Create Game Lists on MeltedJoystick.com
FilmCrave home
   Movies  Members
Search +
Searching... Close  
Are you sure you want to delete this comment?
  
 
  Login Using Facebook
Twitter
 
     
 

Appaloosa (2008) Movie Reviews

Your Rating:
 
 
Buy Appaloosa (2008) DVD from AmazonBuy Appaloosa (2008) DVD from Amazon  Add to List: Add to movie listWrite Review +Request correction +Submit a plot +

Quick Movie Reviews

1 - 10 of 10 

Matthew Brady 09/17/2014 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3/4 

Good casting and good acting, but a pretty forgettable movie.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Snoogans 09/15/2014 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
1.5/4 

A handful of great actors ho-hum around in an uninspired western. The story and characters are mundane. The action doesn't stimulate. I was bored through most of it. Mortensen is the only performer to lift the material, but he can't save this lame effort.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

dukeakasmudge 10/12/2011 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
1/4 

It was OK but wouldve been better without Renee Zellweger in it

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Jupilerke 11/22/2010 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
2.5/4 

Yes it's a slow movie, but it was nice watching. There are good scenes but I still don't understand the end. He just shoot him, and that's it.... nothing more.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Chris Kavan 08/23/2009 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
2.5/4 

Moves slow, but I liked the cast. There's nothing new here for Western fans, but it's worth at least one watch.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Essi Suomela 05/27/2009 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
2.5/4 

I enjoyed watching this film because of the great cast, but there is nothing special about it. Not rememberable at all.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

patjohnson76 02/28/2009 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3/4 

A pretty solid directorial effort from Ed Harris. This Western surprised me at times, with the story going in directions I wasn't anticipating. The score is a little too stereotypical Western but other than that, I was pretty engaged. Zellweger and Irons do a good job of creating supporting characters that easily could have been Western cliches. Some really beautiful scenery and cinematography as well. The ending is a little abrupt but overall I liked it.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Alex 10/30/2008 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
2/4 

Not what I expected. It was slow, bad acted, and had too many low budget feeling to it (bad musical score, bad sound, and poor set). Looking back though it had some good parts. If you LOVE westerns, you may enjoy this one. I didn't.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Josh C 10/29/2008 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3/4 

Not a lot of action but still a solid movie. Ed Harris and Viggo Mortensen were great at portraying quite but intimidating 'guns for hire'. The movie was more about the relationship of the two men vs. the actual events. Even though the men didn't go and kill everyone or crack jokes all the time, there was something about them that made you really like them and understand why the cowboys feared them. I got the impression that if Wyatt Earp and Doc Holiday were to run into them that they may have a good showdown.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

goodfellamike 10/09/2008 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3/4 

A skillful, character-driven, often humorous western with sure-handed direction by Ed Harris and believable atmosphere; Irons is not the snarling villain he usually plays and Zellweger is not the typical marm in distress; despite the solid performancess of Harris and Mortensen, there's just something off about the final act taken that leaves one wondering. Final Grade: B

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 
1    
 
 
Log In
Help on how to log into FilmCrave
Login with Facebook
Login with FilmCrave
 
 
What Members Are Doing
Movie Talk
New Movie Reviews
New Movie Lists
Best of 2016 by Nick
2015 by Karmand
Top Movie List by Michael
Movies of 2017 by Stoney McStonerson
2017 by Randall
Movies I've Seen by M3tr4nk0
2017 Rated and Ranked by Chris Kavan
Best Horror Films of all Time by cacb3995

 

 

 

Contact FilmCrave Public Relations    

Advertise and Business

Developer API

Contact Us

Jobs

About us

SiteMap

 

Support FilmCrave

FAQ and Help

News and Press

Terms of Use

Privacy