Create Game Lists on MeltedJoystick.com
FilmCrave home
   Movies  Members
Search +
Searching... Close  
Are you sure you want to delete this comment?
  
 
  Login Using Facebook
Twitter
 
     
 

Visitor, The (2008) Movie Reviews

Your Rating:
 
 
Buy Visitor, The (2008) DVD from AmazonBuy Visitor, The (2008) DVD from Amazon  Add to List: Add to movie listWrite Review +Request correction +Submit a plot +

Quick Movie Reviews

1 - 10 of 11 

mitchellyoung 12/23/2011 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3.5/4 

The Visitor is a quiet film that stirs a lot of emotions with very little. Richard Jenkins gives one of the best performances of his career - a subtle masterpiece of acting, in that he is playing a man who has essentially cut off his emotions. There isn't any neat Hollywood ending or sweeping soundtrack or contrived and witty dialogue...just real people living and interacting in real and believable ways, and it works powerfully.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

dukeakasmudge 10/03/2011 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3/4 

A must see!!!

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Amyaronson 07/18/2011 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
2.5/4 

This is a quiet, intimate indie film that I like to sum up as a "nice movie." It is touching and sad, lonely and warm. Like Frozen River, this movie explores issues in illegal immigration and American politics. Richard Jenkins is fantastic, and I'm glad I've seen him in so many movies lately. Also, it made me want to play the djembe, so that's cool.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

donkeyknight 05/03/2011 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3.5/4 

How good it feels to extend a helping hand and get swept up into the beat. How alive! The pace of this movie is very slow, but it let's you feel the awkwardness and hesitation. We are so blest to be born in this country. When did we forget we are an immigrant people?

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

woody 01/29/2011 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3.5/4 

This beautiful movie is a study in contrasts: white New Englander/non-white Middle-Easterner and Senegalese; academia/arts and crafts; classical music/drum circles; lack of engagement/social connectivity. The disengaged white academic at the center of this goes through a transformation, and in the process makes human connections for the first time in years. Or you could say, he goes from being the type of person who wouldn't like this movie to the type who would. The cast is great all around, and help to keep the story from being overly sentimental.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

TommyL31 04/17/2009 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3/4 

This was a really great and touching movie. I had really high hopes and it may not have met all of them but it was still a very good movie. I think the characters were very compelling and it was really a meaningful story of a developing nations professor coming face to face with illegal immigrants from developing nations. I think the movie offered some interesting thoughts on academia and what happens when it meets reality. This movie is worth a view.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

patjohnson76 10/22/2008 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

It is amazing how films as small as these can pack such a huge emotional punch and connection. It just goes to show you don't need A list actors or bombastic special effects to make a film work; if you have a good story with easily identifiable characters you can make a film work. While Richard Jenkins is the standout here as a man finding himself at a crossroads, all 4 main characters add a sense of realism and emotion that makes for a great viewing. Hopefully Jenkins' peformance is remember come awards-season time.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Alex 10/18/2008 (0 of 1 found this helpful)

Rating of
1.5/4 

I see why many people may like this movie. It is well acted and well paced. The subject matter I didn't care for and I didn't really care for the characters. If subject drama is your thing, check it out. If not stay far away. Yawn...

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

goodfellamike 10/18/2008 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

A wonderful, nuanced drama with quietly intense performances from its four principal characters, particularly the underrated Richard Jenkins; what begins as the study of a mundane man becomes a warm-hearted and affecting look at post 911 attitudes; unseemingly at first, these strong characters grow and become something rather special. I found myself astonishingly caught up in this simple, sublime and not altogether happy tale that never once feels manufactured or phony. Final Grade: A

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Allison 07/05/2008 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3.5/4 

A beautiful, inspiring movie about a man who wants to add meaning to his life. He finds it in a very strange way.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 
1  2  Next  
 
 
Log In
Help on how to log into FilmCrave
Login with Facebook
Login with FilmCrave
 
 
What Members Are Doing
Movie Talk
New Movie Reviews
New Movie Lists
Top Films of 2012 by Neobowler
Movies First Seen in 2017 by royaluglydudes
Top Movie List by Seth
Movies I've Watched by Chris Ghost
2016 Rated and Ranked by Chris Kavan
2013 by Karmand
movies of 2017 by skater4159
Movies Watched by Sunbutt

 

 

 

Contact FilmCrave Public Relations    

Advertise and Business

Developer API

Contact Us

Jobs

About us

SiteMap

 

Support FilmCrave

FAQ and Help

News and Press

Terms of Use

Privacy