Create Game Lists on MeltedJoystick.com
FilmCrave home
   Movies  Members
Search +
Searching... Close  
Are you sure you want to delete this comment?
  
 
  Login Using Facebook
Twitter
 
     
 

Wizard of Oz, The (1939) Movie Reviews

Your Rating:
 
 
Buy Wizard of Oz, The (1939) DVD from AmazonBuy Wizard of Oz, The (1939) DVD from Amazon  Add to List: Add to movie listWrite Review +Request correction +Submit a plot +

Quick Movie Reviews

1 - 10 of 22 

SteelCity99 04/21/2018 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

Fantasy in its purest form. Victor Fleming brought to the screen one of the most brilliant concepts in the genre: to take the audience from a sepia-toned atmosphere to a colorful world just like he took Dorothy Gale out of Kansas. The result is literally magical; we get the classic characteristics of a good, old-fashioned fairy tale, morally thought-provoking lessons, lovable costumes, iconic images (red shoes included), an incredible and varied atrezzo, and unforgettable songs. As a musical and as a fantasy movie, as well as a classic, this is a beloved and unrepeatable treasure. 98/100

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Matthew Brady 12/31/2013 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

If you hate this movie then you have you soul at all. this movie takes you to a yellow brick road with Dorothy and her odd friends.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

mitchellyoung 02/10/2013 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

There's an infectious cinematic magic about the Wizard of Oz that covers some of its more obvious faults (fake production value, convenient screenplay.) The energy of the cast carries the film, as does the iconic soundtrack that features one of the most beloved songs of all time. It's impossible not to get caught up in the colorful and inventive adaptation that does admirable justice to Baum's classic book.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Yojimbo 09/30/2012 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
2.5/4 

Classic musical full of memorable songs and inventive imagery and a creative use of the newly developed Technicolor. Not really my kind of thing but far superior to the kind of soulless nonsense that passes for children's entertainment these days.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

MaceeRae 12/15/2011 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3.5/4 

I like this film for what it is, a fantasy filmed in 1939, a time when special effects weren't running amok, but were used to enhance a story being told. Considering that this film was created before I was even born, and a few years after my parents arrived, I'd say they did a good job bringing L. Frank Baum's book to the screen. It allowed me, the viewer to escape for about an hour and a half into the land of Oz, and to sit back and enjoy the journey.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Snoogans 11/30/2011 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

This film will never get old. It's ageless.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

SIngli6 09/04/2011 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
1.5/4 

The visuals are nice, I'll give it that; but the performances, the music, the screenplay, the set design, and the intolerably awful ending are, to put it somewhat candidly, not. Watching 'The Wizard of Oz' is an experience comparable to that of Chinese water torture; you recognise from the onset that you are entering a tempestuous climate of cliche, but you cannot help but be terrified by the writers' persistent efforts to shove them into your face.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

donkeyknight 05/02/2011 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
2/4 

I don't want to be too critical of a classic, so I'll just say the effects of this movie must have appeared to viewers in the 30s the way Star Wars appeared in the 70s or the Matrix and Lord of the Rings did a few years ago.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Cake 02/09/2011 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

One of my favorite classics. I think the Wizard of Oz will last forever

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

woody 01/27/2011 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

This movie has probably the most iconic characters in moviedom, and stays fresh through endless viewings, homages and parodies. I loved it as a kid, looking forward to its annual network broadcast. My kids all had the VHS tapes of it that they watched endlessly and memorized. And now my granddaughter owns the DVD and calls herself Dorothy. (She calls her baby brother Toto.) That's timeless!

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 
1  2  3  Next  
 
 
Log In
Help on how to log into FilmCrave
Login with Facebook
Login with FilmCrave
 
 
What Members Are Doing
Movie Talk
New Movie Reviews
New Movie Lists
2018: Best to Worst by Nolane
movies of 2006 by skater4159
Movies of 2017 by Stoney McStonerson
My Wish List by kencyprus
Stanley Tucci Movies by Rod
Movies I Want To See by baba ghanoush
Top Movie List by Ionut valentin
Movies First Seen in 2018 by royaluglydudes

 

 

 

Contact FilmCrave Public Relations    

Advertise and Business

Developer API

Contact Us

Jobs

About us

SiteMap

 

Support FilmCrave

FAQ and Help

News and Press

Terms of Use

Privacy