Create Game Lists on MeltedJoystick.com
FilmCrave home
   Movies  Members
Search +
Searching... Close  
Are you sure you want to delete this comment?
  
 
  Login Using Facebook
Twitter
 
     
 

All About Eve (1950) Movie Reviews

Your Rating:
 
 
Buy All About Eve (1950) DVD from AmazonBuy All About Eve (1950) DVD from Amazon  Add to List: Add to movie listWrite Review +Request correction +Submit a plot +

Quick Movie Reviews

1 - 10 of 11 

Ryan Stephen M 04/14/2013 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

All About Eve is an amazing film that deserves its place as one of the acclaimed pictures in movie history.A young actresses gets a job working for her idol, but eventually wants to replace her.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Snoogans 06/04/2012 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
2.5/4 

Bette Davis is quite good here and there's some witty dialogue, but I just didn't find the movie all that funny.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

donkeyknight 05/02/2011 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

It's really All About Margo-Bette Davis seethes and simmers with acid wit (her final line is delicious), though Ann Baxter's duplicity hits bullseye at the end. Smart, rapid-fire dialogue

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

patjohnson76 04/05/2011 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

Pretty much a classic film. Great performances, a great script, and a fine example of "how they used to do it." If there's one drawback it's that the film does run a little long, which can be attributed to the conversations that sometimes last too long. However, it's not enough to bring one of the most Oscar-nominated films of all time down. Bette Davis has many good roles to her name, but this is probably her best.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

woody 03/12/2011 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

This is Bette Davis' best role. She's mostly viper, but with a touch of vulnerability. The great cast (don't forget George Sanders and Thelma Ritter!) is led along by one of the best screenplays ever written.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

mitchellyoung 09/15/2010 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3/4 

Bette Davis and Anne Baxter portray two fully-formed characters. The awesome part of this movie is seeing the convergence of the two's objectives and the sheer dominance of Davis whenever she is on screen.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Ichabod Crane 02/23/2009 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3.5/4 

A fairly good film about show business although not nearly as good as sunset boulevard. I t is interesting to see all the actions of the various well established characters of the women. The men are not nearly as well drawn besides the the seedy critic played well by George Sanders. The two men just do not have enough to say or to do to be anyone although. The women characters are all interesting with each of their individual ideas and plans. Although Eve may have been a bit too bizarre for realism.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

sapien 02/20/2009 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3.5/4 

All About Eve is an awesome movie mostly because of just one scene. And, if you've seen it, you know exactly which scene I'm talking about.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Isa 09/28/2008 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

I love this movie! I love this movie!! I love this movie!!! Without a doubt the best screenplay ever written. Bette Davis owned this movie. My all time favorite!

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Ghost Seed 07/30/2008 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

::sigh:: If only I could write HALF as well... The dialogue is like a whip to the spine. Sharp, strong and so quick that it makes this movie even more of a joy to watch again and again if only to catch it all. The story is compelling, and gives an interesting inside look at the drama behind the scenes of theater-life. More than that, the acting is ridiculously good. I adore the relationship between Margo and her boyfriend Bill. Their back and forth sass and subtle sweetness is remarkable... ...as for Eve, I'd like to slap the broad.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 
1  2  Next  
 
 
Log In
Help on how to log into FilmCrave
Login with Facebook
Login with FilmCrave
 
 
What Members Are Doing
Movie Talk
New Movie Reviews
New Movie Lists
Movies I Want To See by Rod
Top Movie List by SIngli6
Top Movie List by Ben
Movies of 2017 by Stoney McStonerson
Top Movie List by Michael
2014 by Karmand
movies of 2018 by skater4159
Best of 2016 by Nick

 

 

 

Contact FilmCrave Public Relations    

Advertise and Business

Developer API

Contact Us

Jobs

About us

SiteMap

 

Support FilmCrave

FAQ and Help

News and Press

Terms of Use

Privacy