Create Game Lists on MeltedJoystick.com
FilmCrave home
   Movies  Members
Search +
Searching... Close  
Are you sure you want to delete this comment?
  
 
  Login Using Facebook
Twitter
 
     
 

General, The (1927) Movie Reviews

Your Rating:
 
 
Buy General, The (1927) DVD from AmazonBuy General, The (1927) DVD from Amazon  Add to List: Add to movie listWrite Review +Request correction +Submit a plot +

Quick Movie Reviews

1 - 9 of 9 

Snoogans 08/26/2012 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
2.5/4 

Likable comic adventure. The train sequences are quite fun.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Moviehead 04/05/2012 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3/4 

Old film that still can entertain you and much more than average comedy

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Daniel Corleone 11/29/2011 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3.5/4 

A Civil War breaks and train engineer Johnnie Gray (Keaton) is rejected by the Army because of his value in the South. Annabelle Lee (Marion Mack) becomes a prisoner of a stolen train. The settings and story were well though of. Keaton's talents are in full throttle here. Still not enough laughs on the flick but the premise and soundtrack were entertaining. The General had one of the best stunts in its time and is one of the influential comedies produced.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

mitchellyoung 08/12/2011 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3/4 

Buster Keaton's energetic antics drive this crazy adrenaline ride. It's one physically-taxing sight gag after another and, despite its age, the film still holds up today as being very funny and entertaining.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

donkeyknight 06/06/2011 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3/4 

I thought it was 1926. Amazing. Every kid should get to view this to discover how comedy originated.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

sapien 11/04/2008 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

Next to Laurel and Hardy's Way Out West, this is the best comedy movie there is. Few comics are funnier than Keaton. And, this is by far his best work.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

fake_username 02/25/2008 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
2/4 

I found this movie to be comically mundane and emotionally shallow. This is certianly not Keaton's best work, try Sherlock Jr. which is not only a great Keaton picture but one of the greatest silent era films.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

brendoman 12/04/2007 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

This was my introduction to silent films and remains my favorite. Buster Keaton is INSANE. Just watch the movie and you'll know what I'm talking about. This is the physical comedy your grandparents talk about and damn are they right. After watching this I can actually understand the argument that some make that in many ways the silent films were a more pure experience. These actors really had to give it their all. If you get to see this with any kind of live accompaniment instead of just some crappy public domain music, be sure to do that.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Alex 01/06/2007 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

Close (if not the best) to be the best silent film of all time. I really connected with the characters through this one. It almost entirely takes place on a rail track and is brilliantly filmed. If you can sit through a silent - you must see this one!

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 
1    
 
 
Log In
Help on how to log into FilmCrave
Login with Facebook
Login with FilmCrave
 
 
What Members Are Doing
Movie Talk
New Movie Reviews
New Movie Lists
My Wish List by goodguy28
Top 2016 by frenchfreyteetor
2015 Movies by Mr Cinema
2015 by Karmand
Top Films of 2012 by Neobowler
Movies First Seen in 2017 by royaluglydudes
Top Movie List by Seth
Movies I've Watched by Chris Ghost

 

 

 

Contact FilmCrave Public Relations    

Advertise and Business

Developer API

Contact Us

Jobs

About us

SiteMap

 

Support FilmCrave

FAQ and Help

News and Press

Terms of Use

Privacy