Create Game Lists on MeltedJoystick.com
FilmCrave home
   Movies  Members
Search +
Searching... Close  
Are you sure you want to delete this comment?
  
 
  Login Using Facebook
Twitter
 
     
 

Birds, The (1963) Movie Reviews

Your Rating:
 
 
Buy Birds, The (1963) DVD from AmazonBuy Birds, The (1963) DVD from Amazon  Add to List: Add to movie listWrite Review +Request correction +Submit a plot +

Quick Movie Reviews

1 - 10 of 11 

Gabe 09/18/2016 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
2.5/4 

I know this is considered a classic, but quite frankly, I don't get it. The birds themselves are great, the special effects are good, but the movie as a whole, not very. First of all, why were the birds attacking? We never do find out. According to Wikipedia, the short story says they attack at high tide, but there is no mention of this in the film. I kept waiting for the mother or Miss Daniels to start controlling the birds Carrie style, but alas, no. This is a good film, but not one of Hithcock's best, more along the lines of Dial M for Murder or Strangers on a Train.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Matthew Brady 04/10/2014 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

The story is about a slew of birds begin attacking a small town where a girl chases down a guy see likes. This movie has so goofy visual effect's at some parts but the characters act and react like normal people in real life.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

worleyjamers 06/29/2013 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3.5/4 

One of Hitchcock's absolute best, and most thrilling films.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Snoogans 12/04/2011 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3.5/4 

Hitchcock's 'monster movie' about a real-life (seemingly harmless) breed of animal. He uses some clever camera work and editing, along with various forms of SFX, to get past the restrictions of the effects of the time. There are many memorable scenes and I did like the absence of closure to the story.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

mitchellyoung 12/04/2010 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3.5/4 

Despite the seemingly harmless antagonist, this film is one of the more terrifying Hitchcock films. Hitchcock manages to capture a ferocity and sense of helplessness that injects a lot of tension into every scene. He also displays some of his more inventive and artful camera angles and tricks, all serving to propel the mood and plot forward.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Ikkinbot 10/20/2009 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3/4 

This is just one of those movies you have to see, if only to say you've seen it. That being said, its actually really good. And remains very creepy . . . in fact I'd probably like it more if I didn't think it was so creepy.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Alex 03/23/2009 (0 of 1 found this helpful)

Rating of
2/4 

There were only two things that kept me going back to this movie: the eerie town and setting and the Tippi Hedren. M. Night S. has taken a few pages out of this movie - most of the bad ones. Bad FX. Hitch's worst I've seen. Disappointing.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Chris Kavan 01/21/2009 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3/4 

You wouldn't think that birds could be so terrorizing, but the master of suspense makes it work. The effects work, the casting and acting are key and that end... it sends shivers down my spine every time.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Ichabod Crane 09/19/2008 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

Hitchcock talents are well shown in this thriller, about Birds going crazy. He does it just right by making them scary but not doing anything overly Gorey, even though this may be one of the bloodiest of his movies. One thing that he does well is show happiness before the attacks, that way it does not go from bad to worse, it goes from good to worse. The birds special effects fro the most part are done very well there are a few scenes which do not look perfect though just due to technological problems. These are only the scenes when the bird film was put over the actors film. The best scenes in it are really more of the build up scenes, such as when there are just birds standing together, they are the most thrilling.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Allison 12/23/2007 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3.5/4 

Amazing movie and highly rewatchable. I must have seen this at least three times.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 
1  2  Next  
 
 
Log In
Help on how to log into FilmCrave
Login with Facebook
Login with FilmCrave
 
 
What Members Are Doing
Movie Talk
New Movie Reviews
New Movie Lists
Top Movie List by cacb3995
Top Movie List by Seth
2016 by Karmand
Top Movie List by SIngli6
Movies I watched for the Nth time by Rod
Watched in 2017 by tonks76
Movies of 2017 by Stoney McStonerson
Fantastic French Films I Have Seen by Chris Kavan

 

 

 

Contact FilmCrave Public Relations    

Advertise and Business

Developer API

Contact Us

Jobs

About us

SiteMap

 

Support FilmCrave

FAQ and Help

News and Press

Terms of Use

Privacy