Create Game Lists on MeltedJoystick.com
FilmCrave home
   Movies  Members
Search +
Searching... Close  
Are you sure you want to delete this comment?
  
 
  Login Using Facebook
Twitter
 
     
 

Lives of Others, The ( Leben der Anderen, Das ) (2006) Movie Reviews

Your Rating:
 
 
Buy Lives of Others, The ( Leben der Anderen, Das ) (2006) DVD from AmazonBuy Lives of Others, The ( Leben der Anderen, Das ) (2006) DVD from Amazon  Add to List: Add to movie listWrite Review +Request correction +Submit a plot +

Quick Movie Reviews

1 - 10 of 10 

Mark 08/28/2014 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

fantastic from the beginning to the end.....

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

mitchellyoung 07/30/2012 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

With quiet tension and involving characters, this is a special story of a fascinating part of German history. The historical setting is layered and realized in incredible detail, but the real star is the acting by a cast that portrays urgency and paranoia like no other. It's a cross between a thriller and a drama and all good.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Daniel Corleone 02/03/2012 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
2.5/4 

A film that involves Bruno Hempf (Thomas Thieme), who covets Dreyman's girlfriend, actress Christa-Maria Sieland (Martina Gedeck), and playwright Georg Dreyman (Sebastian Koch). Screenplay was good with quotes such as “Don’t let this blackness into your life.” and “socialism must start somewhere.” The score was brilliant and suspenseful. Its plot however was too long to be engaging and the lack of better character development was evident. The Lives of Others is a descent drama that lacks thrilling scenes to be part of the genre.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

tecnoandre 12/04/2011 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

German drama film, marking the feature film debut of filmmaker Florian Henckel von Donnersmarck. The film involves the monitoring of the cultural scene of East Berlin by agents of the Stasi, the GDR's secret police. It stars Ulrich Mühe as Stasi Captain Gerd Wiesler, Ulrich Tukur as his boss Anton Grubitz, Sebastian Koch as the playwright Georg Dreyman, and Martina Gedeck as Dreyman's lover, a prominent actress named Christa-Maria Sieland.Very beautiful and intense.Absolute masterpiece.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

donkeyknight 05/01/2011 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
2.5/4 

Another small interesting German tale. Neighbors turn against neighbor and lovers turn into informants, while an unlikely guardian leaves a fingerprint on the life of his unsuspecting ward. I liked it, but I just don't get why so many people think it's GREAT. Anyone care to enlighten me?

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

gideon43 05/26/2010 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3.5/4 

A staggeringly good movie which looks at the totalitarian state of East Germany before the fall of the Berlin wall. As important as a History Lesson in Germanys recent troubled past as it is as a cracking political thriller, The Lives of Others never puts a foot wrong. A meticulous and subtle production that carefully structures a storyline rife with suspense, the characters never take obvious routes and even in an oppressive society dominated by the East German State, there is a fine line between the good guys and the bad guys. A well deserving winner of the Oscar for Best Foreign Language Film.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

sapien 11/13/2008 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
2.5/4 

Not a bad movie. But, nothing particularly special, in my opinion.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Allison 04/11/2008 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
1.5/4 

I was bored by this movie. Maybe my expectations were too grand. I would recommend "Goodbye, Lenin!" which focuses on the fall of the wall that divided East and West Berlin, in 1989. Also I was debating this movie with my friend. He said it explores things other spy movies didn't, which brought me to the conclusion: other spy movies didn't explore those things for a reason.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

GGauthier 01/18/2008 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3.5/4 

Hard times were those. We all know that. And it's fantastically portrayed in this movie. With very solid acting and plot, and a marvelous score. One of the best I've heard in years. The story that reunites is something that depends of the age we are in touch or not. To me, I knew a bit. But know I know more. The moral of redemption (a subject of my interest) is well portrayed and the ending is fantastic. I've to say this is a must see. Athough, (probably, a contraction) I don't think it's a cinematic masterpiece.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Alex 11/19/2007 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3/4 

Though not the best movie nor deserving of any Oscars, it puts into perspective just how real 1984 and Brazil could have been if the Cold War would have ended differently. Heart and Sole often out weigh career and money. Good.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 
1    
 
 
Log In
Help on how to log into FilmCrave
Login with Facebook
Login with FilmCrave
 
 
What Members Are Doing
Movie Talk
New Movie Reviews
New Movie Lists
Top Movie List by Jesse
Top Films of 1969 by Neobowler
Top Movie List by Seth
Movies I Want To See by dadams
Movies I've Watched by Chris Ghost
Top Movie List by Marugo
2009 by Karmand
To See: 2017 Movies by Alex

 

 

 

Contact FilmCrave Public Relations    

Advertise and Business

Developer API

Contact Us

Jobs

About us

SiteMap

 

Support FilmCrave

FAQ and Help

News and Press

Terms of Use

Privacy