Create Game Lists on MeltedJoystick.com
FilmCrave home
   Movies  Members
Search +
Searching... Close  
Are you sure you want to delete this comment?
  
 
  Login Using Facebook
Twitter
 
     
 

Dinner for Schmucks (2010) Movie Reviews

Your Rating:
 
 
Buy Dinner for Schmucks (2010) DVD from AmazonBuy Dinner for Schmucks (2010) DVD from Amazon  Add to List: Add to movie listWrite Review +Request correction +Submit a plot +

Quick Movie Reviews

1 - 10 of 14 

Matthew Brady 07/08/2014 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
1.5/4 

The story is about a rising business executive is offered a coveted office suite... if he brings the biggest schmuck to the monthly dinner party held by his boss. To rise to the top, he must first sink down to the bottom of the barrel of characters. This movie is like a unfunny ass-hole at a party know ruins ever joke that one funny person is telling, and that's this movie. The jokes in this picture felt a bit off and lazy if I must say and the cast are all wasted like Steve Carell which I know his better then this, pulls off a terrible role in this movie.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

FSUNoles27TS 11/30/2012 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
2/4 

This movie is worth the watch if you are fans of Rudd and Carrel (Like Me). It was funny at parts; but the situations were almost too painful to watch.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

mitchellyoung 07/16/2012 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
2.5/4 

As much as I wanted to like this movie, the laughs are too inconsistent for it to succeed as the absurdist comedy it wants to be. The main bright spot is Steve Carell's optimistic portrayal of Barry, a good-hearted idiot who only wants to help his new friends out. Some of the other supporting appearances are fun, particularly Zach Galifianakis's weird creation, but the film doesn't quite string together enough jokes and heart to feel cohesive.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Armando Sanchez 02/29/2012 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
2/4 

here's the thing,i really wanted to like this film seeing that it has two amazing funny leads, Jason Bateman and Steve Carell and film directed by one of my favorite comedy directors Jay Roach (Austin Powers series) but I got to be honest and say that this film is not funny at all.I laughed maybe twice,for sure once.but to be honest this film stuggles with trying to hard.every comedy moment tries too hard to be funny and it fails.I really did try to like the film,but it lacked great writing,character development , and an actual plot stucture.the film starts off as if it's about two guys going through chaotic situations in one night,but then it switchs off to the actual film,which confused me.overall,great leads,just handed a bad script.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Snoogans 09/18/2011 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
2/4 

Carell is consistently funny and the dinner scene delivers some big laughs, but the rest of the film is soulless and sometimes cruel.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

dukeakasmudge 08/02/2011 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
2/4 

It just wasn't as funny as I thought & never really picked up until the end.If you want to see the funny version of Dinner For Shmucks, Go see The Dinner Game

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Daniel Corleone 08/02/2011 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
1.5/4 

The film stars Paul Rudd as the serious Tim Conrad and Steve Carell as the eccentric dead mice artist extraordinaire Barry. Its premise is light with loads of annoying and dramatic scenes. Yes the film’s message is to respect individualism no matter how weird they are and doing favors for a friend, still it leaves you wondering how everything is possible. Carell is dazzling when it comes to comedies, unfortunately the script was not strong enough to carry this picture. For me, the movie was neither good, nor was it that terrible. If you enjoy artistic works, some silly humor, cool soundtrack and a bit of drama then this is for you.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Schreck 03/29/2011 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

 

This is one of several movies I have seen lately where it seems like they created an entire movie around a thirty second commercial piece. The idea of bringing schucks to dinner sounds funny by they could not make an entire movie about it. I do not recall laughing once.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

patjohnson76 03/27/2011 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
1/4 

The most puzzling thing about this movie is how on earth it even got made. Everything is terrible - the story, characters, set up, everything. I kept watching wondering why people were doing the things they did. In fact, over an hour into the movie occurs before the title and set-up even happen. It's just terrible, which is very surprising given the pairing of Carrell and Rudd.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Chris Kavan 03/11/2011 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
2.5/4 

A serviceable comedy where Paul Rudd and Steve Carell shine, and a great role from Zach Galifianakis. It was cruel at times - leaving me thinking how much worse can it get for this guy - but it's good enough for a night when nothing is on.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 
1  2  Next  
 
 
Log In
Help on how to log into FilmCrave
Login with Facebook
Login with FilmCrave
 
 
What Members Are Doing
Movie Talk
New Movie Reviews
New Movie Lists
My Wish List by goodguy28
Top 2016 by frenchfreyteetor
2015 Movies by Mr Cinema
2015 by Karmand
Top Films of 2012 by Neobowler
Movies First Seen in 2017 by royaluglydudes
Top Movie List by Seth
Movies I've Watched by Chris Ghost

 

 

 

Contact FilmCrave Public Relations    

Advertise and Business

Developer API

Contact Us

Jobs

About us

SiteMap

 

Support FilmCrave

FAQ and Help

News and Press

Terms of Use

Privacy