Create Game Lists on MeltedJoystick.com
FilmCrave home
   Movies  Members
Search +
Searching... Close  
Are you sure you want to delete this comment?
  
 
  Login Using Facebook
Twitter
 
     
 

Village, The (2004) Movie Reviews

Your Rating:
 
 
Buy Village, The (2004) DVD from AmazonBuy Village, The (2004) DVD from Amazon  Add to List: Add to movie listWrite Review +Request correction +Submit a plot +

Quick Movie Reviews

1 - 10 of 11 

Matthew Brady 06/08/2014 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
1.5/4 

This movie has boring acting and the directing is not good, The actress who played the blind women did a horrible job because most of the scenes she looks at some of the characters in the eye and she is okay walking up and down some steps. The twist was so predictable and so terrible.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Snoogans 11/30/2011 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
2/4 

Genuinely mysterious, if nothing else. Not Night's best, or worst.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

dukeakasmudge 09/20/2011 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
0.5/4 

Completely pointless

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Daniel Corleone 09/06/2011 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
1.5/4 

Too bad you include talented artists such as Joaquin Phoenix, Sigourney Weaver, William Hurt and Bryce Dallas Howard in a mediocre film about being lost in a village. Artists did well, the screenplay and storytelling failed to deliver. So much useless frames used due to dull dialogues. Clearly one of the worst endings and just nothing memorable about this film. If only he can get his wits back to create movies with the quality of Sixth Sense and Unbreakable.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

mitchellyoung 07/05/2011 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
2.5/4 

Some tension and interesting mythology until you realize the film's requisite Shyamalan twist which is, to put it lightly, stupid. Points for a compelling film that holds together until the twist is revealed. Also, M. Night's "cameos" get more abrasive with each film he makes.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

PsychoKing1227 10/14/2008 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3/4 

I loved this movie. It wasn't the greatest of the Shyamalan's movies, but it still had one of the greatest storylines that I believe I've seen in a long time. The only things that I didn't appreciate it in this movie was the acting (I'm not sure why William Hurt decided to take a sleeper for this one...and who hired Bryce Dallas Howard?). But the writing was superb and the storytelling techniques were incredible.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Barnaby 02/06/2008 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

I loved this film completely. I don't often watch horror films, and was suprised that this turned out to be much for than a "horror movie". Beautifully made and excellently acted, this has to be one of my favourite movies, and everything comes alive with an amazing instrumental score by James Newton Horward.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

GGauthier 09/10/2007 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3/4 

Good film that left me kind of disappointed at the end. It has a really good performance my Joaquin Phoenix and cool shots by Shyamalan that made me remember a bit of Burton. Again, not great, but watchable.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Alex 06/26/2007 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
2/4 

Not Shyamalan's best, but better than Lady in the water. I would not recommend this movie to anyone as it is too slow for most people's taste. I do really like the concept though - just could have been executed better.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Chris Kavan 02/28/2007 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
2/4 

Yes, I know this is not a horror movie, but I was expecting so much more. If Signs was a step in the wrong direction, the village was a great leap backward. The only saving grace is the excellent performance by Bryce Dallas Howard.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 
1  2  Next  
 
 
Log In
Help on how to log into FilmCrave
Login with Facebook
Login with FilmCrave
 
 
What Members Are Doing
Movie Talk
New Movie Reviews
New Movie Lists
My Wish List by goodguy28
Top 2016 by frenchfreyteetor
2015 Movies by Mr Cinema
2015 by Karmand
Top Films of 2012 by Neobowler
Movies First Seen in 2017 by royaluglydudes
Top Movie List by Seth
Movies I've Watched by Chris Ghost

 

 

 

Contact FilmCrave Public Relations    

Advertise and Business

Developer API

Contact Us

Jobs

About us

SiteMap

 

Support FilmCrave

FAQ and Help

News and Press

Terms of Use

Privacy