Create Game Lists on MeltedJoystick.com
FilmCrave home
   Movies  Members
Search +
Searching... Close  
Are you sure you want to delete this comment?
  
 
  Login Using Facebook
Twitter
 
     
 

12 Monkeys (1995) Movie Reviews

Your Rating:
 
 
Buy 12 Monkeys (1995) DVD from AmazonBuy 12 Monkeys (1995) DVD from Amazon  Add to List: Add to movie listWrite Review +Request correction +Submit a plot +

Quick Movie Reviews

1 - 9 of 9 

Matthew Brady 06/21/2014 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3/4 

Remember the time when we used to like Bruce Willis. The film is about a convict is sent back in time by a group of scientists in hopes of learning how to stop the disease. The acting in this movie was brilliant, Brad Pitt and Bruce Willis and everybody else did a fine job in they roles. The movie makes you feel dirty and unclean inside which is a good thing in the movie because the film is trying to get across how dark the world is.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Snoogans 09/11/2011 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3.5/4 

Gilliam's best film. Solid sci-fi flick.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

mitchellyoung 06/24/2010 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3/4 

Terry Gilliam's unique visual style in imagining a post-apocalyptic future is the real winner here. The non-linear storyline benefits from strong performances by Willis and Pitt.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Supercrum 09/09/2008 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

Very underrated, this is the kind of movie they teach about in film school. Willis and Pitt deliver two unbelievable performances that only further define their extensive acting repertoires. 12 Monkeys is a great commentary on insanity, chronology and extremism. Gilliam does not disappoint, with his stylish direction and signature set design, he truly makes you feel just as confused and disoriented as the main character does. The broken jigsaw-like plot that you’re striving to piece together eventually makes a shocking completed statement that will keep you thinking for days.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Tino 05/22/2008 (1 of 1 found this helpful)

Rating of
2.5/4 

A real head trip. Terry Gilliam proves that he is one of the most visionary directors out there. 12 Monkeys follows the story of James Cole, played by Bruce Willis, an inmate of a federal tyrannic prison in the future which is a barren underground society due to a viral break-out in 1996. Cole is chosen to go back in time to investigate the origin of the virus, and its group of cult creators, the army of the 12 monkeys. The film is a psychological thriller that requires constant attention and a definite type of viewer. Gilliam delivers a great movie with dark and interesting material.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Allison 12/23/2007 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
2.5/4 

Based on Chris Marker's short film, La Jetee, this film is far inferior. However, it's worth watching. But it's silly and ridiculous. But it has good direction by Terry Gilliam. Brad Pitt at his silliest and I never bought into his performance. All these conditions make for just an okay movie.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

GGauthier 09/06/2007 (1 of 1 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

This masterpiece contains probably the best performance by Willis and Pitt. It was my first Gilliam, and I remember leaving the theatre totally amazed by it. Then I bought the DVD, and the extras and interviews with the director made me love it more. I liked the aesthetic concept, and, how again the director mixes social issues with an apocalyptic future.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Alex 03/25/2007 (3 of 3 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

When I saw this movie again 4 years ago, I was amazed. It had matured well, especially the concepts of time and the comedy it can create. Gilliam is truly a great director, when his ego doesn't get in the way. SciFi must see.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Chris Kavan 02/19/2007 (1 of 1 found this helpful)

Rating of
3.5/4 

When a movie makes you think, I consider that a good thing. Terry Giliam never makes a straight-forward film, and 12 Monkeys is no exception. Time travel, sanity and a killer virus - and it manages to find a good balance of wit and drama.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 
1    
 
 
Log In
Help on how to log into FilmCrave
Login with Facebook
Login with FilmCrave
 
 
What Members Are Doing
Movie Talk
New Movie Reviews
New Movie Lists
2015 by Karmand
Top Movie List by Michael
Movies of 2017 by Stoney McStonerson
2017 by Randall
Movies I've Seen by M3tr4nk0
2017 Rated and Ranked by Chris Kavan
Best Horror Films of all Time by cacb3995
Top Movie List by Seth

 

 

 

Contact FilmCrave Public Relations    

Advertise and Business

Developer API

Contact Us

Jobs

About us

SiteMap

 

Support FilmCrave

FAQ and Help

News and Press

Terms of Use

Privacy