Create Game Lists on MeltedJoystick.com
FilmCrave home
   Movies  Members
Search +
Searching... Close  
Are you sure you want to delete this comment?
  
 
  Login Using Facebook
Twitter
 
     
 

Adventureland (2009) Movie Reviews

Your Rating:
 
 
Buy Adventureland (2009) DVD from AmazonBuy Adventureland (2009) DVD from Amazon  Add to List: Add to movie listWrite Review +Request correction +Submit a plot +

Quick Movie Reviews

1 - 10 of 17 

Matthew Brady 03/05/2014 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3/4 

The year 1987 a recent college grad sees his European trip go up in smoke when his parents can't cover the cost. Forced into a menial job at a local amusement park, he finds out more about life and love than he would ever imagine. this movie is a lovely young comedy film that teenage's can enjoy.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

FSUNoles27TS 11/21/2012 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
2.5/4 

Same old summer love movie. This time its with Jesse Eisenberg trying to get in old Kristin Stewart's pants. Shouldn't have been as hard as he made it out to be. Overall good watch. Very little re-watch material.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Rod 04/02/2012 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
2/4 

A newly graduate, James, found a summer job on theme park called "Adventureland" where he meets new friends, cool ones, nice ones, and those who have issues with each other. There he experiences bad working place and surprisingly, the other end of the spectrum. *** First thing, I am not sure if this movie was supposed to be a drama, or a comedy, or a romantic one, cause I didn't see any of these actually established. The actors are good, just good. The story is very simple, and got nothing special for the viewers. But this movie is actually workable, I must say. Watch it! Why not?

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Snoogans 09/15/2011 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3/4 

Nice young adult comedy set to an 80's background. I like the fact that it doesn't rely on raunchy humor. The characters and situations have a genuine authenticity to them.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

dukeakasmudge 09/08/2011 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

I LOVED this movie from start to finish

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

mitchellyoung 04/24/2011 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
2.5/4 

A hit and miss (subtle) comedy. The acting by the leads is awkward and painful and the emotional core of the film is slow developing. The supporting cast is brilliant and provides a lot of levity in what would otherwise be an emo-fest of a film. Fantastic soundtrack.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

lpd381 02/01/2011 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
1/4 

Kristen Stewart is a horrible actress. She licks her lips or sticks her tongue out before she delivers almost every line. Tis movie was also boring as hell. There was nothing likable about this movie or any o characters in this film. Everybody is just a jerk or a waste of space. It makes me sad that Jesse Eisenberg an Ryan Reynolds were in this movie, they can do so much better. Don't waste your time, unless you play the Kristen Stewart drinking game. Every time she licks her lips or bites her lower lip you take a shot. You will not make it through the movie.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Chris Kavan 06/19/2010 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
2/4 

Like many people, I agree that Jesse Eisenberg is the poor man's Michael Cera for this film. Kristen Stewart is sullen as ever, but Bill Hader and Ryan Reynolds are a hoot. It's not superbad, but it could have been worse.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

gideon43 05/25/2010 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3/4 

A deft rites of passage movie with its feet firmly in the Rom-Com mould, Adventureland is an intelligent, quirky and nostalgic slice of 1980s life exploring the pitfalls and pratfalls of a gawky teen (Jesse Eisenberg) as he looks to win over the girl of his dreams (Kirsten Stewart) who has a few issues of her own. Definitely a gentler, more intimate and much more subtle film than director Greg Mottolas previous effort "Superbad", Adventureland has a pitch perfect script, super cool acting and a decent quota of laugh out loud moments. An excellent retro film with a sublime soundtrack and believe it or not, the whole story's set in a funfair, how good is that?

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Allison 04/19/2010 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
1.5/4 

Really among the worst films I've seen in recent history: 38/100. I liked the Lisa P. character. Otherwise, I should have found out that the director was Greg Mottola. This "Superbad" director makes films that are not quite to my liking. Jesse Eisenberg is okay, but is not really appealing as a lead guy. He makes Ryan Reynolds look good, and R.R. is usually underwhelming.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 
1  2  Next  
 
 
Log In
Help on how to log into FilmCrave
Login with Facebook
Login with FilmCrave
 
 
What Members Are Doing
Movie Talk
New Movie Reviews
New Movie Lists
My Blu Ray Collection by Yojimbo
movies of 2017 by skater4159
Top Sci-Fi Movies by Nolane
Movies Seen by Alena
Recent Movies To See by Mr Cinema
2005 by Karmand
2017 Rated and Ranked by Chris Kavan
Movies First Seen in 2017 by royaluglydudes

 

 

 

Contact FilmCrave Public Relations    

Advertise and Business

Developer API

Contact Us

Jobs

About us

SiteMap

 

Support FilmCrave

FAQ and Help

News and Press

Terms of Use

Privacy