Create Game Lists on MeltedJoystick.com
FilmCrave home
   Movies  Members
Search +
Searching... Close  
Are you sure you want to delete this comment?
  
 
  Login Using Facebook
Twitter
 
     
 

Angels & Demons (2009) Movie Reviews

Your Rating:
 
 
Buy Angels & Demons (2009) DVD from AmazonBuy Angels & Demons (2009) DVD from Amazon  Add to List: Add to movie listWrite Review +Request correction +Submit a plot +

Quick Movie Reviews

1 - 9 of 9 

Snoogans 08/26/2016 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
2/4 

A very slight improvement over 'The Da Vinci Code'. Another self-contained mystery/thriller based on a novel in the same series. This one is quicker paced (for the most part) and a bit bigger and edgy. Some individual moments give borderline thrills. It seemed like the creative team were trying to fix the mistakes of the previous. Still a severe lack in good characterization and dialogue. The mystery lacks the interesting tidbits of skewered history from 'Da Vinci' and opts for a straight-forward cliched twisty plot in which I guessed the identity of the bad guy in the very beginning. Better, but still not good.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Matthew Brady 02/22/2014 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
1.5/4 

The story is about a secret society long thought died out, has resurfaced in Rome and threatens to destroy the Catholic church. It is up to Robert Langdon to follow the clues and unravel the plot before their plans can come to fruition. This movie is hard to follow and pretty boring.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

mitchellyoung 09/18/2010 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
2.5/4 

I have a personal bias against puzzle movies, since the characters in them always seem to figure out the puzzles all too quickly and easily. This film has that problem, but it also has a bloated and messy plot. Ron Howard does keep the action moving, but I really wasn't invested in any of it.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Ikkinbot 03/28/2010 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3/4 

So, I refuse to read these books on the principle that they are way to popular and I did not like the first movie at all. However, Angel & Demons was alright. They cut Tom Hanks' horrible hair. The action seemed to make a bit more sense with the plot, which is a big step up. The ending and the "twist" were super obvious, but didn't really ruin the movie.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Chris Kavan 03/27/2010 (1 of 1 found this helpful)

Rating of
2.5/4 

I actually liked this better than the adaptation of The Da Vinci Code - the pacing was much better, even if the book was still better. I still say Hanks was the wrong choice for Langdon, but it works better this time around.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

BmovieJosh 10/09/2009 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
1.5/4 

This is the most dissapointing film ever filmed. I loved Dan Browns book and I was certain that producer and lead actor, Tom Hanks, would screw up the adaptation, but holy hell... I can't say to much good about it. Maybe it woulda been better if it actually followed the friggin book. Stay away from this film.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Josh C 08/29/2009 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3/4 

Solid movie, but I made the mistake of reading the book first. The book really was fantastic and although I wasn't disappointed in the movie by any means, it just wasn't as great as the book.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

PsychoKing1227 08/08/2009 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3/4 

What a great movie. Sure, it wasn't brilliant - but it did keep my interest, much better than "The Da Vinci Code" [the book was better too]. I loved how this movie was able to tell the story as well as develop the characters as well as teach about all those awesome things that Dan Brown had stuck in his noggin. Ah, what an entertaining movie that I definitely will buy when it comes out on DVD.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

patjohnson76 06/06/2009 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3.5/4 

A good "follow-up" to the Da Vinci Code, Ron Howard improves upon the criticism of the first Dan Brown adaptation and makes a good, action filled film. While many criticized the first movie as having too much dialogue (people explaining things? Blasphemy!), I actually didn't mind it. However, Howard solves this problem by having Tom Hanks' Langdon explain the symbolism and background without stopping the action. I was a little wary of this film, as I felt the book got a little carried away at the end. While Howard keeps a lot of the book's ending, he changes a few details to make it a little more realistic. A good summer film that doesn't dumb things down for it's audience.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 
1    
 
 
Log In
Help on how to log into FilmCrave
Login with Facebook
Login with FilmCrave
 
 
What Members Are Doing
Movie Talk
New Movie Reviews
New Movie Lists
Top Movie List by Seth
Movies I Want To See by dadams
Movies I've Watched by Chris Ghost
Top Movie List by Marugo
2009 by Karmand
To See: 2017 Movies by Alex
My Wish List by bigboy89
My Wish List by Andrew

 

 

 

Contact FilmCrave Public Relations    

Advertise and Business

Developer API

Contact Us

Jobs

About us

SiteMap

 

Support FilmCrave

FAQ and Help

News and Press

Terms of Use

Privacy