Create Game Lists on MeltedJoystick.com
FilmCrave home
   Movies  Members
Search +
Searching... Close  
Are you sure you want to delete this comment?
  
 
  Login Using Facebook
Twitter
 
     
 

Sunset Boulevard (1950) Movie Reviews

Your Rating:
 
 
Buy Sunset Boulevard (1950) DVD from AmazonBuy Sunset Boulevard (1950) DVD from Amazon  Add to List: Add to movie listWrite Review +Request correction +Submit a plot +

Quick Movie Reviews

1 - 9 of 9 

mitchellyoung 12/01/2012 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

Wilder's meditation on fame and stardom is firmly rooted in terrific noir moments. The creepy setting of a vacuous Hollywood mansion - an altar to celebrity past - is fitting in a tale that walks the line between tragedy and black comedy. Wilder's writing has never been sharper, as he is able to cut deep into reflection on human emotion and Gloria Swanson gives a captivating, withering performance.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Snoogans 05/28/2012 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

Here's one classic that I feel deserves all of it's praise. This satire has some great dark comedic moments and the story is a terrific mix of noir, romance and tragedy. Swanson's former star character contains all the right complexities of someone who's own line between reality and fiction has faded.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

sapien 04/04/2010 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
2.5/4 

I seem to be the only person in the world who didn't particularly like this movie's ending. I did, however, think that the rest of it was pretty good.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Chris Kavan 10/07/2009 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

Hollywood noir at its best - the older I get, the more I appreciate this film. I can't really add much more to the plate than what's been said - if you're looking for a great mystery/noir you will be hard-pressed to find better.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Ichabod Crane 01/26/2009 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

This is one of those films where everyone says it is a classic and so great, and for this one they are actually right for once. The film is intelligent well acted and an incredibly interesting story from beginning to end. The opening scene does not ruin the ending but instead makes you want you to keep watching until that point.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

fake_username 02/25/2008 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

A fantastic noir and an excellent movie across the board. The added film references make it a little more fun. Billy Wilder's masterpiece although I personally prefer The Apartment.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Allison 09/24/2007 (1 of 1 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

What Movies Teach Us: Being a gigolo is a dangerous profession. And it's always fun to throw a funeral for a monkey. This is one of my favorites. I love Sunset Blvd., the street, the movie, Billy Wilder, Gloria Swanson, William Holden. I want to kiss them all.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

GGauthier 08/28/2007 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

Awesome masterpiece that shows a mediocre screen writer looking for the american dream, and the actress, that already accomplished it, but now is in decadence and almost mentally ill. The movie has one of the best first scenes ever, a fantastic script and memorable acting.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Alex 12/14/2006 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

A beautiful movie, with great music and a script to die for: this is the best film noir (mystery) ever!

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 
1    
 
 
Log In
Help on how to log into FilmCrave
Login with Facebook
Login with FilmCrave
 
 
What Members Are Doing
Movie Talk
New Movie Reviews
New Movie Lists
Movies I Want To See by Laura
Top Movie List by Jesse
Top Films of 1969 by Neobowler
Top Movie List by Seth
Movies I Want To See by dadams
Movies I've Watched by Chris Ghost
Top Movie List by Marugo
2009 by Karmand

 

 

 

Contact FilmCrave Public Relations    

Advertise and Business

Developer API

Contact Us

Jobs

About us

SiteMap

 

Support FilmCrave

FAQ and Help

News and Press

Terms of Use

Privacy