Create Game Lists on MeltedJoystick.com
FilmCrave home
   Movies  Members
Search +
Searching... Close  
Are you sure you want to delete this comment?
  
 
  Login Using Facebook
Twitter
 
     
 

In Bruges (2008) Movie Reviews

Your Rating:
 
 
Buy In Bruges (2008) DVD from AmazonBuy In Bruges (2008) DVD from Amazon  Add to List: Add to movie listWrite Review +Request correction +Submit a plot +

Quick Movie Reviews

11 - 20 of 20 

Josh O Watts 06/02/2010 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

This film should be in your collection, a Comedy/Drama/Action and all around greatness. See this film, love it. The characters are real fleshed out, the acting is great. Ralph Fienes does a great job in playing the antagonist and is one of the many brilliant parts in this film. Brendan Gleeson is such an underrated actor, he's been in a film you've seen and you haven't noticed because he is that damn good. He does it again here. I love movies that have emotion in them and this one does it great while having the comedy never too far away.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

PsychoKing1227 04/10/2010 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

My all-time favorite playwright Martin McDonagh delivers his unique brand of macabre humor and violent drama into by far one of the best films of the year. Written with the edge that is McDonagh's own style, "In Bruges" explores one man's search for forgiveness, another's search for purpose, and another's search for honor. Colin Farrell, Ralph Fiennes, and Brendan Gleeson are amazing together, brimming with black humor and the sharp, witty banter of "The Lieutennant of Inishmore," and "The Pillowman."

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

GJ81 06/09/2009 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3/4 

In Bruges is a film that sounds a bit dull, but when watching it, dull never comes into it. Its a film that surpasses expectations because it crosses genres and themes that maybe we weren't expecting. Colin Farrell and Brendan Gleeson have character, and the script gives them some real heft and emotion that suprised me, and though it stumbles towards the third act, it thankfully picks up the electric pace again for the finale.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

alex_84_31 03/29/2009 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

This movie was surprisingly great! I rented this movie when it came out on DVD and didn't expect all the comedy that came along with it. I was expecting a more serious movie and didn't think I would find anything that really stood out about it, but I got a great surprise. Colin Farrell plays a hitman who isn't so keen on Bruges which is ironic considering the reason he's there. Oddly enough I found Ralph Fiennes' character likeable even though he really isn't a nice man. This movie really makes for some great entertainment. This movie comes highly recommended from me.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

The SHC 03/14/2009 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

After I sent my kids to bed, I went on to HBO and watched it. It looked pretty good from the trailers, and I never did get a chance to see it in theatres, so I gave it a shot. It was great! It was funny, entertaining, had a great cast, and overall it was a great movie. Colli Farrell was hilariouse in it, especially in the resteraunt scene and the scene with the fat people. Highly recomended.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Alex 12/28/2008 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
2.5/4 

Not Oscar (or Globe for that matter) worthy. Still, it was decent and quite the change of pace. A combination of Boondock Saints meets Coen Bros. A little over rated but funny, smart, and decently well acted. Maybe try it.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Ichabod Crane 11/14/2008 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

An enjoyable enough film about two hitmen. I like it and it was fun too watch. The character interactions are were things shined as long as they reacted with Brendan Gleason's character. The only problem I would say would be one charater action at the end involving a certain fall but that is it. It had good scenery though and good dialogue so I would definitely recommend it. On rewatch I actually enjoyed it a little bit more.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Allison 10/18/2008 (0 of 1 found this helpful)

Rating of
1.5/4 

I guess I was expected more, which is why it disappointed. Keep in mind however, that Colin Farrell does less than nothing for me! When someone raved about Ralph Fiennes' performance I was ecstatic, however, he did not impress me in this. Overall, it introduced me to the city of Bruges, but that wasn't much of an accomplishment. :(

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

danand82 09/11/2008 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3.5/4 

A wonderfully dark script, a great setting and some surprisingly deep performances make In Bruges considerably more than the sum of its parts. Managing to veer from funny and light, to deeply dramatic to sometimes shockingly violent it is a wonderful first feature from Oscar winner Martin McDonagh. For me, Glesson lets the side down a little while Farrel shows his considerable and impressive range. Fiennes steals every scene he has and the supporting cast are generally wonderful. Yes it wander a little, engaging with philosophical issues in a rather haphazard way but it's energy and wit more than make up for it. Highly Recommended.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

FZero 02/16/2008 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3/4 

This is a good version of Shoot Em Up with fleshed out characters and natural dialog that doesn't feel like it was written by the screenwriters in a room while high fiving each other. Colin Farrel and Brendan Gleeson play so well of each other it is a joy to watch. Wickedly funny at times, no punches are pulled and no one is safe. Those expecting an action movie with tons of violence should looks elsewhere. Even though it all builds to a somewhat miscalculated and contrived conclusion all is forgiven because the stuff before was so damn good.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 
Prev  1  2    
 
 
Log In
Help on how to log into FilmCrave
Login with Facebook
Login with FilmCrave
 
 
What Members Are Doing
Movie Talk
New Movie Reviews
New Movie Lists
Movies I watched for the Nth time by Rod
Watched in 2017 by tonks76
Top Movie List by Seth
Movies of 2017 by Stoney McStonerson
Fantastic French Films I Have Seen by Chris Kavan
2017 by Karmand
2016 by Randall
Top Ten Films of 1974 by KingoftheCorn

 

 

 

Contact FilmCrave Public Relations    

Advertise and Business

Developer API

Contact Us

Jobs

About us

SiteMap

 

Support FilmCrave

FAQ and Help

News and Press

Terms of Use

Privacy