Create Game Lists on MeltedJoystick.com
FilmCrave home
   Movies  Members
Search +
Searching... Close  
Are you sure you want to delete this comment?
  
 
  Login Using Facebook
Twitter
 
     
 

Wizard of Oz, The (1939) Movie Reviews

Your Rating:
 
 
Buy Wizard of Oz, The (1939) DVD from AmazonBuy Wizard of Oz, The (1939) DVD from Amazon  Add to List: Add to movie listWrite Review +Request correction +Submit a plot +

Quick Movie Reviews

1 - 10 of 21 

Matthew Brady 12/31/2013 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

If you hate this movie then you have you soul at all. this movie takes you to a yellow brick road with Dorothy and her odd friends.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

mitchellyoung 02/10/2013 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

There's an infectious cinematic magic about the Wizard of Oz that covers some of its more obvious faults (fake production value, convenient screenplay.) The energy of the cast carries the film, as does the iconic soundtrack that features one of the most beloved songs of all time. It's impossible not to get caught up in the colorful and inventive adaptation that does admirable justice to Baum's classic book.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Yojimbo 09/30/2012 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
2.5/4 

Classic musical full of memorable songs and inventive imagery and a creative use of the newly developed Technicolor. Not really my kind of thing but far superior to the kind of soulless nonsense that passes for children's entertainment these days.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

MaceeRae 12/15/2011 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3.5/4 

I like this film for what it is, a fantasy filmed in 1939, a time when special effects weren't running amok, but were used to enhance a story being told. Considering that this film was created before I was even born, and a few years after my parents arrived, I'd say they did a good job bringing L. Frank Baum's book to the screen. It allowed me, the viewer to escape for about an hour and a half into the land of Oz, and to sit back and enjoy the journey.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Snoogans 11/30/2011 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

This film will never get old. It's ageless.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

SIngli6 09/04/2011 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
1.5/4 

The visuals are nice, I'll give it that; but the performances, the music, the screenplay, the set design, and the intolerably awful ending are, to put it somewhat candidly, not. Watching 'The Wizard of Oz' is an experience comparable to that of Chinese water torture; you recognise from the onset that you are entering a tempestuous climate of cliche, but you cannot help but be terrified by the writers' persistent efforts to shove them into your face.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

donkeyknight 05/02/2011 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
2/4 

I don't want to be too critical of a classic, so I'll just say the effects of this movie must have appeared to viewers in the 30s the way Star Wars appeared in the 70s or the Matrix and Lord of the Rings did a few years ago.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Cake 02/09/2011 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

One of my favorite classics. I think the Wizard of Oz will last forever

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

woody 01/27/2011 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

This movie has probably the most iconic characters in moviedom, and stays fresh through endless viewings, homages and parodies. I loved it as a kid, looking forward to its annual network broadcast. My kids all had the VHS tapes of it that they watched endlessly and memorized. And now my granddaughter owns the DVD and calls herself Dorothy. (She calls her baby brother Toto.) That's timeless!

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

The Film Rebel 08/19/2010 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

An incredible adventure through a mystical land. Even at my age, I can still enjoy this film. When I think of my childhood, I'll always think Oz.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 
1  2  3  Next  
 
 
Log In
Help on how to log into FilmCrave
Login with Facebook
Login with FilmCrave
 
 
What Members Are Doing
Movie Talk
New Movie Reviews
New Movie Lists
Top Movie List by Michael
Movies of 2017 by Stoney McStonerson
2017 by Randall
2013 by Karmand
Movies I've Seen by M3tr4nk0
2017 Rated and Ranked by Chris Kavan
Best Horror Films of all Time by cacb3995
Top Movie List by Seth

 

 

 

Contact FilmCrave Public Relations    

Advertise and Business

Developer API

Contact Us

Jobs

About us

SiteMap

 

Support FilmCrave

FAQ and Help

News and Press

Terms of Use

Privacy