Create Game Lists on MeltedJoystick.com
FilmCrave home
   Movies  Members
Search +
Searching... Close  
Are you sure you want to delete this comment?
  
 
  Login Using Facebook
Twitter
 
     
 

Vertigo (1958) Movie Reviews

Your Rating:
 
 
Buy Vertigo (1958) DVD from AmazonBuy Vertigo (1958) DVD from Amazon  Add to List: Add to movie listWrite Review +Request correction +Submit a plot +

Quick Movie Reviews

1 - 10 of 13 

Matthew Brady 09/09/2014 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

John Scottie Ferguson: "Did he train you? Did he rehearse you? Did he tell you what to do and what to say?". The story is about a man with Vertigo investigates his old friend's wife to discover that she may be the cause of his vertigo. Vertigo is one Alfred Hitchcock's best film that he ever did. James Stewart acting in this movie was just pure excellent and nothing can top it. Kim Novak did great in the film to, giving a guilty and a mystery to her character. Vertigo is overall a fantastic thriller with brilliant directing and a great mystery film.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Mark 08/26/2014 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

one of my all-time favorites. "Jimmy Stewart with a twist". ....highest recommendation.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

mitchellyoung 01/01/2013 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3/4 

This isn't my favorite Hitchcock, but it is Hitchcock at his most indulgent - weaving a layered tale of betrayal and romance amid an interesting visual palette. The emotional complexity of the characters and relationships is something often missing from the master of suspense's more thrilling tales. The spiraling conclusion is a true classic.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Snoogans 11/30/2011 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

'Vertigo' is a more subtle surprise in the Hitchcock filmography. It's story is a twisting narrative, but not one that involves the usual murder or crime that we come to associate with the famous director's work. There's still an ample amount of mystery, suspense, and romance present, just not presented in the most expected way. I loved the story for the simple fact that it did feel fresh, even watching it now in a new century. I never knew where it was going to take me. The writing, directing, and acting are all impeccably captivating. Visually, I'd consider this Hitchcock's most memorable effort. This is top tier filmmaking that's undeniably entertaining and easy to get swept up into.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

woody 01/29/2011 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

Vertigo has a fairly interesting plot, but it is a classic for other merits, all of which combine to make it a rare emotional experience. Its cinematography is gorgeous, and in the scenes in which Scottie is following Madeleine it is as mysterious and dreamy as anything on film. So, it's pretty dang wonderful just to look at the movie (and Kim Novak adds to that benefit). The soundtrack is one of Bernard Herrmann's best, and adds immeasurably to the eerie atmosphere. The movie most amazes me, though, for the way the great Jimmy Stewart seems to let himself appear to be vulnerable and weak and lovestruck.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

PsychoKing1227 04/06/2010 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3/4 

A great Alfred Hitchcock thriller with wonderful characters and a great twist.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

jameswharper 12/06/2009 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

Vertigo has a timeless glow: a movie with something deeply disturbing at its core, suffused in technicolor and strings. On my third viewing it didn't feel quite as life-changing but it remains a masterpiece.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Chris Kavan 04/09/2009 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

A master of his craft at the top of his game. Hitchcock has made many great films, but Vertigo is on another level. Everything aligns from the actors, the story, camera, score - it all comes together to form this perfect film.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

LeopardExplosion 01/09/2009 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3/4 

A great Hitchcock film full of twists and mysterious turns. Well, then again it is a hitchcock. I really liked this one but for some reason I couldn't enjoy it to to the full extent I knew was capable. Still a great thriller and fans of Hitchcock's mysteries should definetly give this one a look. FINAL SCORE :::: 80% ::::

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Allison 12/23/2007 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

Vertigo is one of those masterpieces. I love everything about it. It is about the only Kim Novak movie worth watching. Hitchcock knew what he was doing.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 
1  2  Next  
 
 
Log In
Help on how to log into FilmCrave
Login with Facebook
Login with FilmCrave
 
 
What Members Are Doing
Movie Talk
New Movie Reviews
New Movie Lists
2017: Best to Worst by Nolane
Watched in 2017 by tonks76
Top Drama Movies by Rod
Movies I've Watched by Muskurana
Top Movie List by SIngli6
2016 Rated and Ranked by Chris Kavan
Movies Watched by Sunbutt
Favorites of 2017 by Austin Shagwell

 

 

 

Contact FilmCrave Public Relations    

Advertise and Business

Developer API

Contact Us

Jobs

About us

SiteMap

 

Support FilmCrave

FAQ and Help

News and Press

Terms of Use

Privacy