Create Game Lists on MeltedJoystick.com
FilmCrave home
   Movies  Members
Search +
Searching... Close  
Are you sure you want to delete this comment?
  
 
  Login Using Facebook
Twitter
 
     
 

Seventh Seal, The ( Det Sjunde inseglet ) (1958) Movie Reviews

Your Rating:
 
 
Buy Seventh Seal, The ( Det Sjunde inseglet ) (1958) DVD from AmazonBuy Seventh Seal, The ( Det Sjunde inseglet ) (1958) DVD from Amazon  Add to List: Add to movie listWrite Review +Request correction +Submit a plot +

Quick Movie Reviews

1 - 8 of 8 

mitchellyoung 09/12/2011 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3/4 

An iconic Bergman work that thrives on symbolism. It is occasionally slow-moving, but the layers of meaning are rich and the entire effect of the film is haunting.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

SIngli6 03/30/2011 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

A work of empyreal melancholia (something of an oxy-moron, I know) and inoffensive jocularity, 'The Seventh Seal' is Bergman's, if not Sweden's, greatest film!

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

TheManWithNoName 10/01/2009 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

I watched this for the first time last night and was totally blown away. I wish Bergman would've featured Death more. The scenes with him in it were the best in the movie. Revealing look into the human mind. Great film, everyone should watch it at least once.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Chris Kavan 08/24/2009 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3.5/4 

Beautiful and haunting, The Seventh Seal is the rare film that deserves it praise. Life, death, religion - questions but no answers except what you take away. It is a bit depressing, but there is also hope. And that is all man can ask for.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Gustavo² 04/19/2009 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

Embora recorra com menor intensidade a sutilezas e simbolismos sofisticados que moldaram as produções subsequentes mais radicais de Bergman, esta obra-prima repleta de imagens memoráveis revela-se uma aventura surpreendente, aliando humor, ação e reflexão, sem deixar de tocar nas questões existenciais tão caras ao seu autor, como a impotência diante da morte e a incomunicabilidade entre os homens e um Deus distante.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Alex 03/28/2009 (0 of 1 found this helpful)

Rating of
2/4 

Maybe I missed something, but besides the beautiful scenery and interesting sequences with death (few too many) I didn't get it. I know it is a canvas for Bergman, but why do I care. This one is not for me, but many love it.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

The_Watchman 04/18/2008 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

An amazingly powerful, thoughtful and surprisingly funny film that blew me away the first time I saw it. Loved every minute of it.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

philly22 09/15/2007 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

Bergman made this movie to ease his angst. His worries about death. He said that it was like painting a painting, and when it was finished he said "here, take it, I don't want it". It was his therapy. And it's such a huanting movie. Amazing.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 
1    
 
 
Log In
Help on how to log into FilmCrave
Login with Facebook
Login with FilmCrave
 
 
What Members Are Doing
Movie Talk
New Movie Reviews
New Movie Lists
Movies of 2017 by Stoney McStonerson
Top Movie List by Michael
2014 by Karmand
movies of 2018 by skater4159
Best of 2016 by Nick
2017 by Randall
Movies I've Seen by M3tr4nk0
2017 Rated and Ranked by Chris Kavan

 

 

 

Contact FilmCrave Public Relations    

Advertise and Business

Developer API

Contact Us

Jobs

About us

SiteMap

 

Support FilmCrave

FAQ and Help

News and Press

Terms of Use

Privacy