Create Game Lists on MeltedJoystick.com
FilmCrave home
   Movies  Members
Search +
Searching... Close  
Are you sure you want to delete this comment?
  
 
  Login Using Facebook
Twitter
 
     
 

The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey (2012) Movie Reviews

Your Rating:
 
 
Buy The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey (2012) DVD from AmazonBuy The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey (2012) DVD from Amazon  Add to List: Add to movie listWrite Review +Request correction +Submit a plot +

Quick Movie Reviews

1 - 9 of 9 

Indyfreak 07/23/2014 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
2.5/4 

Almost three hours of watching dwarves and one hobbit strolling through Middle-Earth. Lots of padding that adds little to the story. Peter Jackson is entering the "1990s George Lucas" mindset of his career it would seem. God help us all.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Matthew Brady 02/07/2014 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3.5/4 

Bilbo Baggins is swept up on an adventure with Gandalf the Grey and thirteen dwarves, led by Thorin Oakenshield, in order to reclaim the Dwarf Kingdom of Erebor from the fearsome dragon Smaug but before they get to the Lonely Mountain they must pass through the Goblin Caves where Bilbo will find Gollum and a his "precious". This movie had a lot of mixed reviews but I didn't get the hate for this movie. this movie had good visual effect's/good score/this movie does get slow at the start but at the secord part it get aweosme.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Owen McKenna 02/02/2014 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3/4 

Owen McKenna Rio Rancho, NM. I found the first third of the movie to be kind of slow. Overall I enjoyed the movie. I am looking forward to the next movie. If you are a LOTR fan, I highly recommend this film.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

samufilm 01/17/2013 (2 of 2 found this helpful)

Rating of
3.5/4 

Another great movie from Peter Jackson, with great performances by Martin Freeman, Andy Serkis and Ian Mckellen. Great visual effects, a bit of a holy plot, but great composing by Howard Shore and a great movie overall.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Stephen 01/01/2013 (0 of 1 found this helpful)

Rating of
2.5/4 

familiar characters mixing with new stars in the 13 dwarfs means you feel comfortable and warm quickly slow pace with Martin Freeman good as the young Bilbo allows you to understand the characters well. Only disappointment is the finish of the film in 3D was too artificial - will restrict to 2D in future although I hear CGI remains too obvious in 2D too, in 3D it was overbearing at times... Enjoyable if not breathtaking - still looking forward to the next one..

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Alex 12/29/2012 (0 of 1 found this helpful)

Rating of
2.5/4 

Disappointing. The CGI is incredible at times (The cave scenes) and awful at others (dogs chasing through the prairie). The story is moved along slowly with boring action in my mind. I actually liked the slow beginning and loved the interaction with Golem. Jackson knows epic, and this one tries but fails. Hopefully the next one is tighter.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

sapien 12/27/2012 (1 of 1 found this helpful)

Rating of
3.5/4 

I thought this movie was going to be better than it was. But then again, I thought it was going to be the best movie ever. lol. It was still damn good!

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

phantom 12/18/2012 (1 of 1 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

Gollum was freakishly real, if it wasn't for the occasional eye-shine, I would have believed he was a real creature. It's amazing how mush the technology has improved in the last decade. Now I won't lie, there were a few scenes that ran on a bit, but overall it didn't feel anywhere near three hours. I've seen it twice already, and I have every intention to see it as many times again.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Snoogans 12/15/2012 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3/4 

While I don't consider it necessary to split one book into three movies, I still found this journey back to Middle Earth to be fun. Details in the visuals are as immersive as in the previous trilogy and there is plenty of adventure to be had. Some fantastic scenes are present. However, it's the story that takes a hit this time. Stretching out this smaller tale by adding in much more mythos seems sort of irrelevant. Too much time is spent on set-up and explanations of things that don't feel essential to the main quest. Maybe this will payoff after seeing the next two parts. But, as for now, it feels like having to watch the 'extended cut' in multiple installments.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 
1    
 
 
Log In
Help on how to log into FilmCrave
Login with Facebook
Login with FilmCrave
 
 
What Members Are Doing
Movie Talk
New Movie Reviews
New Movie Lists
My Wish List by hoods_breath
Top Movie List by Ray
2017 Rated and Ranked by Chris Kavan
2014 by Karmand
1976 Movies by Mr Cinema
2004 Films Watched by James
Movies of 2017 by Stoney McStonerson
Movies Watched by Sunbutt

 

 

 

Contact FilmCrave Public Relations    

Advertise and Business

Developer API

Contact Us

Jobs

About us

SiteMap

 

Support FilmCrave

FAQ and Help

News and Press

Terms of Use

Privacy