Create Game Lists on MeltedJoystick.com
FilmCrave home
   Movies  Members
Search +
Searching... Close  
Are you sure you want to delete this comment?
  
 
  Login Using Facebook
Twitter
 
     
 

Up in the Air (2009) Movie Reviews

Your Rating:
 
 
Buy Up in the Air (2009) DVD from AmazonBuy Up in the Air (2009) DVD from Amazon  Add to List: Add to movie listWrite Review +Request correction +Submit a plot +

Quick Movie Reviews

1 - 10 of 13 

Matthew Brady 11/18/2013 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3/4 

The movie has it's ups and downs but It is one of those movies that you can't get bored at, I mean George Clooney was born to win a Oscar.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

worleyjamers 06/29/2013 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3.5/4 

Just a terrific film! An honest picture of charming, but flawed, people. Perfectly acted by George Clooney, Vera Farmiga, and Anna Kendrick. Brilliant script, brilliant film!

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Christine 01/20/2013 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3/4 

I decided to watch this movie based on its 2009 Academy Award nomination for best picture. I don't think it holds up to that caliber, however, I still enjoyed it. Very slow-paced - made you think about life. Takes an unexpected twist at the end.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

FSUNoles27TS 12/27/2012 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3.5/4 

I found this movie to be really enjoyable. It is a very interesting premise and a great cast. It delivered a great experience. ---Spoiler Alert--- I was all for the unhappy end to Clooney and Farmiga's relationship. I was all for the empty feeling Clooney got when realizing he would be up in the air again with the 10,000,000th mile club card. It was a very unfulfilled and boring ending. And, that, was what made the movie great instead of good. The whole point is that his life is an empty backup, where he experiences no true pain, but also feels no true happiness. A boring ending to the movie represented that his life cannot provide real substance of emotion.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

mitchellyoung 11/03/2012 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

Jason Reitman continues his reign over the quirky indie comedy genre with a portrait of a loner who is forced to confront his own self-sufficiency. It's a portrait that speaks to the current times, as well as to a dilemma that hit home harder for me as a recent post-grad. Clooney exudes charm and loneliness effortlessly and the film is populated with a cast of talented supporting characters. The film is raw and emotional at the right moments, and darkly funny at others.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

The Film Rebel 08/19/2010 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

My favorite movie of 2009. Sure, its a cliched choice. Who didn't have this as their number 1? Just as good as Juno and the most deserving nominee for best picture.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Freddie 06/14/2010 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3/4 

This movie was very strange, but it was also very good. When you watch it, not that much happens it seems like, yet the little bit that does happen pulls you in, and you are pulled in from the beginning. The film hits home for a lot of people in certain aspects, so this is something that one can connect to easily and really enjoy.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Alex 01/30/2010 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
1.5/4 

Very disappointing, though Clooney was outstanding. If this movie is nominated, might as well lock up "When in Rome" for a nomination at next years Oscars. Not a bad movie, but not really for me. Worth a rent, but nothing more.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Allison 01/24/2010 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
2/4 

Up in the Air is an okay film. George Clooney is pretty fun, Vera Farmiga is a good actress, but seriously Anna Kendrick was not even decent. I hope I do not see her in any film in the future. The story is not brave. It loses traction and never regains it. It was disappointing. While G.C.'s character does something nice for someone at the end, it is totally out of character and we are not convinced, because he still does not have any grasp or clue on relationships. As the credits rolled, I asked myself, really is this it?

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

PsychoKing1227 01/22/2010 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

An incredibly well-written epic on the seriousness of losing yourself in the selfishness of solitude, "Up in the Air" chronicles the ill-connected character of Ryan (played by George Clooney) and his search for happiness in loneliness. He finds out that he is wrong on almost every turn when two women (Vera Farmiga and Anna Kendrick) enter his life and change it forever. A wonderfully-acted and brilliantly-written story of what life means without anyone in it, I highly recommend it.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 
1  2  Next  
 
 
Log In
Help on how to log into FilmCrave
Login with Facebook
Login with FilmCrave
 
 
What Members Are Doing
Movie Talk
New Movie Reviews
New Movie Lists
Top Sci-Fi Movies by Nolane
Movies Seen by Alena
Recent Movies To See by Mr Cinema
2005 by Karmand
2017 Rated and Ranked by Chris Kavan
Movies First Seen in 2017 by royaluglydudes
Movies of 2017 by Stoney McStonerson
movies of 2017 by skater4159

 

 

 

Contact FilmCrave Public Relations    

Advertise and Business

Developer API

Contact Us

Jobs

About us

SiteMap

 

Support FilmCrave

FAQ and Help

News and Press

Terms of Use

Privacy