Create Game Lists on MeltedJoystick.com
FilmCrave home
   Movies  Members
Search +
Searching... Close  
Are you sure you want to delete this comment?
  
 
  Login Using Facebook
Twitter
 
     
 

Across the Universe (2007) Movie Reviews

Your Rating:
 
 
Buy Across the Universe (2007) DVD from AmazonBuy Across the Universe (2007) DVD from Amazon  Add to List: Add to movie listWrite Review +Request correction +Submit a plot +

Quick Movie Reviews

1 - 10 of 17 

Camper 01/29/2015 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
2/4 

The movie itself is pretty stupid but at least the soundtrack is spot on.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Rod 05/17/2014 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
2/4 

A bad one. Sorry. Not the songs, the movie.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

lpd381 02/07/2012 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
1/4 

I love the Beatles but this movie is just horrible. It's horribly pretentious and is very forced. There are characters thrown in just for the sake of some how tying in another song. The only positives this movie has is the music, but I can get that on my Ipod with out all the needless crap. The other positive is there is some very good cinematography but the vast majority of it was in the trailer. The think that irritated me most was the worthless cameos by Bono and Eddie Izzard. They were un-needed and a waste of their talent. Go out and buy a Beatles album and avoid this movie.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

donkeyknight 05/03/2011 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
1/4 

I can't imagine being in the theatre, thinking you were going to see a love story to the soundtrack of the Beatles, and instead seeing Mr. Kite, 6 painted Vietnamese women and a gyrating priest. Our emotional connection to these characters (who are all searching for peace in empty arms) has to be conjured just because we're told they're important.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Cake 02/08/2011 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

I hate musicals. I tried watching it, but I couldn't stand the singing.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

The Film Rebel 10/23/2010 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
2.5/4 

Eh, this movie's alright. The only things it has going for it are the music, the acting, and visuals. However, the story doesn't serve those aspects justice. This one's a messy plate. Just watch it for the songs.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

mitchellyoung 09/13/2010 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

Let's be clear. The film's plot, characters, and visuals are contrived to fit the discography of the Beatles. But, for me, an avid Beatles fan, it works. If you love the Beatles' music, you will enjoy seeing what song will be boldly played across the screen next. As a film, perhaps a bit forced, but as an ode to the music of the Beatles - perfect.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Snoogans 09/10/2010 (1 of 1 found this helpful)

Rating of
1.5/4 

A great soundtrack doesn't make the movie itself great, or even good in this case. The songs were well performed and worked with the visuals, but there are so MANY crammed into this movie that there is no room to care about what's going on. The 'story', in this film, is one that's been done to death and has nothing to offer. It doesn't work as a musical and plays like a long Beatles music video. I could get the same (better) experience by re-listening to all of my Beatles albums. As much as I didn't care for Mama Mia, it was still a well done average musical that actually incorporated ABBA's greatest hits into the story to make the film it's own and stand apart from the band. However, the opposite can be said for this film.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Tiffany's Movies 05/27/2010 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3.5/4 

A must-have for any Beatles fan and/or new age hippie! Loved it. Great soundtrack and pretty decent acting.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Roseybaby 06/24/2009 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
2/4 

I wanted to like this movie. I really did. I just can't. Granted, the visuals and music were fabulous. The problem for me is the lack of real plot. It felt like random Beatles songs were picked out and then a loose plot was built around it. There were strangely unnecessary characters floating about through the movie. The plot was nearly nonexistant. The acting was okay, but not great. I couldn't really care about the characters. I just couldn't lke the movie. I know there's lots of people who love it, so I can't say don't see it. I can only say it didn't do it for me.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 
1  2  Next  
 
 
Log In
Help on how to log into FilmCrave
Login with Facebook
Login with FilmCrave
 
 
What Members Are Doing
Movie Talk
New Movie Reviews
New Movie Lists
2016 Movies by Mr Cinema
Top Thriller Movies by Rod
My Blu Ray Collection by Yojimbo
movies of 2017 by skater4159
Top Sci-Fi Movies by Nolane
Movies Seen by Alena
2005 by Karmand
2017 Rated and Ranked by Chris Kavan

 

 

 

Contact FilmCrave Public Relations    

Advertise and Business

Developer API

Contact Us

Jobs

About us

SiteMap

 

Support FilmCrave

FAQ and Help

News and Press

Terms of Use

Privacy