Create Game Lists on MeltedJoystick.com
FilmCrave home
   Movies  Members
Search +
Searching... Close  
Are you sure you want to delete this comment?
  
 
  Login Using Facebook
Twitter
 
     
 

Be Kind Rewind (2008) Movie Reviews

Your Rating:
 
 
Buy Be Kind Rewind (2008) DVD from AmazonBuy Be Kind Rewind (2008) DVD from Amazon  Add to List: Add to movie listWrite Review +Request correction +Submit a plot +

Quick Movie Reviews

1 - 10 of 13 

Snoogans 09/22/2011 (1 of 1 found this helpful)

Rating of
3/4 

Silly comedy that provides some light, cheerful fun. It also adds the right amount of sentimental. Watching the two main characters 'sweed' these famous films is reminiscent of my childhood uses of a video recorder.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

donkeyknight 05/03/2011 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
1.5/4 

Sigourney Weaver is following us. This is the fourth movie in a month that she has popped up in. As for the movie itself, it has heart, but it also has a helping of relativism (It's our history! We can change it!-bleh) It has funny zany Jack Black and annoying zany Jack Black. It is inventive, but 90 percent of the inventiveness was revealed in the trailer.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

mimschkin 01/26/2010 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
1.5/4 

Be Kind Rewind is the type of film which looks like it was fun to make but ends up being just plain boring for the people watching it. Too weird to be taken seriously, but not weird enough to be one of those 'kooky/wacky/zaney' films that end up being cult classics, Be Kind Rewind was somewhat of a disappointment from a good director and a decent cast.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Ikkinbot 03/28/2009 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
2.5/4 

The reason I gave this movie only 2.5 stars is that, as other reviewers have mentioned, it has some slow bits that can get a little boring. I don't think the movie would have worked with a faster pace so I understand why some it was left in. The funny parts of this movie are hysterical, but probably only work because of the times when the characters are not being funny. Overall. I think Be Kind Rewinds is worth watching.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

The Scripted 03/26/2009 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
2.5/4 

I have to agree with most of what has been said. The movie is hilarious when it is funny but those areas are few and far between and only happen when Jack Black is on the screen. I hated every scene that did not include Jack Black. Some parts of this movie were downright boring. When it finally picks up steam, it quickly slows down again never to regain the speed it was shooting for. I would reccommend it because some of the scenes and dialogue are priceless, but my reccomendation comes with a warning: Proceed with caution.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

frenchfreyteetor 03/15/2009 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
1.5/4 

I really thought this movie was going to be super funny and I wouldn't stop laughing, it was quite the opposite. Athough there were some funny parts, overall I thought this movie was just so,so at best. I thought it was a waste of my time and wouldn't reccomend it to anyone.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Chris Kavan 02/14/2009 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
2.5/4 

A lot of effort for just adequate payoff. This has some great potential, but it meanders so much that it never explores any one point. It's sweet at points, funny at points, but it never settles into a groove. A nice try that falls short.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

goodfellamike 10/09/2008 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
1/4 

The premise for this awkward and unfunny comedy goes absolutely nowhere as it is never once believable that the films these oddballs create are remotely watchable, let alone enough reason to become so popular; very little effort is put into the performances, despite Black who wildly overcompensates in a grating portrayal and one comes away feeling little more than a complete waste of time. The film's one bright spot is Melonie Diaz, but she's not enough. Final Grade: D

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

PsychoKing1227 10/03/2008 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3/4 

Michel Gondry's abortion of "Science of Sleep" was rectified in his ridiculously humorous "Be Kind Rewind." It wasn't my favorite movie, but I will admit that the writing was incredible and the story held a great many messages that held my attention from beginning to end. Jack Black is too type-cast for me to appreciate his work, and Mos Def was too childish of a character for me to actually like him. Danny Glover and Mia Farrow were what saved the acting for me. All in all, though, I thought it was quite good. Quite good.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Tia Maria 09/25/2008 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
1/4 

I agree with everyone on the fact that this movie takes too long to actually get into the story. I began to enjoy it once they began remaking all those famous movies, but it would have made it much more interesting if it wasnt just quick clips of each one. Most movies I watch tend to be totally different to how I expected but there really was no surprises here. I feel that this movie could of been made into something great, with such a unique plot, but it wasn't. Jack Black was also quite disappointing in this film.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 
1  2  Next  
 
 
Log In
Help on how to log into FilmCrave
Login with Facebook
Login with FilmCrave
 
 
What Members Are Doing
Movie Talk
New Movie Reviews
New Movie Lists
Top Sci-Fi Movies by Nolane
Movies Seen by Alena
Recent Movies To See by Mr Cinema
2005 by Karmand
2017 Rated and Ranked by Chris Kavan
Movies First Seen in 2017 by royaluglydudes
Movies of 2017 by Stoney McStonerson
movies of 2017 by skater4159

 

 

 

Contact FilmCrave Public Relations    

Advertise and Business

Developer API

Contact Us

Jobs

About us

SiteMap

 

Support FilmCrave

FAQ and Help

News and Press

Terms of Use

Privacy