Create Game Lists on MeltedJoystick.com
FilmCrave home
   Movies  Members
Search +
Searching... Close  
Are you sure you want to delete this comment?
  
 
  Login Using Facebook
Twitter
 
     
 

Metropolis (1927) Movie Reviews

Your Rating:
 
 
Buy Metropolis (1927) DVD from AmazonBuy Metropolis (1927) DVD from Amazon  Add to List: Add to movie listWrite Review +Request correction +Submit a plot +

Quick Movie Reviews

1 - 10 of 10 

Matthew Brady 11/20/2015 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

Metropolis is one of the most visually impressive movie I've ever seen. It's creative look on the future of Metropolis is both stunning and unique. I'm still blown away from the visuals in this movie, because with a movie that's been released back in the 1920's and looks more convincing compared to the effect's today is really saying something. What I love about this movie is the imagination and the wonder that Metropolis presents is a treat to the eyes. Metropolis is one of the best silent movies I have ever see. The cinematography is magnificent, the film making itself is jaw dropping and this movie should be seen only on the big screen.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

worleyjamers 06/29/2013 (0 of 1 found this helpful)

Rating of
2/4 

I hated it. Interesting, classic, but odd, cheesy, and annoying. Overly dramatic. Brigitte Helm is creepy as hell.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Yojimbo 09/24/2012 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
0.5/4 

I am tempted to give this seminal piece full marks for the sole purpose of not appearing like a philistine. But the remarkable transformation scene aside, this actually bored me to tears...the visuals are years ahead of their time but after two solid hours of pantomime over-acting and sledgehammer political musings I was losing the will to live...

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Chris Kavan 03/08/2012 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3.5/4 

Wow - easily tops the list of all silent films I have seen to this point. Epic in scope and even with the political overtones, it's easy to see why this is considered such a ground-breaking film. I saw the restored version, and even with the over 2 hour length, I was never bored Simply a film that needs to be seen by any fan of film or sci-fi.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Daniel Corleone 11/11/2011 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3.5/4 

The "head" creator of the city is Joh Fredersen. His son Freder discovers a good natured teacher named Maria. Grot is the main hand that controls the cities Heart machine. Rotwang creates a machine man.and eventually goes deranged over the image of Maria. A wonderful silent film that incorporates themes of love, trust and fair labor. The score really brings out the life of the black and white picture. Metropolis could have been the major influence of several sci-fi flicks with scenes similar to The Fifth Element, Dark City, I-Robot, Surrogates, etc. I

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

mitchellyoung 08/12/2011 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3.5/4 

Despite some obvious political commentary (that didn't quite gel with the rest of the film for me), this film paints an iconic dystopian universe with great visual scope. It set the stage for epic sci-fi adventure films to come. The Matrix, for one, is obviously heavily influenced by this film.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

sapien 11/13/2008 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
2.5/4 

It definitely is a political piece, first and foremost. And, since I agree with the basic political message, then that gives it points automatically in my book. But, besides that, it has a very intriguing plot. Although, the ending leaves much to be desired.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Allison 12/21/2007 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
1.5/4 

I love Fritz Lang (the director) but have never cared for this film. And usually I like silent films too and this is considered to be a masterpiece. However, I'd go with M (also by Fritz Lang).

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Alex 08/23/2007 (0 of 1 found this helpful)

Rating of
3.5/4 

Many people have compared this to "The Matrix." While it is similar, it is actually very close to "Dark City." Metropolis is a silent movie you need to see to appreciate. You must see this if you are a true sci fi fan!

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

GGauthier 08/10/2007 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

As a sci-fi fan you have to see this one. It's a perfect movie. Perfect acting, music, direction. What about the art of the movie? Oh man... Lang was a genius. This movie has scenes that are "prophetic". Every day when I go up the stairs of the subway to work, It came this movie to my mind. Remember when you watch it: It's 80 years old. 80. Best silent ever.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 
1    
 
 
Log In
Help on how to log into FilmCrave
Login with Facebook
Login with FilmCrave
 
 
What Members Are Doing
Movie Talk
New Movie Reviews
New Movie Lists
2016 by Karmand
Top Movie List by SIngli6
Movies I watched for the Nth time by Rod
Watched in 2017 by tonks76
Top Movie List by Seth
Movies of 2017 by Stoney McStonerson
Fantastic French Films I Have Seen by Chris Kavan
2016 by Randall

 

 

 

Contact FilmCrave Public Relations    

Advertise and Business

Developer API

Contact Us

Jobs

About us

SiteMap

 

Support FilmCrave

FAQ and Help

News and Press

Terms of Use

Privacy