Create Game Lists on MeltedJoystick.com
FilmCrave home
   Movies  Members
Search +
Searching... Close  
Are you sure you want to delete this comment?
  
 
  Login Using Facebook
Twitter
 
     
 

Rope (1948) Movie Reviews

Your Rating:
 
 
Buy Rope (1948) DVD from AmazonBuy Rope (1948) DVD from Amazon  Add to List: Add to movie listWrite Review +Request correction +Submit a plot +

Quick Movie Reviews

1 - 8 of 8 

Matthew Brady 04/15/2014 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
2/4 

The story is about a group of men strangle one of their friends and hide him in a closet, then invite guest over to test how well they committed the crime - think they had achieved the perfect crime. Okay here I have to be honest about This movie and that is that the movie is slow and really boring, The acting is fine but the characters are forgettable and this is the worst Alfred Hitchcock film.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Snoogans 01/05/2013 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3.5/4 

A standout in Hitchcock's filmography for it's unique choices in camerawork and editing. I think the 'gimmick' of presenting this film as one continuous take works effectively, becuase of the setting, characters and dialogue. It gives off the feeling of watching a play. The intrigue escalates, along with the tension, at the speed of a slow moving train. The wait isn't for a mystery to be solved, but for the cocky killers to be found out. 'Rope' is a taut verbal game of over self satisfaction.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

mitchellyoung 08/27/2011 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3/4 

There are times in this straightforward thriller in which the drama feels a little forced, as if Hitchcock is trying to wring every ounce of tension out of his cast, but that is to be expected from a drama that takes place in a single unbroken scene.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

sapien 05/24/2011 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3/4 

I thought there could've been more plot twists. In fact, the plot in general was a bit unbelievable. But, I did end up liking it.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

woody 01/29/2011 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3/4 

Rope isn't one of my favorite movies; it's not even one of my favorite Hitchcock movies. But it is a favorite Jimmy Stewart performance. The rest of the cast is okay, not anything great. The movie suffers, I think, from the experiment Hitchcock undertook of having the entire movie appear to be one continuous camera shot. The effect was pulled off by having the camera come in close on someone's dark jacket (or some similar dark and undefined surface) at the end of each reel. The next reel started by moving out or away from the dark surface. I like the movie for Jimmy Stewart, despite its flaws.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Ichabod Crane 01/12/2010 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3/4 

Rope

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Alex 01/04/2009 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3.5/4 

In my opinion, one of Hitchcock's best. Great dialog, good enough acting, and a surprising amount of suspense for the setting. It was very innovative the way it was shot and the backdrops behind them. It is like a play, but still great.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Allison 11/16/2007 (1 of 2 found this helpful)

Rating of
0.5/4 

An excercise in.....boring.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 
1    
 
 
Log In
Help on how to log into FilmCrave
Login with Facebook
Login with FilmCrave
 
 
What Members Are Doing
Movie Talk
New Movie Reviews
New Movie Lists
Top Movie List by Seth
2012 by Karmand
Top Movie List by cacb3995
Top Movie List by SIngli6
Movies I watched for the Nth time by Rod
Watched in 2017 by tonks76
Movies of 2017 by Stoney McStonerson
Fantastic French Films I Have Seen by Chris Kavan

 

 

 

Contact FilmCrave Public Relations    

Advertise and Business

Developer API

Contact Us

Jobs

About us

SiteMap

 

Support FilmCrave

FAQ and Help

News and Press

Terms of Use

Privacy