Create Game Lists on MeltedJoystick.com
FilmCrave home
   Movies  Members
Search +
Searching... Close  
Are you sure you want to delete this comment?
  
 
  Login Using Facebook
Twitter
 
     
 

Birth of a Nation, The (1915) Movie Reviews

Your Rating:
 
 
Buy Birth of a Nation, The (1915) DVD from AmazonBuy Birth of a Nation, The (1915) DVD from Amazon  Add to List: Add to movie listWrite Review +Request correction +Submit a plot +

Quick Movie Reviews

1 - 9 of 9 

Matthew Brady 07/25/2015 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
0.5/4 

What an ugly, racist, piece of filth movie this is. It deserved to get banned as it leaves a horrible taste in my mouth of it's horrid history. The Birth of a Nation is a piece of shit.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Indyfreak 08/11/2014 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
1/4 

Nothing can be simple, can it? The Birth of a Nation is indeed a landmark film with its groundbreaking technical achievements. In this sense, it could be seen as the first modern movie with a fleshed out story filling up a feature-length running time, a soundtrack, and creative editing. But it is famous for another reason. It's incredibly and unrepentantly RACIST!

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Alaine 12/16/2011 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3/4 

I just can't bring myself to give this four stars due to the absurd racism it glorifies. There's no way I can rate it lower as its technical excellence is impossible to ignore. Important film in the history of cinema. So unfortunate that I can't be an enthusiast for this one.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

mitchellyoung 12/04/2010 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
2.5/4 

It's original and classic only because of its seminal use of storytelling elements, editing, and the scope in which the story is told. Other than that, it's antiquated and very racist.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

The Film Rebel 11/09/2010 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
0.5/4 

This movie is fucking horrible. It is the biggest piece of a racist propaganda shit I have ever seen. I honestly don't care how "revolutionary" it is. This film is just garbage. Complete and utter garbage. "One of the best films of all time" my ass.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Allison 12/14/2008 (0 of 1 found this helpful)

Rating of
3.5/4 

This was an amazing film by D.W. Griffith. I avoided it for so long, because unfortunately someone told me it was racist. It actually shows the disturbing effect by the Ku Klux Klan and the blacks' uprising against this secret-society. To ignore this important piece of history would only be giving power to racism. Griffith is a master and this film is a work of art.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

sapien 11/06/2008 (0 of 1 found this helpful)

Rating of
0.5/4 

I couldn't even begin to stomach the extreme racism in this movie. It was a boring movie, anyway. The racism just made it unbearable. I would have given it 0 stars if I could.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Gabe 08/13/2007 (1 of 1 found this helpful)

Rating of
2.5/4 

If you ignore the overt racism in the film, which is hard to do. It's quite clear that you are watching a landmark piece of moviemaking. Griffith is the first true autuer. This really is the first truly great movie. It's definatly a film that every movie fan should see.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Alex 02/06/2007 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
1/4 

Racist. That about sums up this movie. The historical significance is there, but only for those that want to say they saw this pioneering film. Watching a silent film of over 3 hours is difficult to do, but I am proud to say I did it.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 
1    
 
 
Log In
Help on how to log into FilmCrave
Login with Facebook
Login with FilmCrave
 
 
What Members Are Doing
Movie Talk
New Movie Reviews
New Movie Lists
2017 Rated and Ranked by Chris Kavan
Best Horror Films of all Time by cacb3995
Top Movie List by Seth
2012 by Karmand
Top Movie List by SIngli6
Movies I watched for the Nth time by Rod
Watched in 2017 by tonks76
Movies of 2017 by Stoney McStonerson

 

 

 

Contact FilmCrave Public Relations    

Advertise and Business

Developer API

Contact Us

Jobs

About us

SiteMap

 

Support FilmCrave

FAQ and Help

News and Press

Terms of Use

Privacy