Create Game Lists on MeltedJoystick.com
FilmCrave home
   Movies  Members
Search +
Searching... Close  
Are you sure you want to delete this comment?
  
 
  Login Using Facebook
Twitter
 
     
 

Road, The (2009) Movie Reviews

Your Rating:
 
 
Buy Road, The (2009) DVD from AmazonBuy Road, The (2009) DVD from Amazon  Add to List: Add to movie listWrite Review +Request correction +Submit a plot +

Quick Movie Reviews

1 - 9 of 9 

Matthew Brady 08/05/2014 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
2/4 

I found this movie kind of dull to be honest.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Chris Kavan 09/02/2013 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3/4 

The look of this movie perfectly captures the novel: it's bleak, it's dangerous and the only promise it keeps is death. Yet though the movie is not a pick-me-up by any mean, it's well acted and captures the feeling of despair yet keeps that sliver of hope alive. If you liked the book, I think John Hillcoat does a good job of translating it to the screen.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

dukeakasmudge 08/23/2011 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3/4 

What an awesome movie

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

The Film Rebel 08/19/2010 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

The most underrated movie of the year. The fact this didn't get any Oscar nominations is just blasphemy. This is an absolute masterpiece.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Rob Lewboski 12/27/2009 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3/4 

I'm gonna start out rite away and say I never read the book ater seeing the film I really want to read the book because im not sure this movie did it justice I did like the way the end of the world looked and Mortensen did A fine job in the movie but it felt weak at some points left more to desire when watching some scenes and felt like this could have been an Epic but didnt quite reach it hard to explain really it is worth A rent at least

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Alex 12/03/2009 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3/4 

There are some really incredible scenes in this movie and it's an interesting concept. But, I expected so much more. There is no climax, and Viggo can't carry a movie. The boy also sucks at acting. Still, decent. I bet the book is better.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

patjohnson76 11/29/2009 (1 of 1 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

I had some reservations about whether Cormac McCarthy's excellent novel would do well on the big screen. Hillcoat does an incredible job of creating a bleak, believable post-apocalyptic world. Mortensen and Smit-McPhee are the father and son navigating the countryside determined to find "the coast" where they hope to find other survivors. Along the way they deal with the elements of nature and fend for survival from cannibals. Despite their hardships, their love for one another never wavers and the son never loses hope that some people left in the world can be good. Great acting from both leads. I don't know if those unfamiliar with the novel can appreciate this film, but it is definitely one of the year's best.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Gabe 11/29/2009 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
2.5/4 

A very bleak look at what the world is like after the end of the world. Viggo Mortensen is fantastic as a man forced to raise his son in a world filled with some of the worst terrors one could imagine. My only problem is, why did all of this happen, it's never explained. Good, but not great. But in a year when most, (I'd say 85%) of the films have been quite terrible, it's a must see. The novel won a Pulitzer Prize maybe I would appreciate the film better if I'd had read it.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Allison 11/14/2009 (0 of 1 found this helpful)

Rating of
0.5/4 

One of the worst films I've ever seen. The narration was bad (simply dialog he could have spoken to his son). The directing was bad. The acting was some of the worst. Not only do people not talk that way, people don't whisper that way (Viggo/Charlize scenes). I can't even believe how bad it was. I would have walked out, but I waited over an hour in line and finding a place to park had been atrocious, like seriously, the worst ever. Just like the movie. OMG!! So bad. Not to mention the length of the film and the unsatisfying ending.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 
1    
 
 
Log In
Help on how to log into FilmCrave
Login with Facebook
Login with FilmCrave
 
 
What Members Are Doing
Movie Talk
New Movie Reviews
New Movie Lists
Top 2016 by frenchfreyteetor
2015 Movies by Mr Cinema
2015 by Karmand
Top Films of 2012 by Neobowler
Movies First Seen in 2017 by royaluglydudes
Top Movie List by Seth
Movies I've Watched by Chris Ghost
2016 Rated and Ranked by Chris Kavan

 

 

 

Contact FilmCrave Public Relations    

Advertise and Business

Developer API

Contact Us

Jobs

About us

SiteMap

 

Support FilmCrave

FAQ and Help

News and Press

Terms of Use

Privacy