Create Game Lists on MeltedJoystick.com
FilmCrave home
   Movies  Members
Search +
Searching... Close  
Are you sure you want to delete this comment?
  
 
  Login Using Facebook
Twitter
 
     
 

Wrestler, The (2008) Movie Reviews

Your Rating:
 
 
Buy Wrestler, The (2008) DVD from AmazonBuy Wrestler, The (2008) DVD from Amazon  Add to List: Add to movie listWrite Review +Request correction +Submit a plot +

Quick Movie Reviews

1 - 10 of 20 

Matthew Brady 09/08/2014 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3.5/4 

The Wrestler is by far Mickey Rourke's best role yet. The movie has a fantastic script and a brilliant directing.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

scunaclaf 10/04/2013 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

Really good drama. its emotional, its engaging. you feel for Rourkes character...

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

FSUNoles27TS 12/12/2012 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

Let me pick up my jaw from the floor and wipe away the drool. Dang..... Tomei is so gorgeous. If for nothing else. Watch this movie just for her 'special' scene. For everything else, you must watch this movie. This is an amazing movie. I find it hard t explain the depth this movie has and all the themes surrounding it. Growing old, physical pain over emotional pain, dedication to what one is truly great at, and so much more. This movie is not a meat head wrestling movie. It is far from it. I doubt wrestling fans wouldn't even like this movie as much as the genreal public cause it is more about personal anguish and strength than anything else.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

mitchellyoung 10/20/2012 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

Darren Aronofsky crafts his most straight-forward film to date, an emotional tale of reconciliation that features a comeback performance from Mickey Rourke. The film tells its story in a very direct manner, without the overuse of emotional crutches, and the result is a very human and heartfelt tale, one of the best of 2008.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

dukeakasmudge 10/15/2011 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3/4 

GREAT flick.I liked the movie more the 2nd time I watched it

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Armando Sanchez 01/24/2011 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

tis is one of the bestfilms i have ever seen.darren aronnosky is a great filmmaker.i truly loved his directing style.everything about this film was amazing.micky rourke was spectacular.i would recommend this film to nyone who loves films or at least dramas with emotions.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

gideon43 05/25/2010 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3/4 

An absolute pile driver of a movie, The Wrestler does all its talking in the ring. Less a sports movie and more a character study, the comeback kid, Mickey Rourke is amazingly good as the wrestling has- been who is battered, bruised and alone. There is no condemnation of the fakeness of wrestling or any attempt at airbrushing, this is a warts and all depiction of a tormented soul living on past glories. Cleverly documented, choreographed and staged, The Wrestler punches well above its weight.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

PsychoKing1227 04/10/2010 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

Its crazy to think that some people compare this film with "Rocky," because "Rocky" was by no means anything close in theme, purpose, or heart as "The Wrestler." Mickey Rourke and Marisa Tomei were brilliant together, and this movie left me full of hope, as well as poignant questions about the brimming fear of aging and the darkness of loneliness. A wonderful character study, this film was top notch, by far one of the best films of the year.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

jameswharper 01/13/2010 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3/4 

Stunning performances are the highlight of this thoughtful, if hardly groundbreaking, character study. A lot of the film's success hangs on the audience's appreciation of the fake artistry of wrestling but, that said, it is a good film if not the mind-blower we expected from the director of Pi and Requiem For A Dream. Surprisingly, reminded me a lot of the film I saw the day before: Anvil! The Story of Anvil. Try a double-bill for yourself.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Snoogans 08/05/2009 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3.5/4 

Touching and emotional. Mickey Rourke's best performance.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 
1  2  Next  
 
 
Log In
Help on how to log into FilmCrave
Login with Facebook
Login with FilmCrave
 
 
What Members Are Doing
Movie Talk
New Movie Reviews
New Movie Lists
2016 Movies by Mr Cinema
Top Thriller Movies by Rod
My Blu Ray Collection by Yojimbo
movies of 2017 by skater4159
Top Sci-Fi Movies by Nolane
Movies Seen by Alena
2005 by Karmand
2017 Rated and Ranked by Chris Kavan

 

 

 

Contact FilmCrave Public Relations    

Advertise and Business

Developer API

Contact Us

Jobs

About us

SiteMap

 

Support FilmCrave

FAQ and Help

News and Press

Terms of Use

Privacy