Create Game Lists on MeltedJoystick.com
FilmCrave home
   Movies  Members
Search +
Searching... Close  
Are you sure you want to delete this comment?
  
 
  Login Using Facebook
Twitter
 
     
 

Paths of Glory (1957) Movie Reviews

Your Rating:
 
 
Buy Paths of Glory (1957) DVD from AmazonBuy Paths of Glory (1957) DVD from Amazon  Add to List: Add to movie listWrite Review +Request correction +Submit a plot +

Quick Movie Reviews

1 - 9 of 9 

Matthew Brady 07/05/2014 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3/4 

This movie takes place During World War I, soldiers refuse to fight as it appears certain death. The superior military decides to make an example out of them while one man (Douglas) defends them. Stanley Kubrick the director of such dark and gritty movies and this movie is one of them. The movie has outstanding and the directing is brilliant, But there are some scenes that felt a bit slow in parts.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Chris Kavan 09/03/2012 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3.5/4 

This is just as brutal and unflinching as Full Metal Jacket, but Kubrick gives this a much more subdued touch - yet one that is no less powerful. A lot rests on the shoulders of Kirk Douglas, and he does an excellent job. It's a story that should be presented every generation.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Gabe 06/08/2012 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
2.5/4 

This film just wasn't quite what I was expecting. It's more courtroom drama than war film. Kirk Douglas is excellent as the hero, the colonel who has to defend the accused in court, but I was was expecting a war film dammit, more along the lines of Saving Private Ryan. I get the social commentary on war that the film is trying to make, and for that I applaud Kubrick for pulling it off, but I still felt duped. Shame on me for not knowing what And for that this film is getting docked 1/2 of a star. Hannes Staudinger must get some mention here. I thought his camera work was superb.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Snoogans 04/29/2012 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

A war film that focuses on the moral issues of cowardice and finding truth in the face of injustice. Those that find Kubrick's films to come off as cold will feel the opposite of this one.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

mitchellyoung 09/12/2011 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3.5/4 

A striking and in-your-face portrayal of anti-war propaganda that somehow doesn't feel pushy - mainly due to the strong performance by Kirk Douglas. The story told feels immediate and relevant, even decades later.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

gideon43 06/04/2010 (1 of 1 found this helpful)

Rating of
3.5/4 

Although it failed at the Box Office due to its controversial stance on French Military blunders that occurred during the First World War (it was also not shown in France until 1975), Paths of Glory is one of the most powerful and compelling films about the futility of war ever made. Director Stanley Kubrick uses impeccable technique as he carefully structures the story. Quite rightly regarded as his first masterpiece, Paths of Glory isn't quite trademark Kubrick and has more sentimental and inspiring moments than his later efforts. Exploring a theme of anti authoritarianisim that he would revisit in later films, Kubrick with the help of an excellent cast delivers an outstanding and quintessential anti war movie.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Ichabod Crane 03/06/2009 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

Terrific film about World War I. Actually a anti foolish leaders film than an anti war film as Kubrick himself has said. It is well shot especially the scenes inside the trenches because it puts you right there. It is very interesting to see where it goes, and the characters are all very well written.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

GGauthier 09/10/2007 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

In the beginning, Kubrick was a photographer. So, he used always that special gifted eye for making still photos, in motion pictures. This movie contains part of that Kubrick's magic that shows some great takes. The plot is intruiging and the Kirk is fantastic. Agree with Alex on one of the best anti war movies ever.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Alex 12/15/2006 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

This one of the best direct anti war movies I have ever seen. Kubrick is the master with this surprise film. It is short too!

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 
1    
 
 
Log In
Help on how to log into FilmCrave
Login with Facebook
Login with FilmCrave
 
 
What Members Are Doing
Movie Talk
New Movie Reviews
New Movie Lists
2012 by Karmand
Top Movie List by cacb3995
Top Movie List by Seth
Top Movie List by SIngli6
Movies I watched for the Nth time by Rod
Watched in 2017 by tonks76
Movies of 2017 by Stoney McStonerson
Fantastic French Films I Have Seen by Chris Kavan

 

 

 

Contact FilmCrave Public Relations    

Advertise and Business

Developer API

Contact Us

Jobs

About us

SiteMap

 

Support FilmCrave

FAQ and Help

News and Press

Terms of Use

Privacy