 

I've seen this film 3x, and everytime I said I'd never see it again. I got a chance to see it 4x as they were doing a double feature. But my theater was out of turkey dogs and had no other good food and I was starving, so next time I guess. I really identify with the Sandy character and like Dorothy Vallens. Jeffrey Beaumont is the quintessential movie character of all time.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

GGauthier 09/04/2007 (0 of 1 found this helpful)

Rating of
2/4 

Another overrated flick from Lynch. A very simple crime film, with pretentious to be "weird" or "I'm a special filmmaker". Geez. Again. Lynch does good common flicks. Leave the dreamming or symbolic ones to those that know about it (Bu˝uel).

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Alex 04/26/2007 (1 of 1 found this helpful)

Rating of
3/4 

In my mind it is similar to Muholland Dr. but of course, why wouldn't it be. This is another odd David Lynch movie. I think it can grow on a person as I have only seen it once. With each viewing of his movies, I like them more and more.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Chris Kavan 02/25/2007 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3.5/4 

This film is dark and disturbing. There is plenty of violence, but it doesn't detract from the story. I would go so far to say it is integral to it. Lynch isn't for everyone, but if you want to expand your mind, give it a try.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 
1    
 
 
Log In
Help on how to log into FilmCrave
Login with Facebook
Login with FilmCrave
 
 
What Members Are Doing
Movie Talk
New Movie Reviews
New Movie Lists
movies of 2018 by skater4159
Best of 2016 by Nick
2015 by Karmand
Top Movie List by Michael
Movies of 2017 by Stoney McStonerson
2017 by Randall
Movies I've Seen by M3tr4nk0
2017 Rated and Ranked by Chris Kavan

 

 

 

Contact FilmCrave Public Relations    

Advertise and Business

Developer API

Contact Us

Jobs

About us

SiteMap

 

Support FilmCrave

FAQ and Help

News and Press

Terms of Use

Privacy