Create Game Lists on MeltedJoystick.com
FilmCrave home
   Movies  Members
Search +
Searching... Close  
Are you sure you want to delete this comment?
  
 
  Login Using Facebook
Twitter
 
     
 

Captain America: The First Avenger (2011) Movie Reviews

Your Rating:
 
 
Buy Captain America: The First Avenger (2011) DVD from AmazonBuy Captain America: The First Avenger (2011) DVD from Amazon  Add to List: Add to movie listWrite Review +Request correction +Submit a plot +

Quick Movie Reviews

1 - 10 of 16 

Susan 01/27/2016 (1 of 1 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

This film delivers a lot of action, an intriguing plot, a tantalizing and beautiful love interest, many humorous moments, powerful messages about internal fortitude and courage, a classic villain, superb acting and many of the basic essentials of any good action movie. A well done origin film.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Matthew Brady 01/14/2014 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3.5/4 

I don't think captain america is the first avenger well I thought wolverine was the avenger but that's just me. captain america the first avenger. the story is about After being turned down by the military, Steve Rogers participates in a top secret research project. The result is becoming Captain America - an enhanced soldier who dedicates his life to defending the American way of life. okay I thought this movie is going to suck just because it is the same director who did Jurassic park 2 and wolf man but this movie did not suck.good visual effects and good action.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

FSUNoles27TS 11/26/2012 (0 of 1 found this helpful)

Rating of
0.5/4 

Really? I mean, really? You guys are Fu**ing with me right? The real movie's hiding behind the curtain, right guys? Guys??? Guys?? This was garbage. I laughed all the way through at the extent of how poorly this movie was written, produced, and directed. But oh Lord in Heaven help the actors find another career. I felt like I was watching the kids who took Drama in 10th grade to get out of Gym class. I very feeble attempt at creating a loveable but physically weak "hero". But you must wait.... the United States government makes him super strong. See the nice guy does win. I seriously could've mistaken this for a straight to TV Sci-Fi channel special, with less of a budget than 'Shark Night'

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Lauren 11/25/2012 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
2.5/4 

Chris Evans is hot but even his hotness can't bump up my rating to a 3 or 4. Typical and predictable plot line. Wouldn't watch it again. It was decent, not terrible but not worth buying

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Lee 09/24/2012 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
2.5/4 

I never really was a fan of the comic book super hero Capt. America back in the day. In fact being a Canadian my whole life i was kinda hoping as a kid that they would release a Captain Canada with in time having the duo join forces to batlle evil doers across North America. Needless to say, this latest Marvel adaptation was everything i thought it would be when hit the big screens in our area. Chris Evans was very good as our hero backed up by a very well written script, even the F/X were top notch! I would suggest this film to any fan of the Marvel comic book series of the same title and also it is a great precursor to the upcoming Avengers film.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Alex 07/04/2012 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
2/4 

Not a good movie. This is an average movie at best. Marvel is simply trying to cram too much into a story arc. Chris Evans was OK but the rest is forgettable. Should be "Captain America: The Worst Avenger"

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Hogan 04/19/2012 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3/4 

It was a lot better then i thought it would be, i have to also admit that is did get a little on the blah side in places. The last half did finally pick up and made for a good movie. It does give a nice glimps of the upcoming Avengers movie, but it also made me realize that i should see the rest of the 'Avengers' before its debut. Wasn't the best it could have been but is still a good show being based on a comic, really is a movie to see.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

preston 01/17/2012 (1 of 1 found this helpful)

Rating of
1/4 

Looked good, but the story just didn't do anything for me. Maybe it's Tommy Lee Jones' shtick or the fact that the bad guy looked more like a red rocket than a red skull, but I couldn't get into this.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Ean Vali 01/13/2012 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
2/4 

This one is just fun. The story follows the commics pretty good. Captain America never was my favirite Hero but this time he is o.k. I didn't fall asleep during this movie and I didn't quit. A nice preview for the big Avengers movie.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

mitchellyoung 11/19/2011 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3/4 

Although pretty "by the numbers," Captain America manages to harness enough nostalgic 40's serial spirit that it's a fun and exciting entry into the Marvel universe. I found the pacing uneven at times (the film is certainly front-loaded with Cap's origin story, which makes the second half seem rushed at times,) but the final sequence was fantastic, albeit serving just to set up the Avengers movie.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 
1  2  Next  
 
 
Log In
Help on how to log into FilmCrave
Login with Facebook
Login with FilmCrave
 
 
What Members Are Doing
Movie Talk
New Movie Reviews
New Movie Lists
Top Movie List by Seth
2016 by Karmand
Top Movie List by SIngli6
Movies I watched for the Nth time by Rod
Watched in 2017 by tonks76
Movies of 2017 by Stoney McStonerson
Fantastic French Films I Have Seen by Chris Kavan
2016 by Randall

 

 

 

Contact FilmCrave Public Relations    

Advertise and Business

Developer API

Contact Us

Jobs

About us

SiteMap

 

Support FilmCrave

FAQ and Help

News and Press

Terms of Use

Privacy